Notices

Your opinion of this situation

Old 07-17-2007, 03:42 PM
  #21  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: On the wild side !!
Posts: 5,697
Default Re: Your opinion of this situation

Jimm - 7/17/2007 3:34 PM

Once you mention the windmill to the old lady or HOA it will be known who "took" it if it disappears.
Yep !

I also wonder why she put it there after giving you permission to maintain the garden ?

I would read you HOA bylaws and speak with the 80yo if need be.

Last resort is taking it to the HOA.


BW23 is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 04:53 PM
  #22  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,430
Default Re: Your opinion of this situation

Maybe the old lady didn't place them but they fell from her front porch onto the lawn. You should carry the lawn statues back up to her doorway for her when they fall. She is 80 for god sake. How many times will she really be able to pick them up and carry them down the stairs?
I would make it her parent's problem if it was at all possible though. You are buying them a place to live. The least they can do is deal with the neighbors by themselves. I am sure the HOA will help them.
Blythe1022 is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 07:27 PM
  #23  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location:
Posts: 1,027
Default Re: Your opinion of this situation

Here's some advice rarely given here: Try being honest. Go and talk to the old lady. Explain the situation with your "in-laws" and how they won't like the yard art. Be nice. Offer to help her find a new spot for them (in a less conspicous place) and help her move them. If there are applicable HOA rules, bring a copy and explain them to her.
stanleywinthrop is offline  
Old 07-20-2007, 09:49 PM
  #24  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 1,220
Default RE: Your opinion of this situation

Heavers
dwg2116 is offline  
Old 07-20-2007, 10:05 PM
  #25  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: TN
Posts: 4,792
Default RE: Your opinion of this situation

dwg2116 - 7/20/2007 8:49 PM



Heavers
Does she own a Bayliner?????
redneck joe is offline  
Old 07-20-2007, 11:35 PM
  #26  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Great State of Tennessee
Posts: 874
Default RE: Your opinion of this situation

I say since you are helping with the "landscaping" try moving the hideous thing away from in front of the iin-laws (after 14 yrs they're in-laws dude) window and do your best to un-junk the look.

Question: if she is 80, who the he!! put the danmed big windmill there for her????
cerichcreek is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 09:14 AM
  #27  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 10,206
Default Re: Your opinion of this situation

carefull ,
all 80 year old ladys are not sweet little old ladies. I dealt with the 80 something from hell for 9 years. I could literally go on for hours about all the horrible things this woman did to my wife and I. for no reason!
just for an example ,she would come on my property EVERY day when we weren't home and break something,my rose bushes, bird feeders, boat, shingles on the house. etc. etc. you cannot call the police and get anything done in a situation like this. I tried, many many times. they say things like"rise above it"or "she's smart ,when a judge sees her playing the sweet little old lady you'll look like the villin here""Ignore her" believe me, the law will do nothing.

maybe your 80 something is not as whacked as this bird was ,but you start making her stuff disappear, it can get REALLY ugly. trust me ,you won't win.she's got nothing to do all day but to sit around think of ways to torture you if you pizz her off.

my advice, find another townhouse/ condo.
north coast is online now  
Old 07-23-2007, 08:58 AM
  #28  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Outer Banks, NC
Posts: 2,307
Default Re: Your opinion of this situation

Break/Destroy/Graffitize the two items but don't take them. (Those dang neighborhood kids these days are something else) Then you can offer to tote them away for her.
jaybyrd83ecu is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 10:05 AM
  #29  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chesapeake Bay
Posts: 311
Default RE: Your opinion of this situation

Question: if she is 80, who the he!! put the danmed big windmill there for her????
That's what I was thinking. She probably has a son or grandson who you'll have to answer to if anything happens to the mother's ornaments. He's the one that'll have to fix the landscaping on his day off and he won't be happy.
bayboater1 is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 11:20 AM
  #30  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 490
Default RE: Your opinion of this situation

I deal with a lot of old people in my business life. Some are very difficult. I don't hold it against them. Most probably weren't like that in their youth and mid-life. People tend to develop quirks as they age and probably can't help themselves. So I try to be somewhat patient and understanding with the elderly. The woman called the HOA and asked them to contact me and ask me to stop by and see her, it was very important. So I stopped by, I figured it would be a good time to bring up the windmill. She wanted to tell me the hose bib in front of my condo, which is tied into my water meter, belongs to everyone and is turned off and I need to turn it on since other owners use it to wash their cars and water their plants. But it leaks so I MUST have it fixed before I turn it on.

I decided talking to her about the windmill probably wasn't going to be the best option.
Mr.Mike is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 02:58 PM
  #31  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Greenville NC
Posts: 597
Default Re: Your opinion of this situation

I never thought I would post something personel here but I need to vent a little.

Things have really gotten out of hand with my neighbor. The neighbor has been complaining all summer about either the loud exhaust on my bike or truck, my dogs barking, even my lawnmower is too loud.

As I was leaving for work Monday my neighbor was standing outside and started yelling and making a big scene in front of the other neighbors. I blew a fuse and locked up the brakes on my truck and jumped out and screamed back "you called down the thunder, well now you've got it!" stealing a line from the movie Tombstone. Then I yelled "this weekend I'M coming... and hell's coming with me, you hear?"

So this coming weekend I plan on confronting my neighbor and going toe to toe. We've already had a couple of fights before and I'll admit I had my deleted word handed to me both times, only because I wasn't ready.

The first time I didn't even see it coming. I got deleted worder punched right in the Adams apple. Before I even hit the ground my face was getting hit by more punches that Mike Tyson working the speed bag. After my body finally made it to the ground I got kicked in the head several times before I got rescued by some little kids in the neighborhood who witnessed the whole thing and pulled my neighbor off of me. I ended up getting 11 stitches for that fight.

The second time my neighbor snuck up behind me and used her walking cane to start choking me. I admit, at first I found being choked by this old lady (she's 80) oddly erotic until I realized I was starting to pass out from lack of oxygen. I ended up on the ground that time too. Some Jehovah Witnesses who were in the neighborhood saved me that time. That one got me 6 more stitches and I lost a tooth. This all happened about 3 months ago.

Well for the last 3 months I've been working out with those Tony Little tapes and I am pretty sure I will be able to take her out this time. I need any fighting tips or ideas that you can share to help me win this. I don't want to look like a fool in front of the neighbors.
Coork is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 03:03 PM
  #32  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 490
Default Re: Your opinion of this situation

LOL Ya had me going there for a minute.
Mr.Mike is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 04:49 PM
  #33  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: shelby twp MI
Posts: 1,783
Default Re: Your opinion of this situation

north coast - 7/21/2007 10:14 AM

carefull ,
all 80 year old ladys are not sweet little old ladies. I dealt with the 80 something from hell for 9 years. I could literally go on for hours about all the horrible things this woman did to my wife and I. for no reason!
just for an example ,she would come on my property EVERY day when we weren't home and break something,my rose bushes, bird feeders, boat, shingles on the house. etc. etc. you cannot call the police and get anything done in a situation like this. I tried, many many times. they say things like"rise above it"or "she's smart ,when a judge sees her playing the sweet little old lady you'll look like the villin here""Ignore her" believe me, the law will do nothing.

maybe your 80 something is not as whacked as this bird was ,but you start making her stuff disappear, it can get REALLY ugly. trust me ,you won't win.she's got nothing to do all day but to sit around think of ways to torture you if you pizz her off.

my advice, find another townhouse/ condo.
My buddy had a neighbor like that. Little old lady always hassled him about everything. So, he got fed up and fought back. He did little things. She had windchimes on her porch that bothered him so he filled them with silicone so they junk clunk. Threw a little round up in the manicured lawn, filled her downspouts with expanding foam. He did a couple other things that I won't mention that were a wee bit over the line. Needless to say she moved out.

tinmarine is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread