Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Dockside Chat
Reload this Page >

Who rides? Opinions on 1st bike..

Notices

Who rides? Opinions on 1st bike..

Old 04-02-2007, 03:08 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sailfish Capital & Black Hills SD
Posts: 15,993
Default Who rides? Opinions on 1st bike..

Haven't ridden in 35 years (a 305 Yamaha Dream) a bud had. Always wanted a big ole Harley and knew I didn't have the discipline for it... Not so much worried about killing myself (I had some pretty fast boats), more about losing my license... I think I can behave now.... Decided tonot sellmy Porsche and finally do this....

What do you guys ride?

My thoughts - a used Jap bike to learn on, leave in NJ. Buy a Road King in the fall when I get back here to FL.
Afishinado is offline  
Old 04-02-2007, 03:12 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sharon Springs, NY
Posts: 4,515
Default Re: Who rides? Opinions on 1st bike..

Don't underpower yourself to start. Lots of biking newbies do this and its a mistake. Horsepower doesn't always meen 100+ mph. A nice sport touring jap bike is a good start if your going Jap to start.

And boat and bikes are not a good comparison. I've never scared the crap out of myself on my boat, but the bike?? Different story, lots of goobers out there driving there trucks on the wrong side of the line.

Mike
Mike Boehler is offline  
Old 04-02-2007, 03:46 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: West Carolina
Posts: 21,924
Default Re: Who rides? Opinions on 1st bike..

How big are you? My wife and daughter took the MSF course last fall and I was looking at a bike for them to practice on. I settled on a Suzuki Savage which is a 650cc single cylinder. I am about 6'3" and 260 lbs and can ride it but it's real tight. However, for someone in the 5'10" range it would be a good practice bike since you can pick em up cheap. I would take Mike's suggestion and stay away from under powered bikes like the Honda Rebel, etc.
Shag is online now  
Old 04-02-2007, 05:18 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Gloucester,Ma USA
Posts: 10,782
Default RE: Who rides? Opinions on 1st bike..

Try an Indian! They are going back into production this year and are now taking deposits.

Jay A is offline  
Old 04-02-2007, 05:38 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: shelby twp MI
Posts: 1,783
Default Re: Who rides? Opinions on 1st bike..

As much as I hate to say this but a nice riding bike is BMW. Wonderful handling, and a comfortable ride. Don't get me wrong, the bike I WOULD LOVE to have is the Road King Classic, however, I if you pick up a nice BMW you might stick with it. Not saying your not in shape, but your not a kid anymore either. Besides, I don't think you'll lose any money on a used Beemer if you swap out bikes. Just a thought.

tinmarine is offline  
Old 04-02-2007, 05:39 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: On The Tenna Sea
Posts: 6,212
Default RE: Who rides? Opinions on 1st bike..

Afishinado - 4/2/2007 3:08 PM



Haven't ridden in 35 years (a 305 Yamaha Dream) a bud had. Always wanted a big ole Harley and knew I didn't have the discipline for it... Not so much worried about killing myself (I had some pretty fast boats), more about losing my license... I think I can behave now.... Decided to not sell my Porsche and finally do this....

What do you guys ride?

My thoughts - a used Jap bike to learn on, leave in NJ. Buy a Road King in the fall when I get back here to FL.
LOL I know where you are coming from in not having ridden in 35 years.

I bought my first motorcycle, an '03 H-D 100th Anniversary V-Rod, at age 45 having just become a father for the first time! Don't ask me why, but I just fell in love with that V-Rod. I had bought an '03 100th Anniversary Ford F-150 Harley Davidson Edition and the bike was a perfect match. I even teased the wife about just not putting fuel in it and parking it in the den just so I could sit back and look at it!

The first time I rode it the day after I bought it as I had picked it up on my company truck with a liftgate and brought it home. I decided to enroll in a rider safety program and was a bit hesitant to sign up for the expert class. I soon felt better having done that when I saw I could still ride better than most of the others who were taking the class! I got plenty of strange looks when I showed up with my Mack box truck and lowered that V-Rod on the liftgate. One of the instructors asked to ride it, but he never did when I offered to let him do so.

I had not ridden anything other than my Dad's bikes when I was a kid and even then just rode around out on back roads around the house. A good friend of mine got killed our senior year of H.S. when somebody turned in between him and several others on bikes. He T-boned the car and his life was over at age 17. After that, I never cared about riding again.

In 2004 I got myself sick and sold the bike and the truck among other things. When I got feeling better, I bought a H-D Deuce, but I missed the smoothness and power of the V-Rod not to mention the look. I went into a local H-D one day just goofing around, and there sat an orange and black Screamin' Eagle V-Rod. It was love at first sight!

That sucker is so smooth and just feels great! It's very easy to ride as I have ridden Road Kings and Ultra Classics which are just not my cup of tea. It's an '05 with 2k miles on it and is perfect. I added the Screamin' Eagle 16GA Double Barrel exhaust and the Harley Race Tuner and took it to Atlanta and had it dyno tuned. It now makes 115 at the wheel and sounds great which is what I was after.

LOL, it's for sale if you're interested!
TN FREEBIRD is offline  
Old 04-02-2007, 07:55 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sebastian, Fl.
Posts: 107
Default RE: Who rides? Opinions on 1st bike..

I have had only 3 bikes since 1980, Sportster, Heritage Softail Classic and a Road King Classic in that order. Of all, really loved the Road King best, and the Sportster was to small. It really depends on what kind of riding you want to do. I thought the Road King was nice around town and great on the highway. It has a little more ground clearance and is able to take corners a little sharper without the floorboards or pipes hitting the ground. The new HD's have a bigger engine and a 6 speed transmission and unless you feel the need for excessive speed they are plenty fast and will cruise comfortably at 80 mph.
I would say, based on my own experience, to just get the bike you think may want now. Take a rider course if you haven't rode recently and just go for it. The the bigger bikes are easy to ride and balance out nice. They're just heavier and harder to pick up if you drop it. I would say it's like buying your first boat, you know you'll want a bigger one soon so cut your losses and just get it now. Bottom line, get what your most comfortable on. I don't know about the other brands but some of the newer, larger HD dealers have a demo-riding coarse to try them out if you already have you endorsement, and in fact, you can even rent them for a few hours or a week or so.

Good Luck



rstrick is offline  
Old 04-02-2007, 09:16 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Whacksonville, Fl
Posts: 724
Default Re: Who rides? Opinions on 1st bike..

I think you mean a HONDA dream 305.

After 30 years of riding, and not owning a car since '96, I have been through 15 bikes from Indian( a '38), HD ( three shovels) Honda (3), MotoGuzzi (1), Yamaha (4) Kawasaki (1) and BMW (2), there is nothing that I recommend more highly than the BWM.

I used to ride from NY to Fla every year, christmas time, to see my old man, and the first year I did it on a Beemer was the first time I ever did it in one day 1134 miles, door to door, 22 hrs flat, without making a push to do it. I have ridden the same bike as far south as Key West, as far north as Stonington maine and twice to Cali, Putting 223k on it in 8 years (it's currently torn down, and I am using a GT650 Hawk as a daily ride)

If you want an American V twin, you can do no better than the Polaris Victory- the best handling nicest riding V twin I have ever ridden (though the Vrod comes close).
prodigalson is offline  
Old 04-02-2007, 09:49 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: shelby twp MI
Posts: 1,783
Default Re: Who rides? Opinions on 1st bike..

prodigalson - 4/2/2007 10:16 PM

Indian( a '38),
Man, what I wouldn't give for a 38 upside down 4. Probably the best looking bike ever made.
Please tell me yours was a 4.

tinmarine is offline  
Old 04-02-2007, 09:59 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Whacksonville, Fl
Posts: 724
Default Re: Who rides? Opinions on 1st bike..

yep- last seen 1979, getting dragged down the street by a UPS truck...
prodigalson is offline  
Old 04-02-2007, 10:02 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: shelby twp MI
Posts: 1,783
Default Re: Who rides? Opinions on 1st bike..

prodigalson - 4/2/2007 10:59 PM

yep- last seen 1979, getting dragged down the street by a UPS truck...
NNNNNNNNNNNOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!
I'm jealous and saddened at the same time. I know you have to be sick about it.

tinmarine is offline  
Old 04-02-2007, 10:13 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Whacksonville, Fl
Posts: 724
Default Re: Who rides? Opinions on 1st bike..

I was young and dumb and full of cum at the time (it was right before I joined the Corps) and I thought that I'd get in trouble as the bike was unregistered, uninsured and I was unliscenced, so I didn't try to go after UPS or the driver on it. I still kick my self.

It was a great bike- started every time, first kick, ran like a raped ape. I didn't do anything but change plugs points oil in the two years I had it, and could be worked on with a cresent wrench, common screw driver, matchbook, and a rock.
prodigalson is offline  
Old 04-03-2007, 12:03 AM
  #13  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 2,009
Default Re: Who rides? Opinions on 1st bike..

Memories, memories.....

First photo (in 1954) is my nifty 1952 Triumph Thunderbird, Wow what a bike.

Second photo is the Honda Shadow Spirite 750 Iím gonna buy when Apple stock goes to $150.00 a share.

Does it seem to youse guys like motorcycle nuts are also boat nuts?????







Ray, Tennessee 2180DLX Carolina Skiff 90HP Honda
rayteagarden1 is offline  
Old 04-03-2007, 06:10 AM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sailfish Capital & Black Hills SD
Posts: 15,993
Default Re: Who rides? Opinions on 1st bike..

A few answers... I am about 225lbs.. prodigalson, you're correct, it was a Honda. not a Yamaha... I scheduled a Florida driving class 4/20-22

I will look at something for Jersey that is past polishing or looking good, something to practice riding on. While at home (NJ) I have projects and enough toys already to keep me busy. The beach just is not conducive to bikes IMHO, speed limit is 40 max within 8 miles of my place (almost all 25). Most of all, I don't want to clean and polish a motorcycle because it was sitting in my garage all week, salt air is brutal.... Here in FL I am thinking a 6 x 10 enclosed trailer to park and summer store the Harley in... Yeah, it'll be a Harley..... I did go to the Honda/Yam/Suzy/Kawasaki stores, beautiful bikes at about 1/2 the Harley $...

Every rider I know has a Harley, and thats what I want... Now just gotta figure out over the next 6 or 7 months which one (only the Sportster is ruled out)... For the last two days its been the Softail Deluxe....

Ray... 1954!!?? You're about the only guy on here I know that makes me feel young!
Afishinado is offline  
Old 04-03-2007, 03:58 PM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: South East Pa
Posts: 9,308
Default RE: Who rides? Opinions on 1st bike..

Get yourself a Yamaha FJR 1300
FASTFJR is offline  
Old 04-03-2007, 04:03 PM
  #16  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 2,009
Default Re: Who rides? Opinions on 1st bike..

Afishinado, Feeling young is a good thing.

I feel young also, I feel much younger now than I will feel when Iím 100.

HeII itís only life, so no big deal.

Yesterday while on the boat, wife and I were fishing and the wind is pushing my boat towards a rocky bluff on the lake, albeit very slowly, so I set down my fishing pole to move the boat and caught my shirt tail on one of the treble hooks on the lure, in trying to unhook my shirt I got a treble hook stuck in a finger of both hands. Think about the position Iím in...... Cant move, both fingers hurt like hell, donít have a free hand to use the side cutters to cut off the hook so I can run it out of my finger and the boat is still heading for the bluff, Oh, what to do? What to do?

Told the wife to start the Honda and take the boat out to deeper water, which she did, then she had to look for the side cutters to cut off the hooks, Iím so frustrated standing there like a statue not able to move, so I just ripped one of the less deeply imbedded hooks out of my index finger (yep, my typing finger) so at least I had one hand free, still hurts like heII.

Just another boating adventure. Only cost was two band-aids. Feeling kinda stupid yesterday, today I again feel young.





Ray, Tennessee 2180DLX Carolina Skiff 90HP Honda
rayteagarden1 is offline  
Old 04-03-2007, 04:12 PM
  #17  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: t.r new jersey
Posts: 432
Default Re: Who rides? Opinions on 1st bike..

yz250f

cabowabo36 is offline  
Old 04-03-2007, 04:44 PM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsyltucky
Posts: 7,108
Default Re: Who rides? Opinions on 1st bike..

On the road, I ride a Yamaha YZF 600 Sportbike. It handles real well and has ample power. You definately do not want to be underpowered, but too much power can be a bad thing too. Off road, I ride a Suzuki RMX 250. It's an RM 250 with a few things to convert it from a motocrosser to a woods bike. I don't do nearly the off road riding I used to though since I quit MX racing in '94.

Cruising's not my style. I'm not one of those crazy stunt riders on a sportbike either. I do like getting way leaned over in a turn on my road bike. I prefer the two lane roads that have lots of the yellow diamond signs with squiggly black arrows on them.

Suspension and bottom end power are important to me. The new KTM Super Duke is a bike I'm interested in.

My Brother owns a couple Harleys. A very nicely restored shovel head and one of those full dresser types. I love the shovel head. What I like about Harleys is all the torque. Don't rule out a Sportster. While I probably wouldn't consider an 883, a 1200 Sportster is a nice bike. I rode one about 10 years ago. Very well balanced easy to ride bike. I've heard they modified them within the last year or two to dampen some of the engine vibes. The Dyna series are nice too. My brother used to own a Dyna. Fun bike to ride.

Like boats, there isn't a bike I don't like. For that matter, I like anything with two wheels. Including bicycles.

When I get old, I'll probably ride a BMW.
Brad1 is offline  
Old 04-03-2007, 06:06 PM
  #19  
Senior Member (used to be B-Faithful)Captains Club MemberPLEDGER Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 16,778
Default Re: Who rides? Opinions on 1st bike..

I ride a Cannondale CAAD8

iFishMD is offline  
Old 04-03-2007, 06:08 PM
  #20  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: shelby twp MI
Posts: 1,783
Default Re: Who rides? Opinions on 1st bike..

Brad1 - 4/3/2007 5:44 PM

Don't rule out a Sportster. While I probably wouldn't consider an 883, a 1200 Sportster is a nice bike.

Buddy I had a 1200 custom. Rule them out!! STIFF ride. Rented a Fat Boy for a long weekend, and what a difference. Ride was great and so was the handling, better than the sporty. The floorboards were nice too. Nicer than pegs.

tinmarine is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread