Notices

attn: Dog doc opinion please

Old 01-23-2007, 04:17 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,401
Default attn: Dog doc opinion please

My neighbor's dog came into his house yesterday morning with a "burned" (acidic) tounge and leisons in his mouth. 24 hours later he had to be put down as he was burned all the way down his internals and was convulsing...dog was a very healthhy 7 years old cocker and is fenced in a very nice yard...

any ideas? - as my dogs are outside I'm concerned too!

Vet showed nothing in stomach, (like a frog), toxic tests showed none
Glen E is offline  
Old 01-23-2007, 04:23 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Port Isabel, TX
Posts: 2,050
Default Re: attn: Dog doc opinion please

battery acid?

Battery Acid

Battery acid is a particularly nasty chemical for your pet to come across. Most dogs know better than to lap battery acid up with their tongues, but if some falls in their fur, the gut reflex is to clean. Many animals have permanently lost the tips of their tongues from cleaning battery acid off their fur. Battery acid does as much damage to a dog as it would to a human.

Symptoms of battery acid poisoning include abdominal pain; bloody vomit; refusal to eat because of a sore mouth; shock; lip, mouth and tongue burns that look like patches of grayish-yellow discoloration; or a bad smell issuing from the mouth due to dying tissues.

Battery acid poisoning is very severe and an extreme emergency. Rush your pet to an emergency facility or vet. If your pet is conscious, give him milk of magnesia or vegetable oil to dilute the poison, 1 tablespoon per 10 pounds of weight. If his skin is burned, flush with lots of cold water. DO NOT INDUCE VOMITING! Battery acid is caustic.

Dispose of any old batteries, and never leave them lying around your garage. If your dog rubs against a battery, the acid may get on his fur. Also, many dogs like to crawl underneath cars to explore and possibly nap. This is a highly dangerous area, especially if your dog is a large one. Their fur can become coated with all sorts of unpleasant substances, like battery acid. Train your dog not to go under a car. Yell, scold him firmly, spray him with water or throw soft objects at him when you see him under the car. It sounds mean, but the benefits to your dog's health are worth it.

http://www.petco.com/Content/Article...&articleID=308
marker150 is offline  
Old 01-23-2007, 04:51 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 433
Default Re: attn: Dog doc opinion please

I am assuming that they tested for antifreeze. Basically shuts the kidnys down and poisons the body causing leasons in the mouth etc. etc.

Also, it might be leptospirosis. Another disease that shuts the kidneys down and poisons the body.

My dog is currently dealing with some kidney failure issues, and she was checking for signs of the symptoms you shared, especially the mouth leasons. Ask your vet is your dog is vaccinated for lepto, if not get it done. Not all vets do and the disease is making a comeback.

My girlfriend had a cat that had to be put down due to kidney failure and she had the same symptoms you described.
scboater is offline  
Old 01-23-2007, 06:52 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,401
Default Re: attn: Dog doc opinion please

thanks guys...scary...healthy one day ..down the next....
Glen E is offline  
Old 01-23-2007, 06:57 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Miami Beach, FL
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: attn: Dog doc opinion please

Mans best friend, I feel for your neighbors.
Dsaltydog is offline  
Old 01-23-2007, 07:08 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Garett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 24,085
Default Re: attn: Dog doc opinion please

Now I don't know what the symptoms are or anything, but those Swifer cleaning pads used for cleaning floors are supposed to be based off of the same chemicals as anti-freeze. The home owner cleans the floor, the dog/ cat walks/ lays on the floor, then grooms them self. My cousin lost his dog this way!
Garett is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 03:02 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 3,616
Default Re: attn: Dog doc opinion please

Garret....http://www.snopes.com/critters/crusader/swiffer.asp
Had to check for myself....had me worried there.
broncobirdy is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 03:37 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: West Carolina
Posts: 21,925
Default Re: attn: Dog doc opinion please

scboater - 1/23/2007 4:51 PM

I am assuming that they tested for antifreeze.
That was my first thought.
Shag is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 04:29 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Key West
Posts: 11,489
Default Re: attn: Dog doc opinion please

any reason to suspect foul play? any crotchety neighbors around? was the dog a nuisance? i ask because, like someone else said, most dogs wouldn't just willingly start eating battery acid or antifreeze. unless there is an obvious place that he could've got into something like that, i would be suspicious of intentional human involvement. it is a fear of mine because, while my dog is nowhere near a nuisance, he does like to bark some. and you just never know who is out there listening to it...
coores14 is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 04:35 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: West Carolina
Posts: 21,925
Default Re: attn: Dog doc opinion please

coores14, it has always been my understanding that dogs actually like the taste of antifreeze. Do a Goggle on it and a lot of Vet sites say it is very "palatable".

BTW, some dogs like the taste of teak oil too. I had to cram 100 charcoal tablets down the throat of a Golden who got into some teak oil while I was refinishing the wood on the boat.
Shag is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 04:41 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Seaside NJ
Posts: 1,714
Default RE: attn: Dog doc opinion please

When I was a teen we had neighbors with a 1 yr old Rotty. most gentle dog you'ld ever meet. The house next to them went up for sale and the folk that moved in had 3 small kids. Make a long story short the father of the 3 kids poisoned the Rotty with rat poison and a slab of beef from his restaurant, because he was afraid it might do something to the kids through the fence. Dog had to be put down within hrs.

Do they have neighbors they don't get along with, a healthy dog going down that fast is suspicious.
jamesbfishin is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 05:16 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,401
Default Re: attn: Dog doc opinion please

no foul play that we can tell all neighbors get along and the dog was a pleasant anaimal that barked very litte - was a house dog....but the swiffer thing is interesting....
Glen E is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 05:33 PM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Brandon, Florida
Posts: 2,118
Default Re: attn: Dog doc opinion please

Did your neighbor's DVM not have an opinion?

When I was an auto mechanic, 25 years ago, I would occasionally have antifreeze pour onto my head and face and have tasted small quantities often. Yes, antifreeze is very sweet - and poisonous - and that is why cathaters and doghaters put out antifreeze, because Poofy and Fluffy will readily ingest it. I would not have thought that antifreeze would cause mouth lesions, but check this out:

"Symptoms:
Clinical signs depend on how long it has been since the pet drank the antifreeze as well as the amount they drank. Early symptoms are much like alcohol intoxication. Dogs and cats may vomit due to the irritating effects of ethylene glycol on the stomach. They drink and urinate excessively and may be depressed and wobbly. The increased thirst is due to stimulation of the thirst centers of the brain. Pets may seem on the road to recovery twelve hours later as the ethylene glycol is metabolized by the liver and kidneys. However, a day later in cats and two days later in dogs the patients suddenly becomes much worse. They become depressed, weak, and dehydrated. They may develop diarrhea, [i]mouth ulcers>/i>, rapid breathing and seizures. Their kidneys are often painful and swollen." from http://www.2ndchance.info/antifreeze.htm

Another thought, based on where you live, is that the Cocker got a hold of a Marine Toad, Bufo marinus. They have parotid glands on their skin that secrete a nasty chemical that (usually) deters dogs but rarely kills them. My cocker attacked a marine toad, shook her head, spit up, and was fine. Maybe if she chewed on the the damn thing but didn't eat it (hence nothing for the DVM to find in stomach), that could be the answer. Here are the symptoms:

"Symptoms of Giant Toad poisoning in pets include drooling, head-shaking, crying, loss of coordination, and, in more serious cases, convulsions. The dog's (or cat's) gums often turn red, an indicator used by veterinarians to distinguish toad poisoning from epilepsy."

So, if the cocker had "mouth ulcers" that would be consistent with antifreeze poisoning - and probably intentional, so I think if the neighbor's DVM suspected this, then I would ask them to make a police report. If the cocker' had red gums, that would suggest marine toad poisoning.
greyg8r is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 07:08 PM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Key West
Posts: 11,489
Default Re: attn: Dog doc opinion please

yeah, i guess the point i was really getting after was that unless you could find an easy source of anti-freeze(neighbor doing work on car, etc..), then i'd be thinking about how the dog got along with the neighborhood. My girlfriend is actually a vet-tech and surely she could verify the anti-freeze appeal to dogs. my bad.
coores14 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread