Notices
Like Tree4Likes

Skipping Permit Inspection?

Old 12-04-2019, 10:31 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 2,253
Default Skipping Permit Inspection?

I pulled a permit for a shed. What happens if I skip the inspection? I did it on my last shed and all I got was a letter saying my permit was closed out. This is in Wake County, NC

I have several reasons for wanting to skip which I don't know if they are a big deal or not
-Shed must be 10' off of property line, I did my best here but I am on a small lot and it may not be exactly 10' off the lines. If I am off it's by a foot or less
-Permit was for a 14X20 shed, I messed up its 13'10" X 20'2"
-I had the home builder pull the permit, I think they misunderstood the local code and said it would be 11' high which is the height restriction for an unpermitted shed that is smaller than 12X12, my shed is 14' high but since it's permitted and over 12X12 the code allows for 16' tall. I have a discrepancy between what the permit says the height will be and what the code allows.
-The inspectors are really behind here, I want to get going on other work that I do not plan on pulling a permit for such as electricity and insulation
Lorne Greene is online now  
Old 12-04-2019, 10:34 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 11,427
Default

Not getting it inspected is going to open you up to them dropping by, and then seeing all the work that you don't plan to permit. I don't disagree with not permitting the electrical stuff at all, but I wouldn't do that until the other permit is closed or cancelled.
Lprizman likes this.
autobaun70 is offline  
Old 12-04-2019, 10:35 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ayaz Beach
Posts: 1,216
Default

You might get flack for an open permit if you plan to sell.

your discrepancies are so slight, just call it in and be done with it.
if they’re that busy they will be in and out anyway.
Parley, Lprizman and normsworld like this.
PeteH is offline  
Old 12-04-2019, 10:37 AM
  #4  
dev
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
dev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: St. Pete
Posts: 614
Default

It really varies heavily by region, so it is hard to give a universal answer. Most of the time when I have dealt with permits/inspection on residential stuff when there was not a life safety element to it the inspector spends less than a minute doing a visual inspection and then signs off. From what you described, I would not suspect you would have any issues getting it formally closed out. Also in most areas the inspectors are pretty lenient on things like this and are more concerned about overly shoddy work, or improvements that significantly impact taxable values. YMMV.
dev is offline  
Old 12-04-2019, 10:38 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13,657
Default

selling could be an issue. happens all the time on decks.
mystery is offline  
Old 12-04-2019, 10:41 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 373
Default

Probably nothing happens. However, if it does it will be costly . As in correcting to code including set back or get a variance...read lawyers and documents with neighbor approval.

Try searching local news data base for building code violations to get an idea what your odds are. IMO most problems with projects like you are describing is complaints from a neighbor or someone who got busted or denied a permit. When a complaint is filed the building department has little choice but to pursue remedy.

It should show on a search , down the road if when you sell that the permit did not get an inspection. That may or may not pose an issue with a bank loan.
Finsinchessy is offline  
Old 12-04-2019, 10:44 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Marblehead, Ma
Posts: 687
Default

The permit will stay open and after a period of time they will require an explanation, plus the GC that pulled it will be on the hook for any issues. At some point you will have to deal with it. Better now than later.

The size difference is not an issue, the height does not sound like an issue either. The property line distance could be a problem. However they rarely measure the distance to the line.

As long as it is constructed to code, there should not be an issue.

OneMoreDay is offline  
Old 12-04-2019, 10:50 AM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 5,166
Default

The inspector at some point will need to close out the file. Being a shed depending on his personality and how busy he will do one of three things

contact you and request a inspection
drive by, see a shed and mark it closed
sit in his comfy office and mark it closed.

The insoector doesnt own a tape measure so if you are off by a few feet he wont know or care. Property line disputes are between you and your neighbor. Only if your neighbor gets a survey and finds your top close and contacts the insoector will they care.
bjm9818 is offline  
Old 12-04-2019, 11:05 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9,926
Default

You are putting the home builder at risk.
Jersus is offline  
Old 12-04-2019, 11:11 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Wendell, NC
Posts: 2,483
Default

And this is why I didn't pull a permit for our pole barn. We are still out here in the Dirty 'Dell though, so Wake Co. but not Raleigh proper.

Been 5 years and it's been added to the tax assessment so I reckon they found it.



But for yours I'd go ahead and get it done. With an open permit you are just delaying the headache.
NCSUboater is offline  
Old 12-04-2019, 11:14 AM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 2,253
Default

Originally Posted by Jersus View Post
You are putting the home builder at risk.
They transferred the permit into my name.
Lorne Greene is online now  
Old 12-04-2019, 11:17 AM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 2,253
Default

God, this is why I dont want to deal with these people. They make you pull permits and schedule inspections through a portal. I registered and had my permit added to my account. I just logged in to schedule an inspection and now I don't have an account, I had to reregister using the same email (figured it would have declined my second registration as my email is my user name) I log in and poof no permit and when I do a permit search on my property address nothing shows up.
Lorne Greene is online now  
Old 12-04-2019, 11:24 AM
  #13  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Apollo Beach, FL
Posts: 973
Default

Originally Posted by Lorne Greene View Post
God, this is why I dont want to deal with these people. They make you pull permits and schedule inspections through a portal. I registered and had my permit added to my account. I just logged in to schedule an inspection and now I don't have an account, I had to reregister using the same email (figured it would have declined my second registration as my email is my user name) I log in and poof no permit and when I do a permit search on my property address nothing shows up.
This sounds like a Christmas miracle
Burgmane is offline  
Old 12-04-2019, 11:34 AM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NC
Posts: 617
Default

Originally Posted by Lorne Greene View Post
God, this is why I dont want to deal with these people. They make you pull permits and schedule inspections through a portal. I registered and had my permit added to my account. I just logged in to schedule an inspection and now I don't have an account, I had to reregister using the same email (figured it would have declined my second registration as my email is my user name) I log in and poof no permit and when I do a permit search on my property address nothing shows up.
I deal with Raleigh permitting daily, this new portal is awful. I'd call it in for inspection, most of the inspectors are pretty cool until you piss them off. as mentioned they will just take a quick look and move on.
JoCo34 is offline  
Old 12-04-2019, 11:43 AM
  #15  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 2,253
Default

Originally Posted by JoCo34 View Post
I deal with Raleigh permitting daily, this new portal is awful. I'd call it in for inspection, most of the inspectors are pretty cool until you piss them off. as mentioned they will just take a quick look and move on.
Thank you. Can you help me understand what the heck is this storm water thing?



Lorne Greene is online now  
Old 12-04-2019, 11:46 AM
  #16  
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 77
Default

I had a nightmare in Mecklenburg County in NC. Get the permit! Think about down the road...
jtwrace is offline  
Old 12-04-2019, 11:59 AM
  #17  
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 77
Default

Originally Posted by Lorne Greene View Post
God, this is why I dont want to deal with these people. They make you pull permits and schedule inspections through a portal. I registered and had my permit added to my account. I just logged in to schedule an inspection and now I don't have an account, I had to reregister using the same email (figured it would have declined my second registration as my email is my user name) I log in and poof no permit and when I do a permit search on my property address nothing shows up.
Is there a filter in the search? Are you only searching open permits? Maybe they closed it already.

edit: Looks like you found it from your last post.
Little_Giant is offline  
Old 12-04-2019, 12:03 PM
  #18  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 2,253
Default

Originally Posted by Little_Giant View Post
Is there a filter in the search? Are you only searching open permits? Maybe they closed it already.

edit: Looks like you found it from your last post.
Raleigh and Wake have their own systems that use identical software. I was trying to login to wake when I needed to login to the Raleigh portal.
Lorne Greene is online now  
Old 12-04-2019, 12:08 PM
  #19  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: On the beach
Posts: 3,102
Default

It sounds like it’s done to code as far as the construction. Call in for the final A dollar bill says they do a drive-by inspection. They’re not going to measure anything. Sign and drive.
Still Stoked is offline  
Old 12-04-2019, 02:20 PM
  #20  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Merritt Island FL
Posts: 854
Default

I would get it inspected. Odds are great that he doesn't measure a thing. We had an ac inspected and the guy showed up looked at the ac and walked out. Never checked to make sure anything was installed correctly.
38P6 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.