Notices
Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By JasperDog
  • 1 Post By tacx
  • 1 Post By fishingfun
  • 1 Post By crazybeard

Naples Home Inspection

Old 05-29-2019, 11:54 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,905
Default Naples Home Inspection

Anyone have a recommendation for a home inspector in Naples FL? Looks like there are a million options here. I was looking at HouseMaster or Pillar to Post.
fjmaverick is offline  
Old 05-29-2019, 12:01 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: naples
Posts: 230
Default

Originally Posted by fjmaverick View Post
Anyone have a recommendation for a home inspector in Naples FL? Looks like there are a million options here. I was looking at HouseMaster or Pillar to Post.
Good luck. I used several that have been recommended but cant say I was impressed with any of them.

I have come to the point that I don't even bother with hiring one anymore and instead if I have a concern I hire a company directly to check out the equipment.

alfnator is online now  
Old 05-29-2019, 12:57 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location:
Posts: 2,365
Default

Since the purchase is AS IS down there, I agree with alfnator, get a termite inspection and maybe a AC guy.
marlinmike is offline  
Old 05-29-2019, 01:02 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,905
Default

I have to get wind mitigation done at the very least. The place is older (85) but has a lot of recent updates like impact windows, roof, appliances. The main things I want checked out is how the remodel in the bathrooms were done.
fjmaverick is offline  
Old 05-29-2019, 01:09 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: naples
Posts: 230
Default

Originally Posted by fjmaverick View Post
The place is older (85) but has a lot of recent updates like impact windows, roof, appliances. .
How recent?

"recent updates in Naples" = IRMA damage. just something to keep in mind. If the roof is new after 2017 I would check for mold . Is the house on the water?

I do wish I had someone to recommend for you, but unfortunately finding good contractors and technicians in this area has been a challenge.


alfnator is online now  
Old 05-29-2019, 03:33 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Tuckerton Beach, N.J.
Posts: 1,064
Default

These guys are a joke. If you are getting a mortgage then I'm sure the bank is making you get one, you have no choice. If you do have a choice than find an older contractor/homebuilder who has been around and ask him to do it. That way you will have someone who actually knows what he is talking about and can give you the real deal on the place.
Clamdigger II is offline  
Old 05-29-2019, 04:03 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Naples, Florida
Posts: 788
Default

My Aunt and uncle just had an inspection done and it was a decent inspection for the cost. They used this company: https://www.arei.solutions/
EMC Pursuit is offline  
Old 05-29-2019, 04:49 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 669
Default

Pay particular attention to the termite inspection... For you and for when you decide to sell it...

Just had some friends in SC go through a bad experience trying to sell... It got done $50k later...
fjmaverick likes this.
JasperDog is offline  
Old 05-30-2019, 09:45 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 108
Default

Hiring a home inspector is a crap shoot at best. Hiring individual contractors to inspect in their expertise is the best way to go.
alfnator likes this.
tacx is offline  
Old 05-30-2019, 11:36 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,905
Default

Thanks for the help. I called Kevin House as other members seemed to have good things to say but he was booked a week out. Im using EMC Pursuits recommendation to satisfy the lender. I have Truly Nolen stopping by during the inspection to check out the bugs.
fjmaverick is offline  
Old 05-30-2019, 11:57 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Suffolk, Va.
Posts: 17,063
Default

The best advise I can give is never use a Realtors "Recomended" inspector.
alfnator likes this.
fishingfun is offline  
Old 05-30-2019, 07:22 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
crazybeard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Tropico
Posts: 5,807
Default

Originally Posted by fishingfun View Post
The best advise I can give is never use a Realtors "Recomended" inspector.
Originally Posted by tacx View Post
Hiring a home inspector is a crap shoot at best. Hiring individual contractors to inspect in their expertise is the best way to go.
these. Or a good GC but you'll not get it for $299 or whatever.
crazybeard is offline  
Old 06-04-2019, 11:46 AM
  #13  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,905
Default

Everything looked good but the county website only lists permits for the roof. They updated the windows, AC, water heater and a few other things, but I don't see any permits. Is there anything to worry about with that?


There were a few small plumbing quirks, AC has a loud fan motor, old insulation in the attic but overall the structure is good.
fjmaverick is offline  
Old 06-04-2019, 01:16 PM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
crazybeard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Tropico
Posts: 5,807
Default

Unpermitted work? That happens all the time in FL (and other places) personally I wouldn't be too worried about it for those things. Now days you need a permit to pull and seat a toilet....
fjmaverick likes this.
crazybeard is offline  
Old 06-04-2019, 02:23 PM
  #15  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 160
Default

I'm a licensed HI in S.C.. I've invested lots of time and money no to my trade for continuing education and such. I'm nationally certified in certain aspects of my field.
We are a license required state. There are Home inspectors out there that aren't worth the cost. Most of them are through larger national companies, they are typically just starting out in the industry and the larger companies allow them to gain experience without the headaches of building clientele, marketing and running a small business.
Typically in our industry the small but more expensive inspectors are the more experienced and thorough because they have a reputation to uphold and a business to build. In my area specifically our average inspection cost is $350-$400 there is a large Natl company (mentioned above) that is less expensive and I've personally met a few of their inspectors as I was going behind them to do repairs for the sellers(I also do residential remodeling and such, which is why I got into the inspection side because I saw lots of things missed).
Home inspections are basic visual inspections of components of a home/building. We do not and cannot be code inspectors, nor do we take things apart. We can't recommend longevity of components only if they function within the parameters of the manufacturer of the units. We inspect and report the overall condition of a home as it stands during the inspection. If a limb falls through a roof 2 days post inspection I cant report it,home homeowner/seller gets it repaired subpar prior to closing and you purchase the he without the disclosure of the post inspection damaged roof. Now the repair leaks after the first rain storm.after you move in. I the inspector get blamed for "missing it". (This exact senario just happened to me, I actually had to pull recent weather data/records to prove it)
A proper inspection company carries and will provide proof of E&O insurance as well, a lot don't.
Most home inspection warranties (Typically provided by national companies)a snake oil. Lulling a buyer into a false sense of security about their inspection.
Some inspectors are scared to full report and disclose their findings due to the possibility of "killing the deal". I'm not...I'll tell you up front if it's a $π!t hole..
Almost of of my clients are agent referrals, mostly because I take pride in what I do and they realize that.
To hear that so many are disappointed in their previous home inspections is concerning. I have a feeling most inspectors didn't clearly explain what the purpose of the inspection was actually going to achieve,or that some clients didn't convey what their expectations were to the inspector. I almost always try to schedule inspections when my client is available to join me to avoid any miscommunication or let downs..
Sorry about the long response..just a little insight into my industrindustry.one I enjoy and take pride in.
MaddMac is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread