Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > REGIONAL BOATING & FISHING GROUPS > The Carolinas
Reload this Page >

Atlantic Beach Surf / Inlet fishing (need opinion/advice on gear)

Notices

Atlantic Beach Surf / Inlet fishing (need opinion/advice on gear)

Old 01-19-2008, 12:26 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location:
Posts: 15
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Atlantic Beach Surf / Inlet fishing (need opinion/advice on gear)

Also posted this on a similar forum, but wanted to get your opinions.

Let me start off my saying I only visit the beach 3/4 times per year, so I don't fish that often. I take pretty good care of my gear, so getting a high end 200-500$ reel/rod is useless to me. I do fish around home (Triad NC) for bass and catfish so some of my bigger salt gear is used for catfishing. My saltwater fishing will be pretty limited to Atlantic Beach area, mostly Bogue sound/inlet. At the end I will upload pictures for your convenience so you can get an idea. EDIT* I should clarify I will be going in March/April, and hopefully again in May/June then again in August then Oct.

This is what I have so far.

1.) Old Shakespeare Long Shot rod/reel combo rated 12/240 14/210 20/160. Rod is 7', reel in great shape, rod is questionable as it is 10yrs old. Plan on using a basic double bottom premade rigs you get from walmart or whatever for spot or mullet and smaller baitfish. 2-3oz weight, shrimp or salted mullet. What line/leader would you recommend.

2.) Daiwa Sweepfire 3500 rated (Gear: 4.9:1, Line Per: 33 1/2", Weight: 13 1/2 ozs., Line Capacity: 10/240, 12/210, 14/170.). Got this reel for free, a friend got two from a friend. I realize only 1 ball bearing and it's cheap. I plan on probably just getting a berkley big game or ugly stick from wally world for a rod and using it as a backup with perhaps 15-20# test (mono - cajun variety as we have alot). I don't really plan on having this one in the water, but would like to get any idea of what line/rig you would use it for if you did.

3.) I have yet to get. I want to use this combo as a inshore redfish rig primarily, but of course the joy of saltwater is you don't know what your catching but the premise is to have a light setup. Artificial bait will be used, jig or spoon with cutbait or will try Gulp as a trailer. I'll tell you what I am looking for with hopes to be swayed one way or the other. Rod - Ugly Stick no question, medium action 6 1/2' probably. Reel I am looking at either...

Pflueger Medalist 6040
Okuma Metaloid 30-40
Okuma Alumina 30-40
Okuma Fina 30-40

Or any other suggestions in the 50$ price range. What line/leader poundage would you use on this setup? Remember I am looking to cast as far/smooth as possible on a light(er) setup. This can and probably will also be used as a bass setup although I usually use a ambassador 5500 (I think).

4.) Ugly Stick 11' and Okuma Epixor EF80.

EF-80a 5.0:1 420/15 350/20 260/25

This will be used strictly inlet side, cast as far as possible. Live bait will be used only, hopes of bigger pups, blues and shark. What line/leader would you recommend? I was thinking of going with either Ande Pink 20-25lb and perhaps top that off with 150yd of braid or Momoi diamond mono 20lb and just spool it with that (basically 40lb). What would you recommend?

I realize it will take some time to answer these questions, and appreciate any feedback you may have. I will upload some pictures so you can get an idea of the surrounding area and if you are local to this area please chime in. Some of these I have taken, some are off the internet. My friend whom I will be going with does have a 17' boat, although it has yet to be determined if it will work/if we can use so our options may open up at the time if we can use it. Until then, primarily shore/pier fishing.

Thanks in advance, Rob.

Inlet side

http://img444.imageshack.us/my.php?i...oto0052bp0.jpg
http://img170.imageshack.us/my.php?i...oto0070hp5.jpg


Sound (don't have alot of personal pics)

http://img167.imageshack.us/my.php?i...oto0024cx9.jpg
http://img167.imageshack.us/my.php?image=1641913zr5.jpg
http://img167.imageshack.us/my.php?i...t100007gv7.jpg
Old 01-19-2008, 02:09 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wilmington NC
Posts: 4,202
Received 579 Likes on 288 Posts
Default Re: Atlantic Beach Surf / Inlet fishing (need opinion/advice on gear)

I surf fish around Rich's Inlet - Wilmington. I catch lots of Reds in the surf, the shoals & on the flats.

Most of the Reds, Flounders & Blues are much closer then most people think. Sometimes in a foot & half of water on the flats or in the suds in the surf.

When sight casting to large schools of Reds you got to be mobile to find them. Stay away from an 11' Ugly Stick - much to heavy for fishing - a better choice of rod would be an 9ft. Tica or Sea Striker ( cost about $ 80. ). Or any quality 7 to 8ft. 1 piece rod,

For live bait & Gulp Crabs - 9ft. Tica with Ambasseur Sports Rocket conventional spooled with 30# PowerPro -15' of 50# shock leader- 3oz. egg sinker - very short leader about 3 inches to a Gamakatsu 3, 4 or 5 Circle hook ( depends on bait size)

For bait fishing & throwing 2oz. Kastmasters, Hopkins & Striper size Topwater for Reds - 9ft. Sea Striker with Daiwa BG 30 Spinning spooled with 30# PP. ..... let my guest use this set up, less headaches for me.

For small ( 3/4 to 1.5 oz. ) Kastmaster, Hopkins & MirrOlure topwater, sinking TT models & Spro bucktails 1.5oz - 8ft. Shimano Teramar (1 piece ) with a Shimano Spheroes 4000 spinning reel - spooled with 15# PP & a short 30# FluroCarbon leader.

PowerPro smaller then 15# has always given me wind knots......Hope this helps..............ICM
Old 01-19-2008, 05:10 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Clemmons/BroadCreek, NC
Posts: 443
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Atlantic Beach Surf / Inlet fishing (need opinion/advice on gear)

Robb.
That second picture. That's a good place for flounder, blues and a few spanish in july and aug. With a cast net you can catch all the bait you want, around aug.

Good luck.
Old 01-19-2008, 09:15 PM
  #4  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location:
Posts: 15
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Atlantic Beach Surf / Inlet fishing (need opinion/advice on gear)

Thank you two for your replies. Anyone else feel free to comment, I could use all the help and ideas as possible.

Old 01-21-2008, 10:09 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: 40/42 & Beaufort
Posts: 1,057
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Re: Atlantic Beach Surf / Inlet fishing (need opinion/advice on gear)

If you are near a Dick's Sporting Goods Check them out they have all of their clearance fishing tackle marked down an additional 25%. You can usually pick up some pretty good bargains.
Old 01-26-2008, 07:17 AM
  #6  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location:
Posts: 15
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Atlantic Beach Surf / Inlet fishing (need opinion/advice on gear)

Ok, so I got a few more items to add . I haven't gotten any rods yet, I only have an abu 5500-C3 w/ 6'6" rod that I bass fish with. I did get a few reels though.

ICM please critique

1.) Shimano Sahara 4000 paired with ugly stick lite inshore w/ 30# PP braid and 30# leader for inshore. (haven't gotten the rod yet, was thinking about 7' one peice)

2.) Penn 220 GTO, 7-8' ugly stick catfish w/ 20-30lb mono either momoi diamond or berkley big game.. I fish more for catfish but would like to be able to convert this to a blue, speck or red rig. What leader material would you suggest? If blues are hitting, should I use the wire-nylon coated leaders?

3.) Okuma Epixor 80 w/ berkley big game rod, 8-9', dad will probably use this one. I don't want to put alot of money in this rod, and the BBG run about 20 bucks at walmart. It holds alot of line (350yd of 20lb). Same purpose as stated above when used for saltwater applications.

4.) Penn levelwind 350, spooled with 300-350 yds of 30lb momoi diamond, 12' ugly stick XH. Will be using 480# wire leader, 10-13/0 owner hook eyes welded primarily for shark fishing/drifting from shore. Is this 12' overkill? I know you suggested shorter rods, although I won't be jigging, reeling in very often. I want something to be able to catch sharks when I am at the beach.

Sorry if it sounds like I'm making it complicated, just want to get some advice before i drop 150 in rods. Keep in mind I catfish/carp/bass fish at home so something that could overlap would be cool, so the 12' rod may be out of the question. I still have the daiwa and longshot rod that I will probably use for baitfish and flounder.
Old 01-28-2008, 09:01 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wilmington NC
Posts: 4,202
Received 579 Likes on 288 Posts
Default Re: Atlantic Beach Surf / Inlet fishing (need opinion/advice on gear)

Got almost the same setup & love it....... abu 5500-C3 w/ 6'6" rod ......
Perfect for Red, Trout & Flounder from the boat. Use with a Carolina rig, popping cork or jighead - live, dead or Gulps will work fine......

Makes a great trolling outfit for Spanish, Bonitos, False Albies & Snake Kings.
Pull either Yozuri Deep Divers or Clarkspoons (small size 00 & 0)

1.) Shimano Sahara 4000 paired with ugly stick lite inshore w/ 30# PP braid and 30# leader for inshore. (haven't gotten the rod yet, was thinking about 7' one peice)

Would have gone with 15# PowerPro on a 4000 size reel...leader size ok... Ugly stick lite good rod ( got 3 myself with Shimano Spheros 4000 reels with 15# PP)
Would use this for MirrOlures, bucktails & grubs. Also great for small metal jigs to Spanish & Bonitos busting on top.


2.) Penn 220 GTO, 7-8' ugly stick catfish w/ 20-30lb mono either momoi diamond or berkley big game.. I fish more for catfish but would like to be able to convert this to a blue, speck or red rig. What leader material would you suggest? If blues are hitting, should I use the wire-nylon coated leaders?

Is this a trolling outfit? Use it for pulling smaller Planers (#1or 2) with Clarkspoons...
Leave this rig as is...leader would be flurocarbon 30# or smaller....You can use wire, but will have fewer bites.

3.) Okuma Epixor 80 w/ berkley big game rod, 8-9', dad will probably use this one. I don't want to put alot of money in this rod, and the BBG run about 20 bucks at walmart. It holds alot of line (350yd of 20lb). Same purpose as stated above when used for saltwater applications.

Not familiar with this reel - will get back to you
Bait runners are perfect for the surf....leave it as is

4.) Penn levelwind 350, spooled with 300-350 yds of 30lb momoi diamond, 12' ugly stick XH. Will be using 480# wire leader, 10-13/0 owner hook eyes welded primarily for shark fishing/drifting from shore. Is this 12' overkill? I know you suggested shorter rods, although I won't be jigging, reeling in very often. I want something to be able to catch sharks when I am at the beach.

Levelwind reels do not cast well - so this might be a bad idea for casting. Good idea for jigging & drifting with 30# PowerPro on boat short 6'6"rod (not a live bait boat rod, they have a very flexiable tip to let your live bait swim). Short rods work better on boats......You will be able to catch Cobias & Sharks with this reel

If that Ugly Stick is the old style surf rod it's too heavy to be casting with & 12 footer is way overkill - for our area a 2 piece Tica 9 (maybe 10 ft.) rod is perfect. Spinning reels are less of a headache from the surf for most people.

Sorry if it sounds like I'm making it complicated, just want to get some advice before i drop 150 in rods. Keep in mind I catfish/carp/bass fish at home so something that could overlap would be cool, so the 12' rod may be out of the question. I still have the daiwa and longshot rod that I will probably use for baitfish and flounder.

You can use your fresh water rods & reels - just hose them off when done.........Hope this helped........ICM
Old 01-28-2008, 09:27 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wilmington NC
Posts: 4,202
Received 579 Likes on 288 Posts
Default RE: Atlantic Beach Surf / Inlet fishing (need opinion/advice on gear)

My best advice would be to visit a beach tackle store & buy what you will need from them, ask them how to tie rigs & find out what's working in that area. Also have them spool your reels & tie on your leaders.
I get a lot of good advice from local charter Captains in my local tackle store, I never see them in Wallyworld buying gear

Fish from your dock on different tides whenever you can. Break the water down to 3 levels - top - midle & bottom.

Most people have too much tackle (me included) sounds like you got enough, with fishing experience to go with it.

Post your results.......thanks........ICM
Old 01-28-2008, 05:39 PM
  #9  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location:
Posts: 15
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Atlantic Beach Surf / Inlet fishing (need opinion/advice on gear)

Thanks ICM, great post!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.