Notices

Bill to Ban Gill Netting?

Old 04-12-2021, 08:58 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,462
Received 605 Likes on 337 Posts
Default Bill to Ban Gill Netting?

Saw this on SM.
Bill introduced 4/08/2021 to ban inshore nets of more than 500 sq feet.

https://www.ncleg.gov/Sessions/2021/...dx__1K7buO-D_o

Not sure who Representative Richardson is. If this is in fact a real bill introduced, it appears to include language that would put it to a statewide vote in 2022.

Old 04-12-2021, 09:04 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,317
Received 604 Likes on 372 Posts
Default

It's a real bill. Scheduled for 1st reading tonight. Billy Richardson is a good friend of the resource.

The bill bans all entanglement nets. It limits trawl nets. It is a bill to allow the citizens of NC to vote via a referendum in the 2022 election, much like the recent right to hunt and fish bill.

https://www.ncleg.gov/BillLookUp/2021/H513
Likes:
CAP1, Macrophylla, NC Mike, Puddlejockey, Snailspace, turkovich and 1 others liked this post. (Show less...)
Old 04-12-2021, 09:10 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,462
Received 605 Likes on 337 Posts
Default

Thanks Rick.
Old 04-12-2021, 09:27 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
triumphrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Masaryktown, Fl
Posts: 19,152
Received 4,935 Likes on 2,185 Posts
Default

It was the best thing Florida ever did....but it took a hell of a fight...

In the early 90's I had a lot of pics of gill net waste. Small dead trout that were under limit all over the bottom after the netters threw them back.

Video of three net boats closing off a canal and using a chase boat to run anything and everything to the nets. Nets pulled, nothing culled, and power loaded onto three trucks waiting at the ramp. It was prime snook and redfish territory.

Thousands of dead mullet carcasses at the ramp where the mullet had been gutted for the roe and left dead at the ramp.

Thanks to Karl Wickstrom (RIP) of Florida Sportsman magazine who remained the point man thru all the process. It made the ballot in 1994 and was implemented on July 1 1995.

After it passed all the good ol boy netters worked with local judges and found some loopholes. Eventually, they were stopped.
Likes:
2labdad, Blue_Moon, dishgawd, Donzi dude, koiboydavid, Rick McC., steve76, turkovich and 3 others liked this post. (Show less...)
Old 04-12-2021, 09:48 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,317
Received 604 Likes on 372 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by triumphrick View Post
It was the best thing Florida ever did....but it took a hell of a fight...

In the early 90's I had a lot of pics of gill net waste. Small dead trout that were under limit all over the bottom after the netters threw them back.

Video of three net boats closing off a canal and using a chase boat to run anything and everything to the nets. Nets pulled, nothing culled, and power loaded onto three trucks waiting at the ramp. It was prime snook and redfish territory.

Thousands of dead mullet carcasses at the ramp where the mullet had been gutted for the roe and left dead at the ramp.

Thanks to Karl Wickstrom (RIP) of Florida Sportsman magazine who remained the point man thru all the process. It made the ballot in 1994 and was implemented on July 1 1995.

After it passed all the good ol boy netters worked with local judges and found some loopholes. Eventually, they were stopped.

...stopped in Florida, then they moved to NC and brought their technology and methods with them. Just like Florida, they have to go.




Old 04-12-2021, 09:58 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cape Fear NC / Surf City NC
Posts: 2,037
Received 734 Likes on 191 Posts
Default

interesting read thanks for posting - hope it moves forward
Old 04-12-2021, 09:59 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 652
Received 128 Likes on 78 Posts
Default

Good, I hope the bill passes with flying colors.
Likes:
Old 04-12-2021, 10:28 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Fayetteville/Morehead City, NC
Posts: 1,449
Received 196 Likes on 118 Posts
Default

Billy Richardson is a legislator from Fayetteville. He's a sportsman and he's passionate about his issue. He's been on it for 20 years.
Old 04-12-2021, 10:51 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,317
Received 604 Likes on 372 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by abfish View Post
Billy Richardson is a legislator from Fayetteville. He's a sportsman and he's passionate about his issue. He's been on it for 20 years.
Yes sir, Billy tries hard. He also has perseverance...and that is going to make a difference one day.

You inland guys need to pressure your house members to sign-on as a co-sponsor to H513.

From the 2015-2016 Session-
https://www.ncleg.gov/BillLookup/2015/h1122

From the 1995-1996 Session-
https://www.ncleg.gov/BillLookUp/1995/H860
Attached Images
File Type: pdf
H860v1.pdf (70.4 KB, 9 views, Original Link)
Likes:
Old 04-12-2021, 12:40 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 243
Received 51 Likes on 40 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by triumphrick View Post
It was the best thing Florida ever did....but it took a hell of a fight...

In the early 90's I had a lot of pics of gill net waste. Small dead trout that were under limit all over the bottom after the netters threw them back.

Video of three net boats closing off a canal and using a chase boat to run anything and everything to the nets. Nets pulled, nothing culled, and power loaded onto three trucks waiting at the ramp. It was prime snook and redfish territory.

Thousands of dead mullet carcasses at the ramp where the mullet had been gutted for the roe and left dead at the ramp.

Thanks to Karl Wickstrom (RIP) of Florida Sportsman magazine who remained the point man thru all the process. It made the ballot in 1994 and was implemented on July 1 1995.

After it passed all the good ol boy netters worked with local judges and found some loopholes. Eventually, they were stopped.
and Florida fishery still is horrible
Old 04-12-2021, 12:46 PM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
triumphrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Masaryktown, Fl
Posts: 19,152
Received 4,935 Likes on 2,185 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Jward28468 View Post
and Florida fishery still is horrible
Were you fishing here before 1995...? And you say it's worse fishing here now since the net ban? What do you think the population difference is in the state from 1995 to 2021..?

Are you aware of the issues with red tide and the runoff from lake O.

Are you a netter?
Old 04-12-2021, 12:49 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 243
Received 51 Likes on 40 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by triumphrick View Post
Were you fishing here before 1995...? And you say it's worse fishing here now since the net ban? What do you think the population difference is in the state from 1995 to 2021..?

Are you aware of the issues with red tide and the runoff from lake O.

Are you a netter?
so no nets to blame now so guess you have to blame red tide. The problem in every state is too many people and not enough of fish that's why the fishing was better back in the days because you didn't have everyone fishing.
Likes:
Old 04-12-2021, 01:21 PM
  #13  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
triumphrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Masaryktown, Fl
Posts: 19,152
Received 4,935 Likes on 2,185 Posts
Default

You didnt care to answer half of what I asked. Offer up a suggestion as to what can be done to Florida's population increase. I have no answers other than to live where most of them aint.

We fought the naysayers like you for about two years trying to get what we got.

I couldnt fathom what our fishery would be like if nothing changed.
Old 04-12-2021, 02:10 PM
  #14  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Beaufort NC
Posts: 2,018
Received 293 Likes on 168 Posts
Default

I pray for the day this happens.
Old 04-12-2021, 02:51 PM
  #15  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,317
Received 604 Likes on 372 Posts
Default

...and the NCFA lies start.

Please write your House member.

Find them here- https://www.ncleg.gov/Members/MemberList/H

Click on their name to get email addresses and phone number. Make sure to copy their legislative assistant- click on the leg. assistant name to get email address.

Don't forget to copy John Bell and Tim Moore-







...and the big lie sent this afternoon to every member of the House from Jerry Schill (Note: my X-outs trying to stay within posting guidelines.)


From: XXXXX XXXXXX <XXXXXXXXXXX @ NCFISH.org
Sent: Monday, April 12, 2021 11:37 AM
To:
Subject: Bill for referendum that would eliminate commercial fishing as we know it


Mr Speaker and Members of the House:

Back about 1994, Representative Billy Richardson and a few other legislators filed a bill calling for a referendum on fishing in our state, that if enacted would do away with commercial fishing as we know it. The bill never got out of committee.

Well, he filed a similar bill. For now, I'm asking you to PLEASE not sign on to this bill!

First, there's the issue of a referendum. But regardless of what you think of issues like this being put to a statewide vote, consider this: If this would go into effect by referendum or legislation, it would devastate commercial fishing communities in eastern North Carolina!

God bless,

XXXX XXXXXX
Director of Government Relations
N.C. Fisheries Association, Inc.
PO Box 86
Morehead City, NC 28557
Cell: 252-361-XXXX

Last edited by Rick S; 04-12-2021 at 03:11 PM.
Old 04-12-2021, 03:19 PM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,317
Received 604 Likes on 372 Posts
Default

You guys in Guilford County need to write, call and visit Pricey Harrison. Pricey doesn't understand how important recreational fishing, conservation and sustainable fisheries are to the residents of Guilford County. Pricey's friends in Beaufort, where she spends a lot of her time, are involved with DMF, Sea Grant, the teaching Universities getting grant monies to study commercial fishing, the Waterfowl Museum, etc. She's only hearing and understanding one side. Pricey sits on the new Marine Resources and Aquaculture Committee. She specifically was put on that committee to kill fisheries reform...unless her constituents can help her understand the correct view-point.


Last edited by Rick S; 04-12-2021 at 03:26 PM.
Old 04-13-2021, 05:44 AM
  #17  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,317
Received 604 Likes on 372 Posts
Default

Bill was read last night and moved to Rules Committee-





Below are the legislators you need to be emailing and calling- make sure to include John Bell, who is on the committee.



Old 04-13-2021, 05:56 AM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,462
Received 605 Likes on 337 Posts
Default

Rick,
Do you happen to have, or can you put together the email addresses for these folks? Post them here? I wouldn't think it is a rules violation as these are all public individuals, as is there email addresses. It's not PI, or PII data, so there should be no security or privacy related issues.
Old 04-13-2021, 06:08 AM
  #19  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,317
Received 604 Likes on 372 Posts
Default

I made it easy for you. Just cut and paste to your address bar in an email-

Destin.Hall@ncleg.gov; Lucy.Harrill@ncleg.gov; Kelly.Hastings@ncleg.gov; James.Jenkins@ncleg.gov; Brenden.Jones@ncleg.gov; Jeff.Hauser@ncleg.gov; John.Szoka@ncleg.gov; Beverly.Slagle@ncleg.gov; John.Torbett@ncleg.gov; Viddia.Torbett@ncleg.gov; Gale.Adcock@ncleg.gov; Suzanne.Smith@ncleg.gov; John.Bell@ncleg.gov; Susan.Horne@ncleg.gov; Jamie.Boles@ncleg.gov; Alison.Johnson@ncleg.gov; William.Brisson@ncleg.gov; Caroline.Stirling@ncleg.gov; Dana.Bumgardner@ncleg.gov; Margie.Penven@ncleg.gov; Becky.Carney@ncleg.gov; Beth.LeGrande@ncleg.gov; Carla.Cunningham@ncleg.gov; Sherrie.Burnette@ncleg.gov; Ted.Davis@ncleg.gov; Andrew.Bowers@ncleg.gov; Jimmy.Dixon@ncleg.gov; Michael.Wiggins@ncleg.gov; Jon.Hardister@ncleg.gov; Jayne.Nelson@ncleg.gov; Howard.Hunter@ncleg.gov; Loria.Williams@ncleg.gov; Grey.Mills@ncleg.gov; Mason.Barefoot@ncleg.gov; Erin.Pare@ncleg.gov; Regan.Metzger@ncleg.gov; Amos.Quick@ncleg.gov; Jasmine.Quick@ncleg.gov; Robert.Reives@ncleg.gov; Veronica.Green@ncleg.gov; William.Richardson@ncleg.gov; Leigh.Lawrence@ncleg.gov; Jason.Saine@ncleg.gov; MaryStuart.Sloan@ncleg.gov; Shelly.Willingham@ncleg.gov; Johnna.Smith@ncleg.gov; Michael.Wray@ncleg.gov; Susan.Burleson@ncleg.gov;
Likes:
Old 04-13-2021, 06:50 AM
  #20  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,317
Received 604 Likes on 372 Posts
Default

Example of a letter. Feel free to cut and paste.

Subject: HB513- Peoples' Choice for Marine Sources

Chairman Hall and Members of the House Rules, Calendar, and Operations Committee:

I would like to thank your fellow committee member Representative Billy Richardson for his vision, leadership, and most of all his perseverance in trying to right a wrong. Supporting HB513 is an action that will benefit every citizen's right to enjoy our public trust resources and to preserve those public trust resources for our future generations, an honorable task.

You will be considering HB513- Peoples' Choice for Marine Sources. Not only do I ask that you support this bill by voting to move it forward, but I also ask that you look at the facts and acknowledge the importance and urgency of this bill by becoming a co-sponsor.

Entanglement gill nets are highly destructive and unsustainable gears. It is well past time for North Carolina to join every other state from South Carolina to Texas that has either outright banned these gears or effectively banned them through severe limitations on use. Bans on unsustainable and highly destructive gears create a healthy resource that like a rising tide, floats all boats.

The citizens of NC should be allowed, must be allowed, the opportunity via a referendum to voice their support for ending the destruction so that a rebuilding of our public trust resources can take place to be enjoyed by all of us and our future generations.

Sincerely and Best Regards,

Last edited by Rick S; 04-13-2021 at 09:55 AM.
Likes:

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.