Notices
Like Tree222Likes

The Big Rock

Old 06-18-2019, 07:01 PM
  #581  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Atlantic Beach, NC
Posts: 462
Default

Originally Posted by apexhunter View Post


The potential winner was caught and a mate didn’t have a current license. Long story short the fish was DQ’d and 3+/- years of legal battles later the 1st and 2nd place combined money was split between the DQ’d team and the eventual winner! But it wasn’t close to 950# as this years winner is a tournament record. There was a grander caught 28-30 years ago in the DU tournament and that fish was mounted and displayed by the Morehead City public boat ramp.

That fish was 887 Ilbs. IIRC that got DQ'ed a few years back
CapeFisher85 is offline  
Old 06-19-2019, 07:38 AM
  #582  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Wilmington NC
Posts: 705
Default

Originally Posted by netter View Post
Any word on the 3rd place fish? Last I heard check was withheld from failed polygraph (scuttlebutt around docks). BR website hasn't posted official results and gone radio silent since Saturday. Just curious as to what the issue is???
I posted the same thing before the big pic post showed up. Are they trying to avoid a “scandal”? I don’t get it.
MaseTime is online now  
Old 06-19-2019, 08:14 AM
  #583  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 53
Default

The Big Rock ap now shows Donna Mae as third place. Theresa Jean no longer on the list.
captwillis is offline  
Old 06-19-2019, 08:21 AM
  #584  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Cary & Morehead City NC
Posts: 11
Default

Really hope they give an explanation and don't just sweep it under the rug.

Also the unofficial results on the big rock website only show 1st and 2nd place...

https://www.thebigrock.com/tournamen...pants/summary/
MaseTime likes this.

Last edited by iceman72; 06-19-2019 at 08:24 AM. Reason: !
iceman72 is offline  
Old 06-19-2019, 08:23 AM
  #585  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Wilmington NC
Posts: 705
Default

Originally Posted by captwillis View Post
The Big Rock ap now shows Donna Mae as third place. Theresa Jean no longer on the list.
Thanks I had already deleted the app. The website mentions TJ fighting 2 fish and bringing one in but then later says Donna Mae won third place without mention why TJ got DQ’d. Just tell the whole story and quit trying to hide stuff. Silly.
MaseTime is online now  
Old 06-19-2019, 08:33 AM
  #586  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Wilmington NC
Posts: 705
Default

Originally Posted by iceman72 View Post
Really hope they give an explanation and don't just sweep it under the rug.

Also the unofficial results on the big rock website only show 1st and 2nd place...

https://www.thebigrock.com/tournamen...pants/summary/
Yet they mention 3rd place here, from their site:



Then the drama began. Theresa Jean — a boat that battled two blue marlins at the same time for several hours – showed up at the weight station with a 582.1-pound blue marlin to take over second place in the overall standings. Theresa Jean captain John Tomasini, Thurmont, Md., and angler Ryan McKenzie teamed to land their blue marlin in six hours.

The Theresa Jean catch caused the first change on the leaderboard since Monday afternoon. Sweetums captained by Pete Rae, Plano, Tx., was the inaugural leader of the 61stBig Rock with a 545.1-pound blue marlin caught by Scott DeWolf. Sweetums captured the Level V Fabulous Fishermen prize of $531,250 for being the first boat to land a blue marlin that weighed at least 500 pounds. The Theresa Jean catch bumped Sweetum off the leaderboard.

Throughout the week, Wolverine was bulletproof and managed to stay atop the leaderboard. Wolverine captain Rocky Hardison, Beaufort, and angler Cory Zeigler teamed to catch a 588.9-pound blue marlin on opening day and maintained their lead through 2 p.m. Saturday … the usual celebration time.

But this was the year of the Dog.

A final weigh-in at 10:55 p.m. put the contest in concrete. Wall Hanger, captained by Gray Blount, Greenville, nearly caused a final leaderboard shake-up with a 569.5-pound blue marlin landed by angler Brian Allen, Raleigh. But Allen’s catch came close … but it weighed less than the 569.9-pounder reeled in by Donna Mae angler James Luihn. The close-call finish in third place was worth $192,575 for the Donna Mae crew.

MaseTime is online now  
Old 06-19-2019, 01:45 PM
  #587  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Obx
Posts: 979
Default

i Had three radios goin and wasn’t paying to much attention but my crew said a boat had two on the deck. That would be a problem
Fishoi is offline  
Old 06-20-2019, 08:10 AM
  #588  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Raleigh NC
Posts: 1,271
Default

We were fueling up listening to the radio and heard them boat a fish and say something to the effect of "now we are messing with the 2nd fish". I don't think we actually ever heard them say that they boated two....then they called in a release. It was hard for us to hear though as we had a lot going on.
jkapl001 is offline  
Old 06-20-2019, 08:28 AM
  #589  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Morehead City, NC
Posts: 1,137
Default

I know nothing about who won 3rd place. But if a boat caught two fish at the same time why couldn’t you boat the larger fish and then claim the second fish as a release?
buzzk is offline  
Old 06-20-2019, 08:36 AM
  #590  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 6,531
Default

Originally Posted by buzzk View Post
I know nothing about who won 3rd place. But if a boat caught two fish at the same time why couldn’t you boat the larger fish and then claim the second fish as a release?
I don't see where they broke any fisheries law. Dead fish get released all the time.
HeadHunt is offline  
Old 06-20-2019, 08:41 AM
  #591  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 852
Default

if a gaff went over the covering board on both fish then the tournament rules state both fish are considered boated even if one of the two is released.
evanP220 is offline  
Old 06-20-2019, 08:44 AM
  #592  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 473
Default

Originally Posted by jkapl001 View Post
We were fueling up listening to the radio and heard them boat a fish and say something to the effect of "now we are messing with the 2nd fish". I don't think we actually ever heard them say that they boated two....then they called in a release. It was hard for us to hear though as we had a lot going on.
These are just 2 theories I've come up with, nothing at all that I claim or represent as the truth, but the issue may lie with which of the 2 were released, and it's not uncommon for a fish to come up dead, in which case its plausible to believe that the second fish was the bigger one and they reasoned releasing a dead fish from the deck was no different than releasing a dead one beside the boat, so out the door went fish 1 and in came fish 2. It could be that they did something while fighting the 2nd fish that caused it to be dq'd and the resulting 400# penalty knocked them out of contention but if this were the case they would still be on the leaderboard in last place.

Last edited by kicker30; 06-20-2019 at 08:50 AM.
kicker30 is offline  
Old 06-20-2019, 08:48 AM
  #593  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 6,531
Default

Originally Posted by evanP220 View Post
if a gaff went over the covering board on both fish then the tournament rules state both fish are considered boated even if one of the two is released.
That looks to be the case.

Boat will be penalized four hundred pounds from the weight of the largest blue marlin weighed in by the boat during the week and a penalty of four hundred points will be taken away from the total of release points accumulated by said boat if:
1. Fish does not meet minimum length or weight
2. Fish has been boated but not presented to the weighmaster. A fi sh is considered boated when any portion of the fi sh or gaff breaks the outside vertical plane of the boat.
3. Fish has been gaffed but not presented to the weighmaster.
4. Fish does not adhere to State and Federal Fisheries regulations.
HeadHunt is offline  
Old 06-20-2019, 08:53 AM
  #594  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Morehead City, NC
Posts: 38
Default

We were right up there fishing w them when they called in the double. We only saw em fighting one fish. Yesterday we learned off the record that they had boated the first fish around lunch without reporting it boated released or lost then boated the 2nd which was larger. Then called in they “pulled the hook” and dumped the smaller one overboard.
Fishhuntphoto is offline  
Old 06-20-2019, 08:56 AM
  #595  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 9,569
Default

Originally Posted by Fishhuntphoto View Post
We were right up there fishing w them when they called in the double. We only saw em fighting one fish. Yesterday we learned off the record that they had boated the first fish around lunch without reporting it boated released or lost then boated the 2nd which was larger. Then called in they “pulled the hook” and dumped the smaller one overboard.
That's messed up
N2theblue is offline  
Old 06-20-2019, 08:57 AM
  #596  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chapel Hill and PKS, North Carolina
Posts: 6,715
Default

Originally Posted by evanP220 View Post
if a gaff went over the covering board on both fish then the tournament rules state both fish are considered boated even if one of the two is released.
Does that only apply if the fish was gaffed? "Went" implies the gaff leaving the boat, not returning.
glacierbaze is offline  
Old 06-20-2019, 09:03 AM
  #597  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 9,569
Default

Originally Posted by glacierbaze View Post
Does that only apply if the fish was gaffed? "Went" implies the gaff leaving the boat, not returning.
No it means as soon as a gaff is reached out over the covering boards. (emphasis mine)

Fish has been boated but not presented to the weighmaster. A fish is considered boated when any portion of the fish or gaff breaks the outside vertical plane of the boat.
N2theblue is offline  
Old 06-20-2019, 09:12 AM
  #598  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: somewhere over there
Posts: 4,047
Default

Btw on Saturday, the Triple S brought a 429 lb fish to scales. Knowing full well the fish was not in contention.

But they had hooked up and the fish sounded and died.

They could have lied lied and cut the line. But they didn’t. They boated the fish and brought it in.
N2theblue likes this.
nccoaster is offline  
Old 06-20-2019, 09:25 AM
  #599  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 852
Default

Originally Posted by glacierbaze View Post
Does that only apply if the fish was gaffed? "Went" implies the gaff leaving the boat, not returning.
even if the gaff did not return it still broke the plane of the covering board. the fish, at that point, is considered boated.
evanP220 is offline  
Old 06-20-2019, 09:41 AM
  #600  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 10,945
Default

Curious, what is the purpose of the rule regarding breaking the horizontal plane of the covering boards? Just curious why they consider anything other than a gaff stuck in a fish as meaningful.
autobaun70 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread