Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Boating How-To’s : The Kerno Memorial Forum
Reload this Page >

Autopilot pump power cable. Connect direct to battery?

Notices

Autopilot pump power cable. Connect direct to battery?

Old 02-23-2019, 03:05 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: California
Posts: 375
Likes: 0
Received 56 Likes on 33 Posts
Default Autopilot pump power cable. Connect direct to battery?

I am installing a Garmin Reactor 40 and noticed the instructions didn't specifically call this out... Can I install the pump power cable to a switch or does it have to go directly to the battery?
Old 02-23-2019, 09:26 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 636
Received 144 Likes on 87 Posts
Default

Normally such items are fused.
Only a bilge pump should be run direct off the battery, and right now I’m wishing I hadn’t done that!
stuck float switch just cost me $500 worth of batteries.
Old 02-24-2019, 02:56 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Key West, Florida
Posts: 2,333
Likes: 0
Received 256 Likes on 171 Posts
Default

NOTHING in a boat should be installed without a fuse or switch.
Your autopilot will always be "on" (looking for signal) if not switched off.
Only house power wire that should be connected (in quality, well thought out installation) is a main power line going uninterrupted to a bus bar and then to invividual switches (bilge pump - 3 way switch)
Old 02-24-2019, 03:57 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Beach Haven, New Jersey
Posts: 124
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by SeaBassHWD View Post
I am installing a Garmin Reactor 40 and noticed the instructions didn't specifically call this out... Can I install the pump power cable to a switch or does it have to go directly to the battery?
when I got my boat the auto pilot was wired directly to the battery with an in-line fuse. Not sure how the whole set up is wired but the unit doesn’t/won’t start up until the engines start so it’s not always on. That being said, if the draw isn’t too much for your bus bar there isnt a real need to direct wire it.
Old 02-24-2019, 05:04 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: See screen name
Posts: 5,779
Received 808 Likes on 501 Posts
Default

Read the directions again. The pump connects to the ECU which in turn connects to the battery via a fused cable.

http://static.garmin.com/pumac/React...tall_EN-US.pdf
Old 02-24-2019, 10:13 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: California
Posts: 375
Likes: 0
Received 56 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by caltexflanc View Post
Read the directions again. The pump connects to the ECU which in turn connects to the battery via a fused cable.

http://static.garmin.com/pumac/React...tall_EN-US.pdf
thanks for the link. For some reason, I didn't see this part in the physical manual I have (much easier to do a word search in Adobe pdf). It says I should connect the ECU cable directly to the battery but I'm afraid it will drain my battery.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.