Notices

05 Yamaha 250 HPDI and command link?

Reply

Old 12-02-2018, 09:25 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 6
Default 05 Yamaha 250 HPDI and command link?

I am in the process of rigging a pair of "05" 250hp HPDI that were built in 07/04. When I look at the Yamaha rigging manual it tells me that command link is only supported on 06 hpdi and newer. I looked at my engines and I found the blue and white wire plug. I think I remember reading somewhere on this forum if the engine had the blue and white plug it was command link capable. My questions are: Is this true? Are my engines command link capable? Will it be some crippled preliminary version of command link or just as good as the officially supported 06 and newer? Will I get full fuel management data and be able to ditch those corroding fuel flow sensors?

The reason is I really want to ditch the older style round digital gauges the engines came with. One Is I don't have room for them all on my dash. One single 6Y9 gauge would really help free some space. Second I believe the 2 Tach, Speed, and fuel gauges I have are not compatible with dual fuel tanks. Is this correct? Does anyone know how I can get 2 separate fuel tank levels to appear on these gauges? Thanks for your help. I wanted to add pictures for you but for some reason, I am not allowed to add pictures until I have over 10 posts.
HardcoreOne is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 09:43 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4,223
Default

there is a two digit number engraved into the plastic shell of the engine ECU, "-XX "
The chart below shows the ECU for the "official" introduction of Command Link (NMEA 2000)

on some engines the prior ECU has a "not ready for prime time" version of software
which may output some, but not all the data items,
or worse - cause the MFD, to which it is connected, to repeatedly interrupt / restart the connection.

But if you have "the blue and white plug" with the earlier ECU,
you may as well try it and see what you get with your MFD.

Name:  ECU-change-chart.png
Views: 84
Size:  337.0 KB
Fwpratt is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2018, 07:23 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 6
Default

I am not sure what is happening but I searched long and hard today to find the ECU on the engine and I could not. I pulled many of the covers including the one in the back and did not see what I expected to look like an engine ECU. In the back, I did find 2 black boxes both of which had the same part number 60V-8591B-00. Since there was 2 of them I am assuming them to be ignitors for each bank of 3 cylinders. Could anyone point me to the ECU location? Also Is there any way to show 2 fuel tank levels on the speed and fuel management gauges? If not I will surely ditch them.
HardcoreOne is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2018, 04:01 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4,223
Default

Yamaha did not provide for a way to have the round "multifunction" speedometer show two fuel tanks -
but you certainly could - easily - by adding a "selector switch".
The gauge simply displays the result of the fuel tank sender it is wired to -
so by re-routing its wiring to a On-On (or On-Off-On) double pole switch and then on to two fuel tank senders-
you would choose which tank level you wanted to display.


Those 60V-8591B-00.devices are the "injector drivers" - the ECU is actually hidden behind them.
If you decide to upgrade to a Command Link compatible ECU,
the Yamaha 6YC gauge comes equipped to connect to two fuel tank senders

Yamaha 6YC display
Fwpratt is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 07:53 AM
  #5  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 6
Default

Thank you Fwpratt! They really buried that ECU in there! I guess I will just have to try the blue and white plug to see what comes out. I am pretty sure I will just ditch the multifunction round gauges as I have 2 dedicated analog fuel level gauges to show me the levels as I go. Especially if I can get fuel use data via N2k (fingers crossed). Now to figure out a way to build a connector to mate to the blue and white wire plug.

Ever see any good kits that will provide male and female connectors along with plug seals for connectors like these? I figure I can use the existing plug cover for the connector supplied by Yamaha and just insert the 2 pins. I also have a few similar connectors on an old Toyota Land cruiser I need to rebuild. Maybe a good harness kit and crimping tool are in my future!
HardcoreOne is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 12:33 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4,223
Default

That Yamaha connector is made by Furukawa
you can buy the pins / grommets at websites “Eastern Beaver” or “Corsa Technic”

of course you could just cut off the Yamaha plug and then use generic connectors - spade, bullet, etc.
Fwpratt is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2018, 09:10 PM
  #7  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 6
Default

Just ordered the connector from corsa. Thought long and hard about simply cutting them off and bulleting them. The yamaha way was only a few bucks more so what the heck. thanks again for your help. Will follow up when I have some data to report or not.
HardcoreOne is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: