Notices

temp power for gps unit

Old 06-28-2020, 04:54 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,223
Received 9 Likes on 4 Posts
Default temp power for gps unit

Can I use a 12vdc battery charger as a temporary 12vdc supply for my gps unit? I want to pull waypoint coordinates out of an old unit
from the comfort of my living room without dragging a battery in the house.
Old 06-28-2020, 06:25 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Delaware
Posts: 581
Likes: 0
Received 187 Likes on 144 Posts
Default

Also interested in this answer
Old 06-28-2020, 06:48 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 104
Likes: 0
Received 78 Likes on 44 Posts
Default

I do not know the answer to your question. I would think the charger itself would not work unless it recognizes 12volts. My charger only works if clamped on a battery. If the battery is too low, then I need to jump it off a good battery in order to get the charger going. They do make 12volt supply, which would work, but that is not the same as a charger.
Do you have an motorcycle battery you can use?

But, I added a cigarette plug to my old gps. I then plugged it in my car to mess with the gps, while away from the boat. I have a new gps on the boat now, but brought along my old one and plugged into the outlet on the boat. I then went to my lobster spots in the keys, and used both to verify the accuracy, and mainly to guarantee that my original # was right over the spots.
Likes:
Old 06-28-2020, 07:03 PM
  #4  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 41
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I use a power supply out of an old computer. They are easy to find and cheap you can go online and get the wiring out puts from 5v up to 36v and just about everything in between. I wire mine with alligator clips and just get an extra power cord for GPS of what ever you want to power up.
Likes:
Old 06-29-2020, 05:47 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,223
Received 9 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Thanks for the responses.
Old 06-30-2020, 10:28 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: South AL
Posts: 83
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

I've powered marine electronics at home using a lithium ion battery jump starter that I keep in the truck and carry in the boat. I had to press the override button to send power to the jumper cables (the on-board safety features normally prevent power except when actually being used to jump-start something), but otherwise it worked great.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.