Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > The Boating Forum
Reload this Page >

G2 Etec programming issue clutch dog, "rotate prop by hand"

Notices
The Boating Forum

G2 Etec programming issue clutch dog, "rotate prop by hand"

Old 01-15-2019, 08:31 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fla / Curacao / WA
Posts: 5,139
Received 466 Likes on 271 Posts
Default G2 Etec programming issue clutch dog, "rotate prop by hand"

I got a really strange error code today. During programming, G2 300 it said "Forward clutch blocked" "Rotate prop by hand and try again"

Anyone ever see this before? I've got a call into the guru but I think its something stupid.
Old 01-15-2019, 08:43 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 7,587
Received 828 Likes on 510 Posts
Default

Was the motor running or did you try to shift it into forward while the motor was OFF without turning the prop?

Just like with a fully mechanically shifted gearcase, the lugs on the gears and on the clutch dog have to mesh side by side. If the gear and dog are not rotating, the lugs could contact each other and not allow the linkage to move any farther inward. That can stress and damage components, or in the case of the G2, it signals a warning code if the lugs hit each other without meshing properly.
Old 01-15-2019, 08:57 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 320
Likes: 0
Received 62 Likes on 39 Posts
Default

How did you get the software to read and clear codes??? I thought only dealers had that. Please share, as I am very interested in obtaining the ability to read and clear codes.

​​​​
Old 01-16-2019, 05:56 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Gretna, LA, USA
Posts: 6,386
Received 1,213 Likes on 592 Posts
Default

So if someone bumps the binnacle with the engine off, the G2 throws a code?
Old 01-16-2019, 06:03 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 7,587
Received 828 Likes on 510 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by trout25red View Post
So if someone bumps the binnacle with the engine off, the G2 throws a code?
It will not throw a code unless the EMM is first powered up by the key switch and the clutch dog and gear are not in alignment at the moment someone tries to shift the motor while it is not running.

Last edited by seahorse; 01-16-2019 at 09:23 AM.
Old 01-16-2019, 06:41 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Land down under
Posts: 14,856
Received 3,425 Likes on 2,053 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by trout25red View Post
So if someone bumps the binnacle with the engine off, the G2 throws a code?
Would anyone want to try and shift gears on an outboard motor if the engine is not running? Particularly shifting into a gear.

The code is there to tell the operator he done screwed up. In a non DEC motor something could break.
Old 01-16-2019, 08:22 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Gretna, LA, USA
Posts: 6,386
Received 1,213 Likes on 592 Posts
Default

I was just curious. I know it is not a good practice. I don't worry about myself, I worry about little monkeys around boats that push buttons and stuff when adult eyes aren't around.
Old 01-16-2019, 08:45 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5,299
Received 1,272 Likes on 581 Posts
Default

So it didn't really say "by hand," right?
Old 01-16-2019, 09:39 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Seacoast NH
Posts: 6,890
Received 1,750 Likes on 793 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 6104696 View Post
So it didn't really say "by hand," right?
That is what the screen shot says. Should he use his foot?
Old 01-16-2019, 10:38 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 162
Received 474 Likes on 248 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Boat Hound View Post
That is what the screen shot says. Should he use his foot?
No it doesn't.

But that doesn't really matter. How else would you do it?
Old 01-16-2019, 10:54 AM
  #11  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

This guy is obviously hooked up to the diagnostic software probably doing initial setup.

You cannot start the motor in gear. If the throttle is not in the neutral position when the key is turned, the lights on the binnacle flash and you get an error on the display along the lines of "Throttle not in neutral, Return to neutral position"
Old 01-16-2019, 11:19 AM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 7,529
Received 2,318 Likes on 1,293 Posts
Default

The dialogue box behind the "alert" kind of looks like it tells you what happened doesn't it?

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.