Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > The Boating Forum
Reload this Page >

totalscan transducer / sidescan crapped

Notices

totalscan transducer / sidescan crapped

Old 01-13-2019, 06:11 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Jamestown, VA
Posts: 618
Default totalscan transducer / sidescan crapped

Installed totalscan transducer during my rebuild 2 winters ago.

Downscan still works, but side-scan is nothing but fuzz now. Anyone else had this issue? I would hate to have to replace, that is a lot of cable to pull. Would manufacturer replace?
TurdFerguson is offline  
Old 01-13-2019, 10:01 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 559
Default

What unit?
Icatcher22 is offline  
Old 01-13-2019, 10:19 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Jamestown, VA
Posts: 618
Default

Originally Posted by Icatcher22 View Post
What unit?
Simrad Go5Xse
TurdFerguson is offline  
Old 01-13-2019, 11:20 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 186
Default

My GO7xse/totalscan has slowly degraded down and side scan capabilities since the new install last summer. Most recently down n side are basically snowy. Transducer position hasnít changed since install, boat lives on a lift where the bunks are feet from the ducer, no real skinny water where I frequent (basically saying no impacts to the transducer). Iím pulling the boat today to do a service. Iíll post up if I find anything physically wrong w the ducer. If I donít see anything then I guess the only way to say if itís the unit or the ducer is to swap one and see where the problem follows the device.

other pertinent info:
Latest SW updates installed
Ducer is mounted w the rigid plastic factory mount (not the sprung metal version) in an appropriate skimming position
For the first 4 or so months I could mark bottom at WOT cleanly.
Present day snowy/vertical lines in down n side images are there with engine off, trimmed up, n drifting

cheetah chrome is offline  
Old 01-13-2019, 03:23 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 186
Default


Didnít get a chance to pull the boat today...wife decided on taking a nap instead of driving the trailer to the ramp. Anywho, I did a quick hang over the transom visual inspection of my transducer and it still looks new. Iíve read about totalscan transducers separating at the seam but saw no evidence of that on mine. The installation angle is still the same as when I had good performance. Underside of ducer looks new confirming no impacts. Iíve also read about the threaded inserts on totalscan being pulled out as a possible water entry point. I wonít be able to check that until I pull the boat.

Please post up if you determine the cause of your problems.
cheetah chrome is offline  
Old 01-13-2019, 05:05 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 559
Default

Make sure it’s not running on chirp when you have it on side scan.
Icatcher22 is offline  
Old 01-15-2019, 06:34 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Jamestown, VA
Posts: 618
Default

Originally Posted by Icatcher22 View Post
Make sure itís not running on chirp when you have it on side scan.
Not doing anything differently before. Sounds exactly like above comments are saying. Downscan still working fine for me though, sidescan nothing but fuzz
TurdFerguson is offline  
Old 01-15-2019, 08:00 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 262
Default

Make sure your range is set to auto and you are not zoomed in or out too far, also disable chirp.
UncleLuke is offline  
Old 02-04-2019, 05:07 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 186
Default

I finally got around to inspecting my ‘ducer. I pulled it off the top frame and looked for any water entry points: pulled inserts, seam separation, etc but no dice...it still looks new. I’ve sent an email into Simrad customer service on how to proceed. At this point the only thing I think I can do is swap in a known good unit or transducer to see what the problem follows (neither of which I have). I’m still in the warranty window so I’ll let you know what they come back with.

Regarding being zoomed in, I’m not. I’m also running the latest SW that gives you a warning if you trying to use sidescan w chirp enabled.
cheetah chrome is offline  
Old 02-05-2019, 07:51 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 262
Default

Try doing a full hardware reset as a last resort. Back up your way points first
UncleLuke is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread