Notices
The Boating Forum

Dissapointed Contender 39FA owner

Old 12-11-2018, 03:32 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 428
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Dissapointed Contender 39FA owner

I purchased a 2018 Contender 39FA with 300 hours on it.Can’t express how disappointed I am in the workmanship and more importantly, the lack of service Contender offers to satisfy a customer who spends almost 500K on their flagship boat.Problems starting with a listing problem which they did take care of. My generator, installed by Contender and certified by Westerbeke had 38 hours on it and when I started it for the first time it stalled out. Mechanic said water intrusion which meant instant void of warranty. Neither Contender nor Westerbeke would support me or meet me in the middle.I had agreed to split the cost of the work. They kept telling me to be patient. Eventually they stopped communicating with me altogether. I had a surveyor come out and his report stated “installed to minimum standards”. I showed that to them to no avail. When I exhausted all resources, I reached out to someone at Viking Yachts who has an on sight dealer, Valhalla yacht sales. They expressed a willingness to help but it appears did not get the support of Contender. Contender did say they would sell me a new generator at their OEM price. They never got back to me with the cost. Contender said they could do all the work at their normal hourly labor rate.In one season, I have replaced 4 bilge pumps, running lights, my microwave bracket has ripped out, and there is a steering fluid leak in the tower that omits black grease on every trip. The 3 drawer cabinet in the berth fell completely out and I have cracks in my t-top welds. I have replaced or tightened dozens of screws.Second owners beware, their hull is not transferrable.To be fair, the boat is a great fishing machine, fast and versatile, but the lack of willingness for a company to not support and owner, and the boats poor workmanship makes the boat a bad choice.
Old 12-11-2018, 03:39 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 6,575
Received 292 Likes on 176 Posts
Default

Non transferable warranty's should be illegal... especially in a 2018 model
Likes:
BCPD199, cudjoe21075, hnt, JamieN, OutFishing, thecubanfishy and 1 others liked this post. (Show less...)
Old 12-11-2018, 03:41 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Schmaltz~Herring's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cruising Lake Titikacka On My 18' Bayliner Element With 60 HP Optimax's
Posts: 17,600
Received 1,031 Likes on 514 Posts
Default

Virtually every new boat will have some issues, I had issues [minor] with my new boats, BUT those manufacturers have a great support valuation in making sure their customers are 100% satisfied. Sorry to hear of your issues but they are not insurmountable, all mechanical things can get fixed.
Likes:
Old 12-11-2018, 03:50 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: sarasota
Posts: 3,651
Received 420 Likes on 197 Posts
Default

Did I read this correct, you started the generator for the first time after you purchased the boat?

That seems to imply you did not get a survey on a 500k boat? Hope I’m wrong on this...
Old 12-11-2018, 03:52 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: sarasota
Posts: 3,651
Received 420 Likes on 197 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by HeadHunt View Post
Non transferable warranty's should be illegal... especially in a 2018 model
agree... that would be a deal breaker for me...

op though hasn’t found anything wrong with the hull.. yet

Old 12-11-2018, 03:52 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
fireisland1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5,162
Received 2,574 Likes on 1,140 Posts
Default

Are you saying, you are the second owner and did not know the warranty was not transferable?
Old 12-11-2018, 04:04 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: MA
Posts: 5,581
Received 356 Likes on 193 Posts
Default

If you don't like non transferable warranty don't buy that product, I would assume the OP knew this going in buying a used boat with 300 hours, too bad Contender will not stand behind it but based on their warranty why would they?
Old 12-11-2018, 04:16 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
fireisland1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5,162
Received 2,574 Likes on 1,140 Posts
Default

Did the op pay $500k or is it a $500k boat when new? Maybe op got a deal on a hard run boat.
Old 12-11-2018, 04:18 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tequesta, Fl.
Posts: 1,108
Likes: 0
Received 36 Likes on 24 Posts
Default

Which 39FA did you buy?
Old 12-11-2018, 04:46 PM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 14,671
Received 2,111 Likes on 1,544 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dean Nelson View Post
I purchased a 2018 Contender 39FA with 300 hours on it.Can’t express how disappointed I am in the workmanship and more importantly, the lack of service Contender offers to satisfy a customer who spends almost 500K on their flagship boat.Problems starting with a listing problem which they did take care of. My generator, installed by Contender and certified by Westerbeke had 38 hours on it and when I started it for the first time it stalled out. Mechanic said water intrusion which meant instant void of warranty. Neither Contender nor Westerbeke would support me or meet me in the middle.I had agreed to split the cost of the work. They kept telling me to be patient. Eventually they stopped communicating with me altogether. I had a surveyor come out and his report stated “installed to minimum standards”. I showed that to them to no avail. When I exhausted all resources, I reached out to someone at Viking Yachts who has an on sight dealer, Valhalla yacht sales. They expressed a willingness to help but it appears did not get the support of Contender. Contender did say they would sell me a new generator at their OEM price. They never got back to me with the cost. Contender said they could do all the work at their normal hourly labor rate.In one season, I have replaced 4 bilge pumps, running lights, my microwave bracket has ripped out, and there is a steering fluid leak in the tower that omits black grease on every trip. The 3 drawer cabinet in the berth fell completely out and I have cracks in my t-top welds. I have replaced or tightened dozens of screws.Second owners beware, their hull is not transferrable.To be fair, the boat is a great fishing machine, fast and versatile, but the lack of willingness for a company to not support and owner, and the boats poor workmanship makes the boat a bad choice.
you didn't spend 500k on a new boat, it was second hand, so that $$ did not go to contender but a private party

i too have a boat in that price range and have been struggling to get items covered and my warranty was transferable and i was still under warranty

i finally had to email the ceo of the company and that started putting things in motion

why did the seller want to get rid of a 2018 boat so quick?

did you get a full survey and mechanical inspection? if so, wouldn't the generator issue have been caught?

did you actually verify first hand that water got into the generator? if so how?

you may want to cut your losses, fix things, and sell the boat.

ps. how was the listing issue resolved? you never updated your thread...

Last edited by mystery; 12-13-2018 at 06:16 AM.
Likes:
Old 12-11-2018, 04:51 PM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dartmouth Ma
Posts: 340
Received 58 Likes on 24 Posts
Default

Man what a drag! I just bought a 2018 35st used less than 100hrs. I new what I was getting into because it’s not my first Conrender. Like you said the fishability and perforce is very impressive but there are a few things that make you want to say WTF!
I hope it works out for you and it is kinda crazy that the original owner could have paid north of 700k for that boat and sold it to you the next day now with no factory warranty.
It sounds like you have talked to anyone that would listen, but have you talked to the factory rep for your region, the rep in my area has been a huge help with customer support, I’ve never gotten too far with the local dealer on my last Contender but have been able to get help through rep.

Best of luck
Likes:
Old 12-11-2018, 04:56 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,338
Likes: 0
Received 1,541 Likes on 776 Posts
Default

Why do I feel like we are only getting half the story?
Old 12-11-2018, 04:58 PM
  #13  
Super Moderator
 
THT MOD 14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: In The Heart Of Dixie
Posts: 2,164
Received 1,140 Likes on 559 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dean Nelson View Post
I appreciate everyone's responses.
Contender's team has been remarkably responsive. From the owner to the service team, to my local dealer, they have been fantastic.
This is the type of service I had hoped for coming out of a Yellowfin and into a Contender.
​​​​​​​What caused this to go south???
Old 12-11-2018, 04:59 PM
  #14  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 572
Received 45 Likes on 28 Posts
Default

And just June you stated the service was remarkable. Looks like a lot has changed in 6 months....hmmm

2018 Contender 39fa listing
Old 12-11-2018, 04:59 PM
  #15  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Michigan-Ohio Line, Lake Erie
Posts: 938
Received 170 Likes on 97 Posts
Default

This is second thread owner started.......popcorn please.;?

2018 Contender 39fa listing
Old 12-11-2018, 05:02 PM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Michigan-Ohio Line, Lake Erie
Posts: 938
Received 170 Likes on 97 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by TUNAHUNTER197 View Post
And just June you stated the service was remarkable. Looks like a lot has changed in 6 months....hmmm

2018 Contender 39fa listing


Hope boat isn't used for WEDDING RECEPTIONS!
Likes:
Old 12-11-2018, 05:05 PM
  #17  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Hanahan, SC
Posts: 8,190
Received 1,506 Likes on 957 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by MacCTD View Post
If you don't like non transferable warranty don't buy that product, I would assume the OP knew this going in buying a used boat with 300 hours, too bad Contender will not stand behind it but based on their warranty why would they?
well, a company that puts out a good product would...normally.
Likes:
Old 12-11-2018, 05:09 PM
  #18  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
fireisland1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5,162
Received 2,574 Likes on 1,140 Posts
Default

Is the boat still listing?
Old 12-11-2018, 05:13 PM
  #19  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Miami,FL
Posts: 1,307
Received 170 Likes on 116 Posts
Default

My friend just bought a brand new 39 Sea Vee. He paid $500k/equipped. I dont know much about high end boat prices but I would say $500k for a used Contender is a rip off. I have also posted before about a 2016 Contender having plastic fittings and not double clamped hoses. Sometimes when a company knows that they have built a reputation, quality starts to suffer.
Old 12-11-2018, 05:15 PM
  #20  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 428
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Yes we ran the generator when we sea trialed. It did not run after I got the boat to NJ. No, honestly I did not look into whether the warranty was transferable. Shame on me.
When I first posted about the listing issue, I received a call from Contender stating they would work on this and asked me to soften the thread. I did so. Not looking to hurt anyone. I also neglected to mention that was the second generator to fail. In addition, the blower exhaust for the genny runs out the transom. When you stop it back fills with water and blows the motor.
This thread was posted not necessarily because of issues ,but because of the indifference of a reputable brand to be so dismissive.
Likes:

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.