The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   >
Search


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-13-2017, 06:15 PM   #1
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Nelson, New Zealand
Posts: 887
Default Solid Link Bar Battery Switch to CB?

Can I safely use a Solid Link Bar between my Battery Switch and a Circuit Breaker?

Switch
Breaker
Link Bar
(I plan to use a 65mm link bar, but the page for it has no picture)

The stud heights line up correctly on my panel. I would insulate the exposed portion of the link bar with liquid electrical tape and/or heat shrink. The current through the bar will be 65A (capstan).

The whole assembly will be protected by a plastic panel.
MikeAqua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2017, 06:26 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Port Fierce, FL
Posts: 685
Default

Yes.
Aquasportfisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2017, 06:32 PM   #3
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Nelson, New Zealand
Posts: 887
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aquasportfisher View Post
Yes.
Thanks for your reply.
Should I bother insulating the exposed portion
(and if yes, what with).
MikeAqua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2017, 08:36 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,766
Default

Red heatshrink. Better not to leave it exposed.
Aliboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2017, 01:58 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,330
Default

Hello, yes you can use solid bar, I wouldnt bother insulating it if it is tinned plated copper, you can buy insulated studs for these or even covered insulated boxes, hope this helps.
buxa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2017, 03:43 PM   #6
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Nelson, New Zealand
Posts: 887
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by buxa View Post
Hello, yes you can use solid bar, I wouldnt bother insulating it if it is tinned plated copper, you can buy insulated studs for these or even covered insulated boxes, hope this helps.
Thanks. I have some covered studs on the (-) side.
MikeAqua is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:37 AM.


©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.9.3.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.