Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > The Boating Forum
Reload this Page >

Urgent, Power trim clicking on Yamaha, not moving?

Notices

Urgent, Power trim clicking on Yamaha, not moving?

Old 06-30-2017, 09:52 AM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location:
Posts: 64
Default Urgent, Power trim clicking on Yamaha, not moving?

Was loading up the boat for a 4th trip and realized the power trim is not working at the throttle or on the motor, 2009 50hp yam outboard 2s. I kept playing with the buttons and just get a click under the cowl. Battery fully charged, motor started just fine. Eventually got the trim to go up but not down. When it did go up, sound perfectly fine. My impression is, a connection under the cowl is corroded or not making good contact. Any suggestions? I did find a wire connection, unplugged and replugged, didn't make a difference.

Serves me right for waiting last min but hoping one of you can help solve the mystery. Thank u
tealboy1 is offline  
Old 06-30-2017, 10:13 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Southeast Tx. Goodrich
Posts: 313
Default

Could be a bad trim relay.
Fishman39 is offline  
Old 06-30-2017, 10:33 AM
  #3  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location:
Posts: 64
Default

Originally Posted by Fishman39 View Post
Could be a bad trim relay.
Good point, that could be. Leaving for vac today, may try to find svc center out of town but maybe just s relay and something I can fix.

Any other ideas from folks?
tealboy1 is offline  
Old 06-30-2017, 10:34 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Somewhere NC
Posts: 7,987
Default

Trim relay

Will it move in either direction? There is a relay for up and another for down
cfarmd is offline  
Old 06-30-2017, 10:35 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Somewhere NC
Posts: 7,987
Default

Sry you said it goes up. Switch the relay and if it will go down and not up there's your problem. Super easy fix
cfarmd is offline  
Old 06-30-2017, 10:39 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3,033
Default

Originally Posted by tealboy1 View Post
Was loading up the boat for a 4th trip and realized the power trim is not working at the throttle or on the motor, 2009 50hp yam outboard 2s. I kept playing with the buttons and just get a click under the cowl. Battery fully charged, motor started just fine. Eventually got the trim to go up but not down. When it did go up, sound perfectly fine. My impression is, a connection under the cowl is corroded or not making good contact. Any suggestions? I did find a wire connection, unplugged and replugged, didn't make a difference.

Serves me right for waiting last min but hoping one of you can help solve the mystery. Thank u
The other posters hit the nail on the head. Just to prove that is the problem, switch relays... you should be only able to go down, not up.

Do some looking if you cant get to the marine store, most of the relays are "marine" automobile relays. Last year I used relays from Autozone just to make a tournament. Funny thing was, the OEM replacements were in the mailbox when I got home from the tourney.
Ifishalot is offline  
Old 06-30-2017, 10:47 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4,346
Default

Originally Posted by tealboy1 View Post
trim is not working at the throttle or on the motor, 2009 50hp yam outboard 2s. I kept playing with the buttons and just get a click under the cowl. Battery fully charged, motor started just fine. Eventually got the trim to go up but not down. When it did go up, sound perfectly fine. u
that neither the throttle nor the motor switch work, means it neither switch

the "relay" is as stated two separate relays within the same case -

so its very unlikely both would fail, or become intermittent, on the same day

even if one is bad, the other should be fine - not work "eventually"

do you always get a click, whether you are trying to go up or down?
if so - that's the sound of both relays working - but the motor not

you could have worn brushes in the motor

or - unlikely but not impossible - a bad electrical connection at the relay.
might as well check - and the main battery connections at the motor, too
Fwpratt is offline  
Old 06-30-2017, 10:50 AM
  #8  
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 85
Default

Could be the motor sticking if it's not the relays. Try tapping on the motor to see if that helps anything.
damthemainstream is offline  
Old 06-30-2017, 11:03 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 2,603
Default

I don't have Yami's but if they have 2 relays (One for Up one for Down) and you can find them, on my OMC's I can just swap them put the engine down then swap them and move the engine up. This is a good fix to get you going.

One other problem I have have seen is the plugs can get a bit corroded and which is and easy fix. If you find it and swapping works it's simple just get on your phone and order 2 (one for a backup).
captpepin is offline  
Old 06-30-2017, 06:19 PM
  #10  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location:
Posts: 64
Default

Lots of helpful posts, thank u. After running the motor and adding a charge, I was able to get the up and down to work. Not sure it is related to the charge bc the motor turned over and started just fine, indicating the battery was strong. Mostly, I kept pushing the up and down button until it started moving the trim. Still not sure what is wrong but for now, it is working. The symptoms started several years ago but I ignored, not consistent enough to matter but after sitting for a year, the problem was concerning since Italy, it would not move. Sloundsnlke anrelay problem.
tealboy1 is offline  
Old 06-30-2017, 07:08 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Southeast Tx. Goodrich
Posts: 313
Default

Glad you're motor is working. Now go catch some fish!
Fishman39 is offline  
Old 06-30-2017, 09:19 PM
  #12  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Beaufort, NC
Posts: 18
Default

Yamaha uses a single trim relay that handles both up and down if its not going either direction its probably the motor is bad, both up and down relays dont go bad at the same time.
willis3368 is offline  
Old 07-01-2017, 05:03 AM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,214
Default

Originally Posted by tealboy1 View Post
Lots of helpful posts, thank u. After running the motor and adding a charge, I was able to get the up and down to work. Not sure it is related to the charge bc the motor turned over and started just fine, indicating the battery was strong. Mostly, I kept pushing the up and down button until it started moving the trim. Still not sure what is wrong but for now, it is working. The symptoms started several years ago but I ignored, not consistent enough to matter but after sitting for a year, the problem was concerning since Italy, it would not move. Sloundsnlke anrelay problem.
Check fluid level in tilt/trim unit. Since it works fine with fully charged battery and trim/tilt solenoid "clicks" when switch is activated I would start by inspecting wires and terminal connections from solenoid to trim motor.
LeakinLena is offline  
Old 07-10-2017, 09:34 AM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Waste-N-Away in Mobile, AL & Pensacola, FL
Posts: 4,346
Default

what kind of boat is it. my bay boat has a jackplate and they installed a microswitch? under the cowling to prevent the motor from being tilted up to far when the jackplate is all the way down. mine started acting up this spring after a motor service. it got hit when i put the cowling back on. it has a nut on it where i can adjust the position to allow it to come all the way up
bhales is offline  
Old 07-10-2017, 09:38 AM
  #15  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 692
Default

Check all of the electrical connections. My f150 was doing the same thing and I had just a little corrosion under the cowling at the lugs. Cleaned the connections, no problem since.
tb714usr is offline  
Old 01-12-2019, 04:13 AM
  #16  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Cambodia
Posts: 3
Default

I hope somebody is still reading this thread as it seems to be quite dated. I had a problem with the trim relay. It wouldn't lower the engine. Upon checking according the to the tips on THT I found that the anodes inside the relay were shot. I replaced it with another used one that was tested as functioning. I installed it and lo and behold it had the same problem. It would raise the engine but not lower it. I changed the one wire from the raising terminal to the lowering and it lowered the engine. After setting it up normally I tested the terminal for power by checking for power when pressing the down switch (using a voltmeter on terminal and ground). It showed regular 12v. So now what could be wrong? Any suggestions.
panacea is offline  
Old 01-12-2019, 05:42 AM
  #17  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,227
Default

Check the trim sender to see if it is stuck. Just move it up and down to free it up. Should be on the motor mounting frame, port side and look like this.


FishLife is offline  
Old 01-12-2019, 06:11 AM
  #18  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4,346
Default

I'm not entirely following your description, particularly:

Originally Posted by panacea View Post
I changed the one wire from the raising terminal to the lowering and it lowered the engine. .
So lets start at the top.
The Yamaha relay is actually two completely separate relays side-by-side,
one for the blue up wire and one for the green down wire.
When not activated, both the blue and the green are connected to ground.
When you activate up, the blue comes off ground and connects to hot - green stays on ground.
When you activate down, the green comes off ground and connects to hot - blue stays on ground.

so there are three possible failure modes for each relay:
- not making contact with ground when in the un-activated position
- not making contact with 'hot" when activated
- not activating (coil not switching contacts)




Originally Posted by FishLife View Post
Check the trim sender to see if it is stuck.
The trim sender only indicates the position of the motor; it has no role whatsoever in the the trim/tilt operation.
Fwpratt is offline  
Old 01-12-2019, 06:27 AM
  #19  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,227
Default

Originally Posted by Fwpratt View Post
The trim sender only indicates the position of the motor; it has no role whatsoever in the the trim/tilt operation.

I had a Yamaha 90 2-stroke in the early 90's. The motor would trim up but not back down. That position arm was stuck down and would not follow the motor up. Once I moved it up and down a couple of times, it freed up and everything worked just fine. Almost identical to the one in the photo I posted.
FishLife is offline  
Old 01-12-2019, 07:13 AM
  #20  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 228
Default

He’s not going to any of this, he just keeps letting it go till it fixes itself then when it won’t he’ll tell you how Yamaha sucks read his own post.
brownman is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: