Notices
The Boating Forum

Yamaha 150 Oiling Problems

Old 05-10-2006, 10:47 AM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Valrico, FL
Posts: 37
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Yamaha 150 Oiling Problems

Having problems getting the remote tank to fill the engine mounted tank. The manual override switch works, so the pump on the remote tank is fine. Replaced the float switch on the engine mounted tank, didn't help. The float is working, as the low oil alarms are functioning as oil is drained out.
Checked continuity of the wires between the plug after the computer and the remote tank, good on all four wires.

Question is, checking between the plug before the computer to after the computer, one wire (before computer) will feed three of the wires after the computer. One wire (blue/green stripe) before computer does not feed any of the four wires after the computer.

My feelings are a bad computer, any thoughts before I take it in and have it looked at. Motor is a '96 150 Precision Blend.

I've read through the archives and understand how the system works. It's not the trim indicator, as this has not worked for awhile.
Old 05-10-2006, 12:39 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chesapeake, VA, USA
Posts: 1,036
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Yamaha 150 Oiling Problems

Ask Sim (Andy) on the vendor forum Shipyard Island Marine Engines. I expect he's run into this before and can get the right part to you, too.

Bill

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.