Notices

Prop Size for Mckee Craft

Old 03-22-2017, 05:38 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 280
Default Prop Size for Mckee Craft

I have a project (22' Hammerhead) that I am getting ready to power with a 02 Yamaha OX66 225 and have seen another boat a few years ago that was posted on THT with the same hull and motor but on a jack plate. I will post a picture that I found on THT and hopefully someone or the owner could let me know what prop was being used on that setup. My project did not have a motor mounted when I purchased therefore I don't even have a starting point, without your help. I have the exact same cut-out on my transom as shown in the photos so I am ok if I need to purchase a jack plate as well. I appreciate your help.
Attached Images   
lb33 is offline  
Old 03-22-2017, 06:09 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 391
Default

We had this exact set up, but had a bracket.

We ended up putting a 15-3/4" x 15 mirage plus on it and it ran great. Got out of the hole, and had a lower cruise RPM getting a solid 28 MPH. Top end was low 40's.

We had 150 gallons of fuel on it plus 40 gallon live well.
1 McKee is offline  
Old 03-22-2017, 06:32 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 280
Default

1 Mckee, thanks for the reply. Did you have any issues with the bracket? Those numbers are great for this boat design/build. My tank is 130 gallons and has same 40 gallon live well. I am in the process of pulling/replacing the tank and then I can rework the deck at the tank for some weight improvements. I have pulled this deck before to look around and realized how heavy it was with the plywood core (+/- 80lbs). I'm not anti plywood but if I can remove weight by removing this plywood and adding Divinycell or such, it will help if I wanted to install a hard top.
lb33 is offline  
Old 03-28-2017, 09:33 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 391
Default

No issues at all.

We bought it from the previous owner with it on it.
1 McKee is offline  
Old 03-28-2017, 10:43 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 280
Default

10-4....I am trying to find the transom spec's for maximum horsepower. I have found a previous post mentioning max =300hp...Would anyone know if this is true? Also, there are a few other pictures on the internet showing twins with 140hp and hard top so my thoughts are ....#1=weight of twins and ....#2=280hp. I am, by no means, a boat builder but would like to design/add a few things at some point down the road.
lb33 is offline  
Old 04-07-2017, 06:04 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 391
Default

Max HP is 300. We tossed the idea around of twin 150s.

Do a search on here, there's a guy that rebuilt one and put twin Merc 150 on it. It sat a little lower but over all not bad.
1 McKee is offline  
Old 04-12-2017, 02:34 PM
  #7  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 6
Default Mckee craft hammerhead

Originally Posted by lb33 View Post
10-4....I am trying to find the transom spec's for maximum horsepower. I have found a previous post mentioning max =300hp...Would anyone know if this is true? Also, there are a few other pictures on the internet showing twins with 140hp and hard top so my thoughts are ....#1=weight of twins and ....#2=280hp. I am, by no means, a boat builder but would like to design/add a few things at some point down the road.
I have a 2017 Suzuki 300hp on mine and is great. I get 4mpg
nrellerbee is offline  
Old 04-12-2017, 02:44 PM
  #8  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 6
Default

Originally Posted by 1 McKee View Post
We had this exact set up, but had a bracket.

We ended up putting a 15-3/4" x 15 mirage plus on it and it ran great. Got out of the hole, and had a lower cruise RPM getting a solid 28 MPH. Top end was low 40's.

We had 150 gallons of fuel on it plus 40 gallon live well.

I have a 3x16x17 on my 300 Suzuki. Its on a Jack plate and I am Getting about the same performance out of it as the above comment
nrellerbee is offline  
Old 06-11-2017, 01:24 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 280
Default

nrellerbee, that sounds like a great setup. Do you have a picture of the transom with jack plate. I am looking to purchase one but doing research at the moment. thx
lb33 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread