Notices
The Boating Forum

Sea Hunt Wiring Help?

Old 01-20-2017, 05:54 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Hollywood Fl
Posts: 293
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Sea Hunt Wiring Help?

Hey guys, so i got my trim tabs in and need help with the wiring. Also will me help with future wiring just in case I want to install any other accessories on the boat. Im fairly handy when it comes to normal things but when it comes to electrical issues, i get clueless.

For the trim tabs, the wiring is pretty simple. Red wire goes to positive while while black to negative. Im not using any on/off switches in this case so I wont be using the orange wire. I connected the power wires to a 12v battery without a fuse just to test if everything works but Im getting no response or lights from the led switch, why is that? Where would I connect both wires to the boat? I attached some pictures of the wiring system.

Second wiring question, If I decided to add an accessory such as a spreader light or another livewell, Im positive the red wire would go to the accessory switch (labeled picture) but where would the negative wire go?

I appreciate the help guys, I cant afford to pay a marine tech $100hr to connect a couple wires.
Attached Images    
Old 01-20-2017, 06:05 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Hollywood Fl
Posts: 293
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

I just read the instructions, seems like for the led switch, the orange wire needs to be connected in order for the unit to function. So now I have to figure out which wire I would connect that to. Quote from instruction manual "Indicator Switches (123SC/123DR)
• Connect to Key switch or ON/OFF
power source. Do not install the orange
and red wire on the same mechanical
switch.
• Connect to an engine analog tach signal
(Retractor feature activated when tach
or 12/24 Volt signal is removed).
• Orange wire must be installed for
system to operate.
• For 12 Volt & 24 Volt systems."
Old 01-20-2017, 07:30 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Hinesville GA
Posts: 5,237
Received 913 Likes on 463 Posts
Default

Connect the orange wire to the Yellow wire on the Yamaha key switch for the auto retract feature.
For the added accessories, the ground would go to the ground buss shown between the binnacle and the fuse box in your picture.
Old 01-20-2017, 07:49 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Hollywood Fl
Posts: 293
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Gnrphil View Post
Connect the orange wire to the Yellow wire on the Yamaha key switch for the auto retract feature.
For the added accessories, the ground would go to the ground buss shown between the binnacle and the fuse box in your picture.
Thanks Gnrphil, Your always here when I need the help. Thats what I was thinking, just wanted to ask before I gave it a test. And where would I add a fuse if needed for the added accessory? I see the fuse box but the 4 slots are already taken. Does the circuit breakers located on each of the switches act as fuses? I labeled another picture for clarificaition.

Sorry for all the questions. You are helping me out a bunch and hopefully dimwits like me in the future will take something out of this like I am.
Attached Images  
Old 01-20-2017, 07:50 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Shamong, NJ
Posts: 373
Received 25 Likes on 18 Posts
Default

The orange wire needs to go to a switched 12v source. If you have traditional individual gauges, the easiest spot is the "I" terminal on the back of a gauge. It would usually be a purple wire. Just add it onto the terminal. If you have engine integrated gauges, you will have to determine which wire is switched from the key and add it to that. If you have other dash or gauge lights that are on all the time with the key you could also use the + terminal of any of these.

For other wiring the - wires will run to the - buss bar shown in your picture next to the control box. The one with all the other black wires. Please be sure all circuits have the right fuse or breaker if your accessory switches are not so equipped.
Old 01-20-2017, 07:59 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Louisiana and Morehead City N.C.
Posts: 12,332
Received 1,219 Likes on 874 Posts
Default

I concur with this statement. Do it that way and you will have trim tabs working correctly.

If you do run a red wire to an accessory switch in the future remember the switch has a built in breaker already. So what you are installing might need a bigger or smaller one.


Originally Posted by Gnrphil View Post
Connect the orange wire to the Yellow wire on the Yamaha key switch for the auto retract feature.
For the added accessories, the ground would go to the ground buss shown between the binnacle and the fuse box in your picture.
Old 01-20-2017, 08:03 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Hinesville GA
Posts: 5,237
Received 913 Likes on 463 Posts
Default

Yes the breakers do exactly that, keep in mind though whatever you attach to the switch must not go over the amp rating of the breaker.
I would replace that fuse box with a bigger one to allow you more room for adding stuff.
Deal with the tabs first then come back and deal with other add on's as you go.
Old 01-20-2017, 08:03 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Louisiana and Morehead City N.C.
Posts: 12,332
Received 1,219 Likes on 874 Posts
Default

You can always run another red wire to the main feed on that fuse panel. Other option is adding another fuse block off of your existing block. You can always use an accessory switch if you want to.
Originally Posted by remel1993 View Post
Thanks Gnrphil, Your always here when I need the help. Thats what I was thinking, just wanted to ask before I gave it a test. And where would I add a fuse if needed for the added accessory? I see the fuse box but the 4 slots are already taken. Does the circuit breakers located on each of the switches act as fuses? I labeled another picture for clarificaition.

Sorry for all the questions. You are helping me out a bunch and hopefully dimwits like me in the future will take something out of this like I am.
Old 01-20-2017, 10:24 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 2,433
Received 720 Likes on 379 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by remel1993 View Post
I just read the instructions, seems like for the led switch, the orange wire needs to be connected in order for the unit to function. So now I have to figure out which wire I would connect that to. Quote from instruction manual "Indicator Switches (123SC/123DR)
• Connect to Key switch or ON/OFF
power source. Do not install the orange
and red wire on the same mechanical
switch.
From your first post you say you don't want to use the orange wire, this wire provides the auto retract. If you don't want to use the autoretract function just land the red and orange together. If you do want autoretract you will need to find a switched 12v location on the ignition "run" side. This will be specific to the make and year of your engine.
Old 01-21-2017, 04:44 AM
  #10  
cjd
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Severna Park Md
Posts: 4,282
Received 259 Likes on 150 Posts
Default

curious why you don"t want to use the auto retract.
Old 01-22-2017, 03:22 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Hollywood Fl
Posts: 293
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

I finished installing the trim tabs. I did have to connect the orange wire for it to function and Im glad the way it turned out because the auto retract works as well. I tapped into one of the gauges for the on/off ignition power. Thanks for all the help guys. HullTruth FTW!
Old 06-24-2020, 12:20 PM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 24
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default

Any chance you could post a photo of how you connected into that ignition power for your auto retract? I'm trying to do the same.
Thanks,

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.