Notices

Corrosion on engine bolts

Old 11-27-2016, 01:52 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Merritt Island
Posts: 181
Default Corrosion on engine bolts

Name:  IMG_3583.jpg
Views: 3206
Size:  236.9 KBDetailing my boat this weekend and noticed this, rusting bolts on the engines (Yamaha 150's). Seems to be the only place just these two bolts, but same on both engines. Bought new in Nov 2015, gets washed after every use..

Gonna call the dealer on Monday but would like to here from any Yamaha dealer on what I should expect.Name:  IMG_3584.jpg
Views: 2987
Size:  191.5 KB

(Not interested in hearing motors rust, nor am I looking to stir the pot on Yamaha corrosion issues.. I would just appreciate an honest answe from a Yamaha dealer. Seems too odd that two exact bolts on two engines are equally corroded after less than 1 year in service)
Iuse2Fish is offline  
Old 11-27-2016, 02:22 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Algonac michigan
Posts: 5,526
Default

Looks like a stainless nut on a non stainless stud with a grounding wire attached.Add water,fresh or salt and the least noble metal will erode.
muskamoot is offline  
Old 11-28-2016, 06:43 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Merritt Island
Posts: 181
Default

Yep.. so seems a stainless bolt would be the best way to correct this?

Diagram on online doesn'tName:  bracket2.JPG
Views: 2740
Size:  41.8 KB show the the grounding wire??


Thanks
Fred
Iuse2Fish is offline  
Old 11-28-2016, 06:58 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Algonac michigan
Posts: 5,526
Default

I would think that a stainless stud would not corrode.I'd also expect that it would be a good idea to change it sooner rather than later.Keep in mind that all stainless to stainless connections need the proper anti seize applied.
muskamoot is offline  
Old 11-28-2016, 07:07 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5,054
Default

Originally Posted by Iuse2Fish View Post
Yep.. so seems a stainless bolt would be the best way to correct this?

Diagram on online doesn't show the the grounding wire??
Well, for the same size, a non-stainless bolt can be significantly stronger than stainless.

That may be the reason for Yamaha's choice.

And there are many stainless alloys - so unless the bolt and nut were exactly the same, there could still be interactive corrosion.

The wire is shown on another page:



Have I read somewhere that the Yamaha warranty specifically excludes corrosion?
Fwpratt is online now  
Old 11-28-2016, 08:42 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Merritt Island
Posts: 181
Default

I looked at the FAQ on their site, you're right on the warranty it spells out not covering corrosion. I had same concern in the back of my mind about the bolt strength if I went to stainless.. Just seems like a crap design and total cop-out. I can't imagine though that I'm the only one seeing this.

Not comfortable just swapping to stainless without knowing that I'm not putting in a bolt that's gonna sheer under load. What about replacing (OEM bolt) and using a marine non-metallic anti-seize on the bolt + nylon washer after the stainless?
Iuse2Fish is offline  
Old 11-28-2016, 08:44 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Hanahan, SC
Posts: 7,870
Default

I have same rusting bolts on my 2007 F150. Look up under the front of the motor near the cables where they feed into engine and you'll probably notice some rusting washers, too. I thought it was weird (still do), but every F150 I look at has same corrosion there.
schoolsout1 is offline  
Old 11-28-2016, 08:50 AM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Tarpon Springs, FL
Posts: 7,360
Default

Yamaha did not mount the engine and I serious doubt if they even supplied the hardware. This issue falls back on the dealer.
mikefloyd is offline  
Old 11-28-2016, 08:57 AM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Southeast Alaska
Posts: 5,848
Default

Originally Posted by mikefloyd View Post
Yamaha did not mount the engine and I serious doubt if they even supplied the hardware. This issue falls back on the dealer.
Wrong bolts
commuter boats is offline  
Old 11-28-2016, 09:01 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5,054
Default

Originally Posted by Iuse2Fish View Post
What about replacing (OEM bolt)
Not 100% certain, but I don't think you can actually get the lower bolts out,

without simultaneously loosening the uppers.

And you can't touch the uppers without removing the powerhead.

That may be more than you want to get involved with.



Maybe just leave it, and be glad you don't have a Mercury:

Fwpratt is online now  
Old 11-28-2016, 09:07 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5,054
Default

Originally Posted by mikefloyd View Post
Yamaha did not mount the engine and I serious doubt if they even supplied the hardware.
Aren't these motor mount bolts, not bolts holding the bracket to the transom?


Although I thought I saw, in another thread, that Yamaha actually supplies those as well.

but I haven't read the last hundred or so posts on that thread...
Fwpratt is online now  
Old 11-28-2016, 09:10 AM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 7,675
Default

Those boats are not the bolts that hold the motor to the transom.

Those bolts are rusting because they are not stainless steel.

They are not stainless steel because stainless steel is not strong enough for this application.

They are Grade 8 bolts.
Tom W Clark is offline  
Old 11-28-2016, 09:19 AM
  #13  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Merritt Island
Posts: 181
Default

Originally Posted by Fwpratt View Post
Not 100% certain, but I don't think you can actually get the lower bolts out,

without simultaneously loosening the uppers.

And you can't touch the uppers without removing the powerhead.

That may be more than you want to get involved with.



Maybe just leave it, and be glad you don't have a Mercury:

I'm gonna pull the cover plate off and see. My old yamaha didn't have this problem.. but I don't recall it having the ground strap either..

(Folks who thought the bolts in question were for mounting the engine bracket to the transom, they're not.. These are the the bolts for the dampener on actual engine itself at the bottom of the mounting bracket.)
Iuse2Fish is offline  
Old 11-28-2016, 08:20 PM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 13,813
Default

Originally Posted by Tom W Clark View Post
Those boats are not the bolts that hold the motor to the transom.

Those bolts are rusting because they are not stainless steel.

They are not stainless steel because stainless steel is not strong enough for this application.

They are Grade 8 bolts.
^ THIS!
If you do not have them replaced , you could wire-brush, apply some rust neutralizer, rinse, dry, then apply good "waterproof" grease. That won't affect the rest of the fastener, though. Any rust-able fastener or metal part on an outboard should have good grease maintained on it as protectant, IMO. The rust on the nut and bolt didn't just happen over night, it was ignored.
TTaxi is offline  
Old 11-28-2016, 09:22 PM
  #15  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Boynton Beach, FL
Posts: 123
Default

Same with my 2016 150. Washed and waxed regularly.
copperz is offline  
Old 11-29-2016, 06:28 AM
  #16  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Merritt Island
Posts: 181
Default

Originally Posted by copperz View Post
Same with my 2016 150. Washed and waxed regularly.
I have to wonder if they just used some Marine Grade Non-Metallic Anti-Seize during the assembly this would not be so bad. I called the dealer yesterday, he asked for pictures and said he would see what they can do.. They've been good so far, but given that Yamaha does not cover corrosion I'm skeptical on what they will do. Will let you know..
Iuse2Fish is offline  
Old 12-19-2016, 06:46 AM
  #17  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Merritt Island
Posts: 181
Default

Dealer contacted me back, Yamaha covering this under warranty. Parts on order, will schedule repair once they arrive.
Iuse2Fish is offline  
Old 12-19-2016, 09:21 AM
  #18  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 325
Default

Originally Posted by Iuse2Fish View Post
Dealer contacted me back, Yamaha covering this under warranty. Parts on order, will schedule repair once they arrive.
Please let us know your outcome after your dealer replaces the bolt. It would be useful to know if they replaced it with a bolt of different metallic composition, or the same.

My HPDI 200 year 2001 has the same problem and my issue is that I don't know what's required to access and remove the bolt.....i.e., does the lower unit need to be supported, etc. during the procedure - you get the idea.
WildBlueUnder is offline  
Old 12-19-2016, 09:40 AM
  #19  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Merritt Island
Posts: 181
Default

I'm sure they will use the "yamaha" bolt, I just wonder if they were suppose to use a marine non metalic anti seize while assembling.. My 2006 225 never looked this bad..

I want to be there when they do it..
Iuse2Fish is offline  
Old 12-19-2016, 02:34 PM
  #20  
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Sampson County, NC
Posts: 198
Default

Bump for more information.
Rodholder is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread