Notices
The Boating Forum

Sea Hunt Electrical Question

Old 07-07-2016, 06:41 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 267
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Sea Hunt Electrical Question

Hello,

I have a 215 Victory that has me stumped right now. I am doing some re-wiring up in the dash and am very confused as to where all of the electrical that came from the factory is grounded. I can tell which switches are stock...nav lights, bilge, aerator, cabin light, courtesy lights etc. All these switches along with a few more are connected to circuit breakers as is pretty standard. What I can't figure out is where do all these electrical components get grounded as I can't find a black wire that would belong to any of these items. I am able to trace most everything from the back of the boat with both the hot and negative wire but only the hots come into the dash. Not that I am having any problems at all but this just has me curious in case I have a problem down the line. Is there a negative bus bar somewhere in the hull that I may not have access to? Maybe I'm just missing something here...
Old 07-07-2016, 06:48 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: FL., GA, CO, Utah, WA, depends. In CA now.
Posts: 9,624
Received 331 Likes on 227 Posts
Default

Depending on year both wires go to a terminal and connect there. All grounds on one side of block are positive and all on other side are negative, a set of master wires go to battery. There is a wiring diagram in the original owner's manual that many people trash.
Old 07-07-2016, 08:03 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Hinesville GA
Posts: 5,237
Received 913 Likes on 463 Posts
Default

There simply has to be ground wires at the dash/switches your just missing it somehow.
Old 07-07-2016, 08:04 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 267
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

Well the two main lines coming in from the battery are both 10 gauge, one red one black. But the hot connects to the first of the components circuit breaker, I believe the nav lights. From here the circuit breaker feeds the switch obviously and also feeds the next item and this continues down the line to each of the remaining circuit breakers. Problem becomes if one of the connections goes bad and a breaker or switch stops working, then everything downstream of that break also losses power. Regardless, the negative also connects at around the same area but it is not providing a ground for any of these items that came with the boat. Instead there are only 3 aftermarket items that are grounded with this 10 gauge wire that came from the battery. This is all fine, however I would still like to figure out how the other handful of lights and others are grounded to the battery.
Old 07-07-2016, 08:11 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 267
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

If it were one or maybe two ground wires that I may have overlooked I would agree that I just missed them. However I have six separate electrical items that I cannot account for a ground. I am also able to look in the access hatches and trace most of these wires up the side of the hull almost up to the dash before losing them and they all have the ground wires running along with them even taped to keep them together. I was just wondering if maybe there is a negative terminal block somewhere behind the dash that I just can't get to and that might be where and the ground wires get dropped off before the hots come into the dash.
Old 07-07-2016, 08:15 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Hinesville GA
Posts: 5,237
Received 913 Likes on 463 Posts
Default

The positive should connect as you said to the first breaker and then daisy chain across the the next breaker and so on, if one breaker pops it will not effect the next breaker. On the switches you should have a ground wire daisy chained across all the switches in the same fashion as the pos to the breakers, I would bet that all your grounds are tied into that circuit.
How many ground wires are connected to your battery?
Old 07-07-2016, 08:22 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 267
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

You are correct in how the circuits are daisy chained however I tried disconnecting the first circuit to see what would happen and it did actually cut power to all circuits past it. As far as the switches go, each has two wires, one being the red hot from its circuit breaker and one leaving the switch and going to the component...lights, bilge etc... No signs whatsoever of a ground at any of the switches.
Old 07-07-2016, 08:24 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 267
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

Only 4 grounds at the main battery, one being the connection to the engine, one the connection to the 2nd battery, one is the 10 gauge I mentioned earlier and one much smaller gauged wire which I'm guessing belongs to the float switch on the bilge.
Old 07-07-2016, 08:39 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Destrehan LA
Posts: 230
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

The switches don't need ground wires. I have no ground wires on my dash panel. Each item, lights, bilge, livewell pump Etc. Are all grounded to a bus bar in the back of the boat by the battery. The switches just break the connection so ground isn't needed by them. I'm actually re wiring my boat now. As it's not the same brand as yours but many are wired similar. I just purchased an updated switch panel off a 2015 nautic star as mines a 2005 and it's wired the same way with no grounds by the switches and circuit breakers. So I'm sure your boat has a ground bus bar somewhere that, that 10 gauge wire runs to.
Old 07-07-2016, 08:56 PM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Hinesville GA
Posts: 5,237
Received 913 Likes on 463 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Cfishh View Post
You are correct in how the circuits are daisy chained however I tried disconnecting the first circuit to see what would happen and it did actually cut power to all circuits past it. As far as the switches go, each has two wires, one being the red hot from its circuit breaker and one leaving the switch and going to the component...lights, bilge etc... No signs whatsoever of a ground at any of the switches.
OK so you don't have a light on the switches to show they are on, if you did you'd have a ground at the switch. Odd that you could loose power in the chain like that.
There's plenty of guys who know a whole lot more than me on this stuff, just trying to help mate.
Old 07-08-2016, 04:58 AM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 267
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

Maybe I'm confusing matters here about the circuit breakers. I disconnected the connection on the first breaker on the line and that is what caused the rest of the switches to lose power. I'm sure you are correct in saying that if all the connections are good and the breaker itself pops on the first in the line then the rest of the switches/breakers downstream will still operate correctly.
Old 07-08-2016, 05:13 AM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Halfmoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 3,561
Received 506 Likes on 192 Posts
Default

Call Sea Hunt, they will mail you a owners manual with a wiring harness diagram showing where each fuse/wire goes to.

Sea Hunt Boats
2348 Shop Road
Columbia, SC 29201
Phone: (803) 755-6539


I labeled each wire with tape when I rewired mine.

Before

[IMG]Name:  1218141108a_zps93a784bb.jpg
Views: 1873
Size:  82.5 KB[/IMG]


After


[IMG]Name:  IMG_0409_zps1grm4xwv.jpg
Views: 1948
Size:  88.1 KB[/IMG]



[IMG]Name:  IMG_0408_zpsrf2mss1s.jpg
Views: 2502
Size:  99.2 KB[/IMG]





.
Likes:
Old 07-08-2016, 05:26 AM
  #13  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Tarpon Springs, FL
Posts: 8,251
Likes: 0
Received 3,951 Likes on 2,228 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Gnrphil View Post
There simply has to be ground wires at the dash/switches your just missing it somehow.
ditto, that's the only way electrical parts can work. There is a ground period.
Old 07-08-2016, 05:30 AM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sunny florida
Posts: 25,063
Received 5,348 Likes on 3,420 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Gnrphil View Post
OK so you don't have a light on the switches to show they are on, if you did you'd have a ground at the switch. Odd that you could loose power in the chain like that.
There's plenty of guys who know a whole lot more than me on this stuff, just trying to help mate.
The light on a switch is often grounded thru the device it powers.

I'm rewiring a panel right now. The only grounds at the panel are lights, radios, stuff like that. I've got a negative buss bar with one big ground going to the batteries.
Old 07-08-2016, 06:07 AM
  #15  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 267
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

Halfmoon, good looking work there. I am going to call sea hunt today, like I said I'm not having any issues I'm just curious. I know that all these electrical components are obviously grounded and I'm sure there is a negative bus bar somewhere in this boat out of plain sight, I'm just determined to find it. I have a feeling it is right behind an access hatch somewhere close to the helm.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.