Notices
The Boating Forum

Lowrance transducer placement

Old 12-03-2015, 01:12 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 222
Received 81 Likes on 14 Posts
Default Lowrance transducer placement

Name:  IMG_0946.jpg
Views: 340
Size:  131.6 KB

Im getting a lot of interference on my lowrance and lose bottom anything above idle speed pretty much, I'm thinking about putting the transducer where my speedo pickup is mounted, not crooked like the pickup is mounted, will that correct the problem? I bought the boat with the mount in that location but i think its mounted in the wrong spot next to what i think is called a "strake" which causes these problems. Any suggestions are helpful
Old 12-03-2015, 06:24 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SE Fla
Posts: 3,774
Received 88 Likes on 79 Posts
Default

It's way too deep, supposed to be 1/8 below hull
Old 12-03-2015, 07:04 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
240 LTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Upper Chesapeake Bay
Posts: 22,045
Received 3,325 Likes on 1,425 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by wetneck View Post
It's way too deep, supposed to be 1/8 below hull
Agree.

See photo.
Put the bracket next to the white flange.

JMHO from reading, reading and more reading then experience.
Attached Images  
Old 12-03-2015, 08:03 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 222
Received 81 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 240 LTS View Post
Agree.

See photo.
Put the bracket next to the white flange.

JMHO from reading, reading and more reading then experience.
thank you for your input, unless anyone disagrees with your diagram thats where ill give it a try, thanks
Old 12-03-2015, 08:05 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 222
Received 81 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by wetneck View Post
It's way too deep, supposed to be 1/8 below hull
as you can tell in the picture its unable to be brought up, thats the work of the previous owner, gotta remount it somewhere else and i will bring it up to the proper distance, thank you
Old 12-03-2015, 09:57 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Northern British Columbia
Posts: 1,442
Received 234 Likes on 167 Posts
Default

If you look on the Lowrance.com web site, you can probably download the correct manual for unit with installation instructions. Assuming the unit isn't too old. Check in the support section. Looks a bit like an HDI transducer.
Old 12-04-2015, 02:28 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
240 LTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Upper Chesapeake Bay
Posts: 22,045
Received 3,325 Likes on 1,425 Posts
Default

Some images are shown on the port side but just think of it on the starboard side.

.
Attached Images   
Old 12-04-2015, 06:56 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Northern British Columbia
Posts: 1,442
Received 234 Likes on 167 Posts
Default

I believe they recommend the port side for a standard rotation drive. The manual also gives lots of tips for fine tuning. My HDI reads over 300' @ up to 25 knots.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.