Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > The Boating Forum
Reload this Page >

How do i remove the negative trim limit on a Suzuki DF300AP

Notices

How do i remove the negative trim limit on a Suzuki DF300AP

Old 06-24-2014, 09:01 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 402
Default How do i remove the negative trim limit on a Suzuki DF300AP

Anyone know how to remove the negative trim limit on a Suzuki DF300AP? I noticed people talking about doing this and I think this would help on my boat.

Josh
Jstarion is offline  
Old 06-24-2014, 09:13 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Palm Beach, Fl.
Posts: 7,144
Default

Originally Posted by Jstarion View Post
Anyone know how to remove the negative trim limit on a Suzuki DF300AP? I noticed people talking about doing this and I think this would help on my boat.

Josh
If it's like my df-140 a's, you use the throttle, keyswitch, and kill switch. It's in the owners manual.
debugger is offline  
Old 06-24-2014, 09:16 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club
THT sponsor
 
williamwallus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: SWFL, Midwest
Posts: 3,240
Default

small ring near the motor mount
williamwallus is offline  
Old 06-24-2014, 09:38 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 18,822
Default

Originally Posted by Jstarion View Post
Anyone know how to remove the negative trim limit on a Suzuki DF300AP? I noticed people talking about doing this and I think this would help on my boat.

Josh
Not sure of your question. Are you wanting to trim the engine down more - or less?

Last edited by First Light; 06-24-2014 at 10:54 AM.
First Light is online now  
Old 06-24-2014, 09:49 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Palm Beach, Fl.
Posts: 7,144
Default

On the newer engines there is an upper (tilt) and lower (trim) adjustment that is user configured. The settings are now held in the ECU and it's not mechanically set.

There is a sequence to set mine. His may or may not be a newer engine.
debugger is offline  
Old 06-24-2014, 10:47 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 9,139
Default

You can do this with the keyswitch/lanyard and throttle control. AFAIK it is in the engine owner's manual, I don't have mine in front of me or I'd cut/paste.

My shop mentioned that if you set the trim lower than the factory default stop however, you will lose the trim gauge readout. They did say there are a few degrees of trim remaining if you need them.
Flot is offline  
Old 06-24-2014, 10:55 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 18,822
Default

He says he is is the AP model, and that's one of the newer ones.
First Light is online now  
Old 06-24-2014, 10:56 AM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Palm Beach, Fl.
Posts: 7,144
Default

Originally Posted by Flot View Post
You can do this with the keyswitch/lanyard and throttle control. AFAIK it is in the engine owner's manual, I don't have mine in front of me or I'd cut/paste.

My shop mentioned that if you set the trim lower than the factory default stop however, you will lose the trim gauge readout. They did say there are a few degrees of trim remaining if you need them.
That's how I figured this out. My trim gauges didn't work and it was because the upper and lower limits were never set when the new engines were installed.
debugger is offline  
Old 04-13-2015, 05:17 AM
  #9  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 1
Default DF250APX Engine Trim Calibration

Originally Posted by debugger View Post
That's how I figured this out. My trim gauges didn't work and it was because the upper and lower limits were never set when the new engines were installed.
What did you do when you figured it out? I have a Suzuki df250apx and the dealer walked me through how to trim the engine down all the way down; the factory default is 0 degrees, but if you remove the lanyard, turn on the key, press the throttle-only button twice, move throttle into gear until it beeps, then press trim down it allows the engine to go past 0 degrees (I am pretty sure that was the ritual). Now the SMIS trim gauge is way off and dealer says it is just what happens when you add the additional negative trim. That doesn't seem right since the physical trim sender travels the full arc of trim whether it goes to 0 or -4 degrees. There must be a way to recalibrate it with the SMIS gauges after you add the additional -4 degrees of trim. Also, does anyone know how to set the engine trim back to 0 degrees if I want to put it back? I miss simple, analog controls!
Pmberman is offline  
Old 04-13-2015, 05:57 AM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Palm Beach, Fl.
Posts: 7,144
Default

Originally Posted by Pmberman View Post
What did you do when you figured it out? I have a Suzuki df250apx and the dealer walked me through how to trim the engine down all the way down; the factory default is 0 degrees, but if you remove the lanyard, turn on the key, press the throttle-only button twice, move throttle into gear until it beeps, then press trim down it allows the engine to go past 0 degrees (I am pretty sure that was the ritual). Now the SMIS trim gauge is way off and dealer says it is just what happens when you add the additional negative trim. That doesn't seem right since the physical trim sender travels the full arc of trim whether it goes to 0 or -4 degrees. There must be a way to recalibrate it with the SMIS gauges after you add the additional -4 degrees of trim. Also, does anyone know how to set the engine trim back to 0 degrees if I want to put it back? I miss simple, analog controls!
I think you just removed the lower limit setting. Does the trim motor continue to run after the motor reaches the full down position?
debugger is offline  
Old 04-13-2015, 06:09 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Deerfield Beach, Florida
Posts: 944
Default

There is a plastic tab/ring near the steering/tiller arm. roll that up or down for adjust the down tilt limit. This is how i did it on my 2013 300AP motors.
FishEye is offline  
Old 04-13-2015, 06:30 AM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 18,822
Default

Originally Posted by FishEye View Post
There is a plastic tab/ring near the steering/tiller arm. roll that up or down for adjust the down tilt limit. This is how i did it on my 2013 300AP motors.
Yea, me too on my 2013 300's. Not sure what the other posters are talking about - maybe the gauge adjustment?
First Light is online now  
Old 04-13-2015, 07:37 AM
  #13  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Palm Beach, Fl.
Posts: 7,144
Default

Originally Posted by First Light View Post
Yea, me too on my 2013 300's. Not sure what the other posters are talking about - maybe the gauge adjustment?
On my motors the upper and lower limits are stored in the ECU. You put the motor where you want it to stop, then you perform the steps to set it there.

There is no mechanical adjustment.
debugger is offline  
Old 04-13-2015, 08:16 AM
  #14  
Senior Member
THT sponsor
 
InternationalMarineMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8,336
Default

The UPPER limit is set one to pivot tube. There is a plastic tab there.

Now for your question, there is a DOWN limit that is in fact set using the keypad on the dash. There are actually two sequences. One is totally remove the down limit and the other is to set it. It will go to negative trim. If you go negative trim it will make the trim gauge on the display not display.
InternationalMarineMike is offline  
Old 04-13-2015, 10:08 AM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 18,822
Default

Originally Posted by debugger View Post
On my motors the upper and lower limits are stored in the ECU. You put the motor where you want it to stop, then you perform the steps to set it there.

There is no mechanical adjustment.
^ What Mike said. I knew there was a mechanical adjustment on the pivot tube because I went out and moved mine back and forth before I posted. But I assumed it was for both the up and down limits - I'm obviously not familiar with the down adjustment.
First Light is online now  
Old 04-13-2015, 11:34 AM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Pompano Beach, FL
Posts: 1,011
Default

Originally Posted by InternationalMarineMike View Post
The UPPER limit is set one to pivot tube. There is a plastic tab there.

Now for your question, there is a DOWN limit that is in fact set using the keypad on the dash. There are actually two sequences. One is totally remove the down limit and the other is to set it. It will go to negative trim. If you go negative trim it will make the trim gauge on the display not display.
Mike, what's the sequence for removing the DOWN limit?
scubaholic is offline  
Old 04-14-2015, 04:54 AM
  #17  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Palm Beach, Fl.
Posts: 7,144
Default

Originally Posted by InternationalMarineMike View Post
The UPPER limit is set one to pivot tube. There is a plastic tab there.

Now for your question, there is a DOWN limit that is in fact set using the keypad on the dash. There are actually two sequences. One is totally remove the down limit and the other is to set it. It will go to negative trim. If you go negative trim it will make the trim gauge on the display not display.
Interesting that it's different from mine. My analog trim gauges work fine with neg trim.
debugger is offline  
Old 04-14-2015, 05:01 AM
  #18  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 643
Default Trim limit

Is there a way to this on a 2007 model df250?
Landito86 is offline  
Old 07-01-2015, 12:55 PM
  #19  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Bradenton,fl
Posts: 2,117
Default

did anyone find the answer to this as the set up on here does not work for a 2013
teamprosports is offline  
Old 04-03-2016, 10:19 AM
  #20  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Key West
Posts: 11,781
Default

I'm reviving this thread because I'd like to add the negative trim to my engines. It seems that mine aren't going into full negative trim based on the fact that the trim motor doesn't keep running when I'm all the way down and my gauges do still show trim settings.

Has anyone confirmed the EXACT procedure to do this with the key switch, lanyard, throttles, etc?
coores14 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread