Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > The Boating Forum
Reload this Page >

Honda outboard 135hp retune ecu to 150hp anybody?

Notices
The Boating Forum

Honda outboard 135hp retune ecu to 150hp anybody?

Old 03-04-2014, 09:33 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Honda outboard 135hp retune ecu to 150hp anybody?

I have read an extensive thread, (on a different forum) that the 135 and 150 honda outboards are identical engines, same weight, but the 135 does not utilize the variable valve timing that is has the cabability of, resulting in it simply being a "tuned down" version of its sister engine, the 150hp. I am looking for input from anybody who has actually had their ECU remapped, if in fact it is possible....cost, any downside, who to contact, and your personal opinions on the subject. I have this motor on a 25ft pontoon, and I could sure use the extra horsepower, as I will soon be adding a center toon to my boat. Thanks, John
Old 03-04-2014, 09:53 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 13,054
Likes: 0
Received 26 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

Ah, the search for more cheap HP and the fountain of youth.

They both can be found at the same location.
Old 03-04-2014, 10:01 AM
  #3  
mlc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Posts: 250
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

VTEC is actually another set of cam lobes on the cam shaft. When you hit a certain RPM, there are several other factors that make it engage, the cam shaft "switches" the the higher cam lobes. Does the 135 engine have those cams?? and the other things on the motor, VTEC solenoid etc.?
Old 03-04-2014, 10:32 AM
  #4  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I know very little about outboards, but to answer your question the best I can, the material I read said the engine has all the hardware in place, but not being used, for lack of a ground wire that is intentionally omitted, thereby disabling the VTECH, and the downtuned ECU is the other component used to downgrade the hp of these engines. I just want to find out more. I wish I could find that darn thread again, but I was on my employer computer last nite, and I can't get my search engine at home to pull that same thread. If I do find it later today, I will post the location...as I said it was a very lengthy conversation from several individuals.
Old 03-04-2014, 10:48 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Long Island,NY
Posts: 12,066
Likes: 0
Received 1,019 Likes on 609 Posts
Default

My guess is that if it were easy and or cheap to do, that the topic would be found all over the web and easy to find.
Old 03-04-2014, 10:52 AM
  #6  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Found it! Here is the link to the discussion that sparked my interest in this topic. [URL="http://http://continuouswave.com/ubb/Forum4/HTML/003957.html"
Old 03-04-2014, 10:54 AM
  #7  
mlc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Posts: 250
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

It is actually a pin that engages the higher cam lobe so it might be just the ground wire as far as the mechanical side of it. I am not sure if the cam profiles are the same on both motors but lets say they are, There are A LOT of variables that the ECU reads and adjusts to make the motor run correctly. You would think if it was something that was fairly easy that a lot of people would be doing it. That doesn't mean it can't be done, hopefully someone with knowledge of the ECU can chime in.
Old 03-04-2014, 10:55 AM
  #8  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I feel the same way. Too good to be true, still an interesting subject. I just viewed the youtube video on Honda's VTEC. It is a simple concept that works very well it seems.

Last edited by fiddlebick; 03-04-2014 at 10:58 AM. Reason: added text
Old 03-04-2014, 11:07 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 248
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Don't we wish it was true! We'll I can tell you that i work at a hond dealer and am certified honda tech. And there are some differences on the to. One being the vetch solinoid on the head. The 135 don't have one. Also the cams are different. Also different part numbers. And even if you found cams and a solinoid cheap. ( very unlikely). The ecu can not be re flashed. They are not designed to be re flashed and no dealer can do so. You can buy a 150 ecu and it would work. But at over $1000 not worth it.
Old 03-04-2014, 11:38 AM
  #10  
mlc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Posts: 250
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Well, there you go. Kinda figured if it was an easy thing it would be all over the web.

I do enjoy my other VTEC system though .

Name:  i-3bMqgj7-X3_zpsf3455cc5.jpg
Views: 600
Size:  94.6 KB
Old 03-04-2014, 01:51 PM
  #11  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for setting me straight on that. I was sooo excited there for a little while.
Old 03-04-2014, 02:16 PM
  #12  
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: VA
Posts: 52
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

What's VTEC?

Turbo Lag - Turbo Power.

Now I do love my Honda 150. I get 5mpg going about 28-30 mph on the rivers here. It's got plenty of power for cruising and pulling skiiers.
Old 03-04-2014, 02:43 PM
  #13  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

For a video of VTEC, just hit up youtube and watch the video. They have a really good animation of exactly how it works. I love my 135 honda, but my dealer refers to it as a water pig...heavier than other brands in its horsepower class. They are very dependable motors, however.
Old 03-04-2014, 05:14 PM
  #14  
Formeryly known as EHA Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 1,619
Likes: 0
Received 89 Likes on 52 Posts
Default

Variable Valve timing electronic ignition control.... or at least I rem that from my ricer days
Old 04-17-2017, 06:02 PM
  #15  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by fiddlebick View Post
I have read an extensive thread, (on a different forum) that the 135 and 150 honda outboards are identical engines, same weight, but the 135 does not utilize the variable valve timing that is has the cabability of, resulting in it simply being a "tuned down" version of its sister engine, the 150hp. I am looking for input from anybody who has actually had their ECU remapped, if in fact it is possible....cost, any downside, who to contact, and your personal opinions on the subject. I have this motor on a 25ft pontoon, and I could sure use the extra horsepower, as I will soon be adding a center toon to my boat. Thanks, John
Hi I did a detailed part number comparison on the 115, 135 and the 150. The difference between the 135 and the 150 is the missing VTEC solenoid, different Intake cam, ($287.00), different ECU, ($1003.00), and the decals, otherwise identical. I am currently converting my 115 to a 135 as the only difference is the intake manifold and the ECU. I found a good deal on the intake manifold and may have to buy a new ECU if I do not find a good used one.
Old 01-09-2020, 12:38 AM
  #16  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

wondering if your still around noticed this is a old thread , did you convert your 115 hp to a 135 hp if so please let me know i am looking into it i have a 115 BF honda
Old 01-09-2020, 02:18 AM
  #17  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 7,532
Received 794 Likes on 453 Posts
Default

Every outboard range has a few of the 'same' engines rated at different horsepower (the difference can be as much as 100hp - e.g. Etec 200 and 300) - the manufacturers make it very difficult to change from one to the other - if it was easy, everyone would, for instance, buy a 175 Mercury and turn it into a 225.
Old 01-09-2020, 06:31 AM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 10,641
Received 3,027 Likes on 1,707 Posts
Default

I realize this is an old thread.
Reading it though had me thinking, even if it were reasonably possible,would it really be worth the expense and effort involved for possibly 15 extra HP?
seems to me that the difference in performance gained ( if any really) wouldn’t be worth the effort of actually doing this.
Old 01-09-2020, 06:37 AM
  #19  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: S. Florida
Posts: 5,690
Received 1,226 Likes on 653 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by vern smiley View Post
wondering if your still around noticed this is a old thread , did you convert your 115 hp to a 135 hp if so please let me know i am looking into it i have a 115 BF honda
He hasn’t been on since 2017 according to his profile.
Old 01-09-2020, 07:26 PM
  #20  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

ok thanks

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.