Notices
The Boating Forum

yam hpdi oil alarm

Old 12-30-2012, 04:34 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,009
Received 42 Likes on 26 Posts
Default yam hpdi oil alarm

port engine, oil bar keeps blinking, otherwise runs great, no smoke, oil tank stays at the right level. changed the oil reservoir cap w float that tells the computer the tank oil level, still the same issue. any ideas?

thanks
Old 12-30-2012, 06:56 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 13,054
Likes: 0
Received 30 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

Which bar? There are three of them.

What is the model of the motor?
Old 12-30-2012, 07:05 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: La Jolla, CA
Posts: 756
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by aa331 View Post
port engine, oil bar keeps blinking, otherwise runs great, no smoke, oil tank stays at the right level. changed the oil reservoir cap w float that tells the computer the tank oil level, still the same issue. any ideas?

thanks
Ours would alarm but the main oil tank was full. The line from tank to the small reservoir under cowling was clogged preventing reservoir from staying full.

May be worth looking at.
Old 12-30-2012, 07:32 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,009
Received 42 Likes on 26 Posts
Default

When I say tank I mean the one on the motor. it's full yet the gauge shows that its not. The yam gauge has three horizontal bars that show the tank oil level, and it keeps blinking like if its low on oil, which its not. Don't think it's a filter issue.

thanks again.
Old 12-30-2012, 10:06 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Cedar Creek
Posts: 179
Received 66 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

we had a problem with a small filter on the bottom of the oil tank getting clogged. Check That.
Old 12-31-2012, 06:24 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 13,054
Likes: 0
Received 30 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

Which bar? There are three of them.

What is the model of the motor?
Old 12-31-2012, 06:38 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 13,054
Likes: 0
Received 30 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

Old 12-31-2012, 01:33 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,009
Received 42 Likes on 26 Posts
Default

z150txry

The gauges are digital, like this

http://www.bdoutdoors.com/forums/att...s-img_1678.jpg

This picture shows two out of the three bars I'm talking about on, The third is missing on the picture, Keeps blinking on mine on this motor, The starboard Motor gauge shows three solid bars.

Sorry for the grammar but I'm using Siri on my iPhone
Old 12-31-2012, 02:17 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 13,054
Likes: 0
Received 30 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

The link does not work for me.

You do have Yam multi-function gauges, correct?

So, are you saying that the left hand bar and the middle bar are on steadily yet the right hand bar is blinking? Is it blinking consistently or intermittantly?
Old 12-31-2012, 02:52 PM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,009
Received 42 Likes on 26 Posts
Default

Name:  image-4206705229.jpg
Views: 190
Size:  466.6 KB

correct. the right bar blinks all the time.
Old 01-01-2013, 12:12 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 13,054
Likes: 0
Received 30 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

I would swap the tachs and see what happens. If the issue remains when the known good tach is connected to the port motor a wiring issue may be involved. If the issue stays with the tach, no matter which motor it is connected to, it is the tach.

I am guessing that it is the tach itself. The right bar normally disappears completely and the middle bar flashes when the applicable wire to the tach is not grounded. I cannot think of a situation where the right bar flashes while the other two remain on, flashing or steady state.
Old 01-01-2013, 01:44 PM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,009
Received 42 Likes on 26 Posts
Default

will check.

thank you
Old 01-01-2013, 02:38 PM
  #13  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 8,178
Received 1,271 Likes on 705 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by aa331 View Post
When I say tank I mean the one on the motor. it's full yet the gauge shows that its not.
The gauge shows the amount of oil in the remote tank,not the on board. Is the alarm sounding? It only sounds when the on board gets to the bottom line.

When the remote oil tank starts approaching the 2 bar level, the third flashes then goes to 2 solid bars at some point. When it gets near the 1 bar level the 2nd bar flashes and then at some point goes to 1 solid. I think.
Old 01-03-2013, 01:58 PM
  #14  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,009
Received 42 Likes on 26 Posts
Default

Gary999,
Alarm is not sounding, never does, runs like a top. Yes, I agree, per the gauge the tank on the motor is saying it's pumping / needs oil, the problem is that the oil is pumping just fine, the level is good, doesn't fall below the bottom line.

Third bar flashes constantly, never goes solid. At this point I'm thinking it's the gauge. Also may pull the big oil tanks, clean them, replace the filter.
Old 01-03-2013, 02:13 PM
  #15  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 8,178
Received 1,271 Likes on 705 Posts
Default

Put an ohm meter on the float wires and see if it changes when you move the float up and down. I have no idea what the ohm range would be. The float may just be stuck also.
Old 01-03-2013, 03:08 PM
  #16  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,009
Received 42 Likes on 26 Posts
Default

Swapped the float with another, same thing.

I know..
Old 01-03-2013, 04:31 PM
  #17  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 8,178
Received 1,271 Likes on 705 Posts
Default

Did you fill the tank all the way up?
Old 01-04-2013, 07:36 AM
  #18  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 8,178
Received 1,271 Likes on 705 Posts
Default

Also with float out but connected, do the bars move when you slide the float up and down?
Old 01-04-2013, 08:07 AM
  #19  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 13,054
Likes: 0
Received 30 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

Look at the drawing above from the Yam owner's manual. There is no normal condition whereby the right bar will flash by itself. It is either there, being displayed in a solid form, or it is gone from the display, in which case the middle bar starts flashing.

The right oil bar is controlled by the remote tank sensor. If the float is up (switch closed and ground applied to the circuit) the bar will be illuminated. If the float is down (switch opened and no ground to the circuit) the right bar disappears altogether and the middle bar starts flashing.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.