Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > The Boating Forum
Reload this Page >

I want to add a tach -- Honda 50 outboard

Notices
The Boating Forum

I want to add a tach -- Honda 50 outboard

Old 06-18-2012, 11:42 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 161
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default I want to add a tach -- Honda 50 outboard

I want to add a tachometer to my console dash for my 2007 honda 50 outboard. I bought it new in 2007 and its never had a tach.

What are my options? (honda only gauge, or Faria OK too?).

Obviously I would need to buy the gauge, but what type of harness would I also likely need that would not have been included with the outboard when purchased?

If anyone can offer advice or direct me to information, would be greatly appreciated.
Old 06-19-2012, 02:48 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sailfish Capital. Snook fishing ain't bad either
Posts: 3,786
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

If you don't have the dash space or want something more budget friendly look into a tiny tach: http://tinytach.com/

I've used them on a lot of tiller skiffs over the years and they are inexpensive, work great, keep an hour log and are easy to read.

If you have the space a traditional tach would be my first choice but this might be an option for you.

-T
Old 06-19-2012, 03:54 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Posts: 5,664
Received 354 Likes on 246 Posts
Default

Wiring depends on type of steering you have. If you have a wheel and side or binnacle control, the wires are already there. The gray wire is your signal wire from the engine. The others are power, ground and lighting for the guage. Here's the BF50 diagram. Hope this helps. Good luck.
Attached Images  
Old 06-19-2012, 07:15 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 161
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Thanks to you both.

I think that based on the fact that I have a tach hole in the dash already, I am better off with a traditional dial tach.

Actually there is already an existing tach in the dash that is not being used, though I have no idea if it works.

Yes, its a steering wheel, side mount throttle setup and there are some Honda connections with plastic plugs on them entering the console.

Anyone know what sort of wires / harness I would need to try to connect these Honda connections to the existing tach to see if it works?
Old 06-19-2012, 07:31 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 330
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

If you goto Honda and look under the accessories and gauges page. It will show you the harness thats needed. Honda gauges are rebranded Teleflex and Faria gauges. There is a harness for each MFG. Find the gauge you want and get the Honda harness for that MFG.
Old 06-19-2012, 11:47 AM
  #6  
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 32
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Get the part number and search on ebay under the part number make a offer on the part even it they have it listed for a $100. I have a 2000 honda 40hp I just picked up the tach for $50 on ebay switched the old one out and plug n play.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.