Notices

Sears AGM and F250

Old 02-24-2012, 03:11 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Potomac River
Posts: 173
Default Sears AGM and F250

Hi,
I'm need new batteries in my boat, with a single F250. The old batteries are Deka Marine 27M6. I wanted to put in Sears Platinum AGM Group 34. The Group 31's are too long and too heavy. I read in old threads about reserve capacity requirements for F250s being around 182 amps. The AGMs are at 135.
Anyone using this setup and is there a problem?
Thanks, j
jburban is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 03:52 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Potomac River
Posts: 173
Default

.
jburban is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 06:02 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 13,052
Default

Look at the new Yamaha motors. The SHO, Offshore and updated F350 for instance. RC has been reduced to 160 minutes.

RC only comes into play if and when the electrical generation system dies. Do you have one battery or two on board? Two batteries, each having an RC of 135, equates to a total of 270 RC. That meets this speculative specification.

Most using AGM's report no issues whatsoever.
jethro1 is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 07:50 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Potomac River
Posts: 173
Default

Yeah. I have 2 batteries but generally run only one at a time. I guess the question is whether the f250 generates enough current at idle and trolling so as to not drain the battery with the electronics on. Anyway. Thanks. J
jburban is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 09:58 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,400
Default

Originally Posted by jburban View Post
Yeah. I have 2 batteries but generally run only one at a time. I guess the question is whether the f250 generates enough current at idle and trolling so as to not drain the battery with the electronics on. Anyway. Thanks. J
virtually no 4S motor does....
Glen E is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 10:53 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 13,052
Default

Originally Posted by jburban View Post
Yeah. I have 2 batteries but generally run only one at a time. I guess the question is whether the f250 generates enough current at idle and trolling so as to not drain the battery with the electronics on. Anyway. Thanks. J
As Glen says, most outboards will not create enough electrical power to recharge the battery and power the electrics when the motor is at low RPM.

That is why it is a good idea to have two batteries with a battery combiner/VSR/VSR.

Use one battery to power the ship and one to support the motor. Any time there is sufficient current being generated by the motor it will charge both batteries. Maybe not much, but it will. If and when there is insufficient power being produced the combiner will divert all electrical power to the engine battery. The electrics will be powered by the house battery.

Pretty much fool proof. Until a better fool comes along.
jethro1 is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 12:43 PM
  #7  
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 66
Default

I just replaced my Deka DP31DT with the DC31DTs after four years. My F250s work well with them and they have been extremely dependable. I like the gasketed screw in maintenance ports. American Made too.
hwbjr is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 02:02 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Potomac River
Posts: 173
Default

So then, do those with F250 stay away from the AGM unless it's spec'ed at 182 RCA? Or are some running the sears platinum group 34 with no problems? I'm having a hard time finding a battery with 182 of rca that's not called deep cycle. I guess I really want the hybrid, start/deep type. The Deka's seemed to be just that, but I haven't found them here in Miami - yet. Figured with all the good AGM reviews I'd go with the Sears platinum, but they are a bit shy on RCA. always something. Thanks.
jburban is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 02:10 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,400
Default

they are fine.....the reserve spec is whacked out on yams....no one listens to it....

i understand how you feel but you are overthinking it - jethro is a yam tech

call andy at SIM here - he's a dealer...he'll tell you...
Glen E is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 02:29 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 13,052
Default

I am just a retired (and tired) airplane guy. But I do own a Yam. Or two. or three. It depends. Oh, and a good ole Merc.

I do agree that the RC specs are out of whack. They don't make sense. Particularly now that the new Yams don't have the same specs as the old ones. Seems they are coming to their senses.

And, they don't take into account multiple battery installations.

Please don't try and overthink this situation. Yamaha recommending one type of battery is not the same as them recommending against a different kind of battery. They recommend what they know will work. That is all.

Just like if I recommend my doctor to you. Does that mean that I recommend that you don't use yours? Of course not. Use what works for you.
jethro1 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread