Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > The Boating Forum
Reload this Page >

AntiFreeze leaking from the prop shaft?

Notices

AntiFreeze leaking from the prop shaft?

Old 11-15-2010, 04:28 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 790
Default AntiFreeze leaking from the prop shaft?

I just started winterizing the old boat and noticed antifreeze leaking from on of my prop shafts on the outside of the boat. Nothing internaly that I can see. 1998 7.4 inboards. Whats wrong and how much should it cost me to fix?
Proline3250 is offline  
Old 11-15-2010, 04:37 AM
  #2  
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: East Islip, NY
Posts: 48
Default

Is there a water-injection to your shaft packing boxes ?
boatman64 is offline  
Old 11-15-2010, 04:44 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: JAX FL
Posts: 1,993
Default

Mine does the same thing. I have a PSS shaft log and a line runs from the manifold to the cutlass bearing to keep it cool. If you are running antifreeze through mainifolds it will go into there too. I usually pinch the line when I run antifreeze through it.
SHAMROCK69 is offline  
Old 11-15-2010, 07:00 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 790
Default

Boatman 64: I have no idea. Never been able to look in there.

Shamrock69: OH OK I guess i never noticed it before?
Proline3250 is offline  
Old 11-15-2010, 08:20 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca.
Posts: 3,523
Default

You have a PSS-type packing gland. It lubricates the shaft packing gland with the raw water off your raw cooling side from the motors. If you are flushing your motors with anti-freeze, then seeing the coolant from the prop shaft is a good sign- it means your circulation system works good and your packing system is clear as well.
c_mccann is offline  
Old 11-15-2010, 08:24 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 6,497
Default

Proline3250....what a relief huh!?! :-)
Local Motion is offline  
Old 11-15-2010, 09:58 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 790
Default

Local NO SHI^, im thinking some one is gonna have to pull the engine to repack the box or something!! but it does make me wonder why I never noticed it before!! LOL
Proline3250 is offline  
Old 11-15-2010, 10:58 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Default

Originally Posted by Proline3250 View Post
Local NO SHI^, im thinking some one is gonna have to pull the engine to repack the box or something!! but it does make me wonder why I never noticed it before!! LOL
It's supposed to do that. No need to pull the engine. Read the posts above.
rwidman is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread