Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > The Boating Forum
Reload this Page >

yamaha fuel gauge reads full all the time.....

Notices

yamaha fuel gauge reads full all the time.....

Old 08-20-2007, 10:40 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 447
Default yamaha fuel gauge reads full all the time.....

the yamaha fuel gauge is reading full all the time. checked the wires and they look good, took the sending unit out of the tank and moved the float up & down with no change to the reading on the gauge, it still registered full.....
please help.....
Anna Kathryn is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 10:53 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Jupiter Florida
Posts: 1,295
Default Re: yamaha fuel gauge reads full all the time.....

at least its appearance is uplifting......sorry, but im of no help.....Mine does the opposit. Always empty
sailcrazy is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 10:57 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location:
Posts: 3,355
Default Re: yamaha fuel gauge reads full all the time.....

is your tank full?
49erJim is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 11:03 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Jupiter Florida
Posts: 1,295
Default Re: yamaha fuel gauge reads full all the time.....

jim....were you asking me or the OP.....if it was me. I dont know if its full...it doesnt work but I have put in 250.00 about 65 gallons which should have added about 3 bars out of the 8 and it did not change at all.....I now calculate my usage with my flow manager.
sailcrazy is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 12:03 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location:
Posts: 3,355
Default Re: yamaha fuel gauge reads full all the time.....

lol good one. nice boat!
49erJim is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 12:05 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 447
Default Re: yamaha fuel gauge reads full all the time.....

no the tank is not full....
Anna Kathryn is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 12:08 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location:
Posts: 3,355
Default Re: yamaha fuel gauge reads full all the time.....

Anna Kathryn - 8/21/2007 12:05 AM

no the tank is not full....
thats the problem, fill it up and you fixed it!
49erJim is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 12:25 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Jupiter Florida
Posts: 1,295
Default Re: yamaha fuel gauge reads full all the time.....

exactly.....just dont get to used to it....."yea sea tow....my guage says full but the engines sputtered and will not start" haha. marine fuel guages SUCK!! if you dont have a flow meter I suggest getting one and calculating your usage....well it calculates for you you just have to keep track of how much is in there. good luck
sailcrazy is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 12:40 AM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 111
Default Re: yamaha fuel gauge reads full all the time.....

Had the a similar thing happen,except my gauge always read 3/4 full. I think you need a new sending unit
Bohunk is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 01:22 AM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 633
Default Re: yamaha fuel gauge reads full all the time.....

Check the wire connections for corrosion
Surfhunter is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 01:27 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Jax Fla,Horseshoe Beach Fla
Posts: 13,398
Default Re: yamaha fuel gauge reads full all the time.....

Surfhunter - 8/21/2007 1:22 AM

Check the wire connections for corrosion




and power.get a fuel flow meter the only true way to know how much fuel you have and use.take only a couple hours to install in your boat "no wires to fish"
tommyr904 is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 01:30 AM
  #12  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location:
Posts: 28
Default RE: yamaha fuel gauge reads full all the time.....

The Yamaha gauge can accept inputs of more than one ohms range. If it's a new installation you may need to adjust the dip switches. Or if there are no dipswitches swap the white and the white/blue wires. Did that sender and gauge work before?
Baltimore is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 08:17 AM
  #13  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 447
Default RE: yamaha fuel gauge reads full all the time.....

yes, I already checked the wiring, it is all in tip top shape, I removed the sending unit from the tank, and that looks like it was brand new, but working the float up & down did nothing to the gauge reading....gauge still read full like when you first turn the ignition on.....
Anna Kathryn is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 08:21 AM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location:
Posts: 405
Default Re: yamaha fuel gauge reads full all the time.....

Disconnect both wires, guage should slowly drop down to empty, if it goes to complete empty touch the two wires from the guage together and the guage should go to full slowly one bar at a time. If this does not happen try it again closer to the guage, if it still does not work it is the guage. If it does work both at the tank and behind the guage it is the sender, and if it works behind the guage and not at the tank it is the wires.
robalo78 is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 12:07 PM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Oakland, CA, USA
Posts: 1,450
Default Re: yamaha fuel gauge reads full all the time.....

You can check the sender unit with an ohmmeter as well. One way should be about 240 ohms, the other should be 33 ohms.

jky
jyasaki is offline  
Old 11-06-2010, 05:54 PM
  #16  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Tecumseh, MI
Posts: 4
Default

I know this is an old post but I'd like to thank those which contributed information. I just purchased a Grady and I was having the same problem with the gauge reading full. The bad part of the story is I had to find out the hard way. I ran out of fuel on it's maiden voyage, but luckily I was only 200 yards from the boat launch, rather than 6 miles out.

Anyway, after reading this post I found that when I disconnected the fuel sending unit it would still read full. When I disconnected the positive lead from the gauge it would read empty. I then decided to run a wire from the positive lead on the fsu directly to the gauge. It now properly reads the fuel level. All I have to do now is fish a new wire back to the sending unit. Thanks for the help
MIPinner is offline  
Old 11-06-2010, 10:11 PM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
flyau98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: The Blackwater River, FL
Posts: 3,421
Default

Its called an Obama Stimulus Gauge. Thank him for the free gas.
flyau98 is offline  
Old 11-07-2010, 06:52 AM
  #18  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,679
Default

If you disconnect the sender wire ( the one that connectes the sender to the guage, pink perhaps) the guage will read empty.
Now connect the sender wire at the tank to a good ground. The guage should read full. If it doesn't you have a bad wire, bad connection or bad guage.
If it does you have a bad connection at the tank, a bad sender, or a bad tank ground.
lostsinker is offline  
Old 11-07-2010, 10:34 AM
  #19  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: East Central Florida
Posts: 7,300
Default

Somebody posted this fuel gauge fix here before:

1) Obtain some weatherproof black plastic material. Preferably self adhering
2) Carefully measure the diameter of your marine fuel gauge
3) Using that measurement carefully cut the black plastic material obtained in step 1 to the exact same size as the face of the fuel gauge
4) Using extreme care to get a good seal place the black plastic disc obtained in step 3 over the marine fuel gauge
5) Use caution to insure a good good coverage so that nothing on the face of the gauge is visible
Seacat FL is offline  
Old 11-07-2010, 10:39 AM
  #20  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 13,052
Default

Originally Posted by Seacat FL View Post
Somebody posted this fuel gauge fix here before:
That somebody was a fool. And yes, I know that you are just joking. At least I hope that you are.

Just like folks that curse the darkness, rather than turn on a light, there are those that will curse fuel quantity systems without doing a damn thing to fix the problem.
jethro1 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread