Notices
The Boating Forum

In line fuse

Old 09-16-2020, 07:13 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 31
Received 14 Likes on 8 Posts
Default In line fuse

This may be a silly question but do you really need an in line fuse to your 2 way radio?
Old 09-16-2020, 07:14 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Loxahatchee, Florida
Posts: 341
Likes: 0
Received 191 Likes on 116 Posts
Default

Yes
Likes:
Old 09-16-2020, 07:39 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 222
Likes: 0
Received 37 Likes on 31 Posts
Default

Opposed to wiring it directly to the battery or something similar? .... you could say no but that would be for only as long as something doesn’t go wrong ... then you would likely say yes.
Old 09-16-2020, 07:51 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 316
Received 115 Likes on 78 Posts
Default

When I install my electronics I always discard the inline fuse and wire to a fuse block with the appropriate size fuse. I don't want additional points of failure and want to mainstock of only 1 type of fuse.
Likes:
Angelk, Goose77, Intoboatstuff, kgearhart, pierdude, Siwy, Stickbo and 2 others liked this post. (Show less...)
Old 09-16-2020, 08:34 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 160
Received 29 Likes on 28 Posts
Default

Here’s why you need a fuse on every circuit:


battery Lines need a fuse to main Fuse distribution blocks.
wires need to match fuse capacity so fuse blows before the wire burns. It’s not how few amps Are passing through wire. It’s how big a fire do you want onboard with wife, kids, friends etc onboard.

I agree with having the fuse block and not an inline fuse holder so I have 1 kind of fuse in various amp capacities on board. My blocks use auto blade fuses.
Likes:
Old 09-16-2020, 09:40 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 7,543
Received 813 Likes on 498 Posts
Default

You need a fuse or breaker on the B+ wire going to a radio or any other powered component for safety. Remember that a fuse or breaker protects the wiring to a component from a short that could cause a fire in a boat. Circuit protection should be sized for the wire size it has to protect and positioned as close to the power source as possible whether it is from a switch or other source.
Likes:
Old 09-17-2020, 03:55 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,711
Received 172 Likes on 137 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Xcomunic8d View Post
Here’s why you need a fuse on every circuit:


wires need to match fuse capacity so fuse blows before the wire burns. ".
You have the right idea but listed the items backward for branch applications. Wire size is based on current requirements for device(s) and then increased as applicable for voltage drop. Fuse size is used to protect cable with fuse typically being sized for devices but increased by 125% device requirements or somewhere between the rating for the device and ampacity of the conductor. Or, use 80% of the cable ampacity to make it simple unless the circuit is using a #14/#16 and very low current where 15A or 20A is too big. Then go by size required for device. This is a half decent guide for fuse selection.

https://www.bluesea.com/support/arti...20this%20range.
Old 09-22-2020, 08:11 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: FL
Posts: 433
Received 29 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Angelk View Post
This may be a silly question but do you really need an in line fuse to your 2 way radio?
Are you charging through a cigarette lighter? Aren't two-way radios wireless unless on the charger?
Old 09-23-2020, 11:15 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 189
Received 55 Likes on 30 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Angelk View Post
This may be a silly question but do you really need an in line fuse to your 2 way radio?
I get rid of the fuse and connect through the circuit breaker
Likes:
Old 09-23-2020, 08:53 PM
  #10  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 31
Received 14 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Thank you. I cut the fuse! It’s already connected to the circuit breaker.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.