Notices
The Boating Forum

Fortress anchor issues

Old 09-10-2020, 11:21 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fortress anchor issues

Bought a new Fortress anchor using the Fortress guidelines for anchor size and chain. Several different groups have done tests that show these anchors are great in soft and hard sand. I have almost hard sand in my area. The anchor always slides on the top of the sand when put down (happens at both anchor settings.) Even if I climb in shallow water and pull the chain along the bottom, it barely digs in. What's up with that?
Old 09-10-2020, 11:33 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Roads, Louisiana
Posts: 1,090
Likes: 0
Received 23 Likes on 21 Posts
Default

Look at the anchor flukes towards the base. There is a piece of aluminum that kicks the flukes in a downward position. You may have to tweek those a little. Fortress is by far the best anchor I've used.
Likes:
Old 09-10-2020, 11:39 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 8,185
Received 1,273 Likes on 705 Posts
Default

Get a steel anchor and be done with it. Known to not set well. Require too much chain.
Old 09-10-2020, 11:40 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: orlando madbeach, fl
Posts: 9,443
Received 1,718 Likes on 815 Posts
Default

Did you install the "Mud Palms"?

I did this and added more chain then recommended and have not had an issue since
https://fortressanchors.com/advantage/mud-palms/

Last edited by signmansez; 09-10-2020 at 12:07 PM.
Likes:
Old 09-10-2020, 12:10 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 8,185
Received 1,273 Likes on 705 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by signmansez View Post
Did you install the "Mud Palms"?

I did this and added more chain then recommended and have not had an issue since
https://fortressanchors.com/advantage/mud-palms/
How many feet of chain do you have?
Old 09-10-2020, 12:17 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,078
Received 201 Likes on 133 Posts
Default

We have all soft mud bottom where I am, 30 ft deep. The fortress with 10’ of chain would never grab. Switched to a delta and it grabs every time.
Likes:
Old 09-10-2020, 12:21 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 1,052
Received 769 Likes on 386 Posts
Default

Unless weight is a critical factor, there are many better options than a Fortress, or any Danforth style anchor.

A Danforth stows neatly against the hull when heaved up a hawsepipe. That's its best attribute.

Try a cheap Lewmar Claw if you want to see the difference. If I could afford a Rocna, I'd have that.

My cheap Claw is so much better that the Danforth it replaced. Fortress anchors suck.
Likes:
LMK
Old 09-10-2020, 12:26 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Seacoast NH
Posts: 6,759
Received 1,648 Likes on 750 Posts
Default

I have had 3 Fortress Anchors, they are great. But you need to have a good deal of chain, I use 10'. I am in mostly soft bottom (sand and mud). I do have issues with grass...
Old 09-10-2020, 12:36 PM
  #9  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the help. I'm not sure exactly what you mean, but it's put together properly according to the instructions. There are no adjustments that can be made other than the angle of the flukes.
Old 09-10-2020, 12:38 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Shores of Lake Mich
Posts: 749
Received 87 Likes on 52 Posts
Default

Make sure you have enough scope, these anchors don't set at 3:1 like a Bruce or Rocna will, but you can set them and then shorten up.

Fortress makes excellent anchors. I have used them for 25 years in sand, mud, and occasionally weeds.

I have 40' of chain and 250' of line on my current set up and it holds my 28' boat in anything.

Most of the bad rap that people throw at Fortress are from too little chain, too little scope, and anchoring at 5 knots, that's where the Bruce, Delta, CQR are more tolerant. But they don't hold as well in sand or mud.
Old 09-10-2020, 01:03 PM
  #11  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

[QUOTE=signmansez;14036198]Did you install the "Mud Palms"?

I did this and added more chain then recommended and have not had an issue since
----------------------------------------------

Yes, but based on your comment and others, it sounds like more chain may do the trick. Thanks for the link!
Old 09-10-2020, 01:28 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,294
Received 86 Likes on 66 Posts
Default

My Fortress anchor has been a solid performer for several decades.

This sets incredibly well, burying itself plus many feet of rode deep into the seabed. By contrast, the plow anchor installed by the factory could never be buried up to the shackle.

The only issue I had was from my attempt to set into massive boulders. The manufacturer replaced the bent parts under their lifetime warranty.
Likes:
Old 09-10-2020, 03:01 PM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
fireisland1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 6,007
Received 3,300 Likes on 1,446 Posts
Default

They are finicky at best. Work great on soft sand,mud. You have to let then set at a very slow rate. If you back down fast , they skid. I would never ever sleep on one. Just not trustworthy. I use a Rocna and has never failed to set in any condition.
Old 09-10-2020, 03:13 PM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: St Augustine, Fl
Posts: 1,082
Received 390 Likes on 191 Posts
Default

Used Fortress for many trips and many nights on the hook......loved every one of them and still using them.
Once in a blue moon I may have to try setting twice but that is very rare. And I use nowhere near the recommended length of chain.
They do struggle in the heavy grass beds over in Steinhatchee if strong wind but almost everyone's anchors do too.


Old 09-10-2020, 03:50 PM
  #15  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Palm Harbor, FL.
Posts: 453
Received 113 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

I've been using Fortress with 30 feet of chain for years on a windlass. Works great, except for heavy sea grass.
Old 09-10-2020, 03:57 PM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: LBI NJ
Posts: 3,007
Received 954 Likes on 557 Posts
Default

You need to add more and heavier chain. Fo me the only issue was I kept bending them. They told me to set the anchor with two ropes...1 to break it free.

I've never used it since. Think I should dig it out and sell it!!
Old 09-10-2020, 04:39 PM
  #17  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 103
Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

Hard mud/sand or oyster shell mud you need a c-claw and be done.
Likes:
Old 09-10-2020, 04:49 PM
  #18  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Virginia
Posts: 133
Received 40 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

I absolutely love my Fortress. It is an FX-11 and has 15’ of 1/4” proof coil chain and 300’ of 1/2” New England three strand anchor line. However, getting it to set properly in hard sand/clay is very difficult and often will pull out if the current shifts.

I’ve debated trying another anchor in these conditions but have not made the move yet.
Old 09-10-2020, 06:10 PM
  #19  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 314
Likes: 0
Received 65 Likes on 41 Posts
Default

i used the fortress for a couple years. always wondered why i sucked at anchoring. bought a c-claw and it sets every time unlike the fortress. as a test, i kept adding more chain to the fortress setup to help it stick better. by the time i got the fortress to be in the same conversation with the c-claw the fortress and chain combe weighed much more than the c-claw setup weighed. so... why pay for a light weight anchor when you need add so much weight in chain to make it set well enough to depend on. didn't make any sense then and doesn't now. this is my experience and certainly may not match everyone elses.
Old 09-10-2020, 06:14 PM
  #20  
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location:
Posts: 4,986
Received 1,075 Likes on 533 Posts
Default

Fortress isn’t great on hard sand and soft mud

Last edited by wangotango321; 09-10-2020 at 06:15 PM. Reason: Spelling

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.