Notices
The Boating Forum

F225 only runs with throttle

Old 08-10-2020, 11:17 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Bradenton Fl
Posts: 76
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default F225 only runs with throttle

2004 F225 won't start unless I give it at least a small amount of throttle. As soon as you pull the throttle back it dies immediately. VST is clean I have not tested psi at fuel rail but there's enough pressure you will get soaked if you press Schrader valve. I pulled the F filter off of the inlet of the vst and have tons of pressure. Thinking about taking the check valve off my other motor and testing but before I go to far I would appreciate nay thoughts or suggestions.
Old 08-10-2020, 11:28 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 7,951
Received 1,452 Likes on 1,110 Posts
Default

the throttle lever only controls the amount of air the engine gets:
it opens the shutters in the throttle bodies.

Moving the throttle lever has no effect on the fuel rail pressure,
or any other part of the fuel system.
Likes:
Old 08-10-2020, 11:30 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Central Florida, East Coast
Posts: 460
Received 108 Likes on 75 Posts
Default

Something similar happened to my starboard motor. I have twin Suzuki DF200s and when it happened it through a 3-1 code. I limped the 30 miles back in on one motor and found that the problem as an IAC valve. Not sure if the Yammie has something similar or if it would even sound an alarm like the Suzuki, but thought I would share just in case. It seems like this type of things is fairly common, especially on boats that idle a lot. IAC = Idle Air Control. I did learn after I got back in and docked that I could have simply used the shift bypass and started the boat giving it some gas and could have come back in on both motors.

Live and learn.
Old 08-10-2020, 11:37 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 395
Received 154 Likes on 89 Posts
Default

There's a great video that goes through the entire fuel system of your engine here;


Might have a clue or two to help.
Old 08-10-2020, 12:13 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Bradenton Fl
Posts: 76
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Idle air control would make sense as it seems to be a lack of air at idle. Thanks all for your responses. I will hook up the laptop and see what I can find out
Old 08-10-2020, 01:07 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Bradenton Fl
Posts: 76
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Solved! Frog bite was correct, it was a bad Idle air control. Thanks Frogbite and thanks to Fwpratt for making me think about the lack of air.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.