Notices
The Boating Forum

Chinese Wire

Old 05-30-2020, 03:40 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Spartanburg, SC
Posts: 2,381
Received 262 Likes on 143 Posts
Default Chinese Wire

I stumbled on this while working with a backup camera from China. The wire is very magnetic!

Old 05-30-2020, 03:58 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 6,484
Received 1,781 Likes on 992 Posts
Default

Typical, I recently bought a "brass" tap to replace one outside, it was cheap, made in China, after about 3 months it rusted to bits, I have since replaced it with a known brand one.
Old 05-30-2020, 04:29 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: N.E. CT
Posts: 3,633
Received 1,431 Likes on 734 Posts
Default

There are legitimate applications for using copper clad steel conductors. It does not necessarily = cheap, but in this situation,..... it might.
It can be used in applications where there are concerns about tensile strength.
Old 05-30-2020, 05:05 PM
  #4  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 29
Received 11 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Reason #998,982 why you should buy things made in America. China is crap in all regards.
Likes:
Old 05-30-2020, 05:24 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: N.E. CT
Posts: 3,633
Received 1,431 Likes on 734 Posts
Default

Not going to disagree on some points, however, if this is simply a back up camera I wouldn’t say this makes it crap.
If a backup camera is put in an application where the life expectancy is ten years, and copper conductors will last 40, and copper clad steel will last 20, is that crap? Some would call it appropriate designing for the application.
Do you want me charging you money for something you will never use?

I believe Copper clad steel may also be less prone to work hardening than straight copper (if I remember correctly, I don’t design it in so I don’t work with it), so this may actually outlive straight copper.
Old 05-30-2020, 05:34 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,999
Received 1,319 Likes on 828 Posts
Default

If the wire is used in higher frequency applications there could be a very valid reason for designing it that way.
Old 05-30-2020, 05:51 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: N.E. CT
Posts: 3,633
Received 1,431 Likes on 734 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Aliboy View Post
If the wire is used in higher frequency applications there could be a very valid reason for designing it that way.
good point. If is at all high frequency the signal is using “skin effect”, so the center if each strand isn’t doing anything anyway.
Old 05-30-2020, 07:40 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Spartanburg, SC
Posts: 2,381
Received 262 Likes on 143 Posts
Default

Original poster here -
This system was for my van which I occasionally use for towing. I wanted a camera/display that I could just drop right in and use to hook up the trailer. What I failed to realize was that this system required the camera at the back end to be hot and the display at the front end to be hot as well - both independently. So I ran a double speaker wire from the display power, back to power the camera. This worked fine on the bench, so I sanitized/soldered the connections and put the wires in a loom so it would be simple to get power from only the camera end. After all the work, the display would not come online. I thought I'd done something wrong, so I started over. I started by using dual power supplies - one for the camera and one for the display. Things looked good. Then using jumpers, I jumped the power from the display to the camera and unhooked the secondary power. Great, everything worked well. Nice picture from the camera. So now I knew I could power the camera from the display power source. Again I soldered the twisted connections and installed the system in the van. I hung the camera off the license plate and plugged in the power to the display/camera to power both ends....nothing. There's something I don't understand here - with the wires twisted together and apart from each other, the system works fine. When I try to 'sanitize' the wiring it refuses to work. Could these Chinese wires be the cause?

Anyway, I'll eat the $35 for the old system and buy a $39 one that's advertised as single power source.
Old 05-30-2020, 07:51 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 231
Received 76 Likes on 50 Posts
Default

What do you mean by sanitize, what are you doing?
Old 05-30-2020, 07:56 PM
  #10  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Alabama/Florida
Posts: 16
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default

I worked for an aviation company which had a military contract for electrical components. We sourced in China, Taiwan, and Vietnam, and it is possible to get whatever level of quality you want. X-Rays on castings, and material composition and hardness analysis, are all available, but as was said earlier, some systems don’t require that. As far as lamenting US manufacturing, we’ll just have to get over it. Many types of manufacturing are gone, and likely forever. As an example, companies that made brushes for electrical motors were all sued out of business over cancer and environmental damages, and just try to find some components like US made diodes. I got over it a long time ago. Even my “Hog” speaks a little Cantonese, if you know what I mean.
Old 05-30-2020, 08:38 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: N.E. CT
Posts: 3,633
Received 1,431 Likes on 734 Posts
Default

I don’t really understand what you are saying here “ with the wires twisted together and apart from each other, the system works fine”. Which wires are twisted together? Do you mean you are creating a twisted pair for the whole length, or do you mean you are just making twisted connections somewhere?
And yes, what do you mean by “sanitized”?

Did you check the camera end to see that you have 12v there?
Old 05-30-2020, 08:41 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: N.E. CT
Posts: 3,633
Received 1,431 Likes on 734 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ChopperDr View Post
I worked for an aviation company which had a military contract for electrical components. We sourced in China, Taiwan, and Vietnam, and it is possible to get whatever level of quality you want. X-Rays on castings, and material composition and hardness analysis, are all available, but as was said earlier, some systems don’t require that. As far as lamenting US manufacturing, we’ll just have to get over it. Many types of manufacturing are gone, and likely forever. As an example, companies that made brushes for electrical motors were all sued out of business over cancer and environmental damages, and just try to find some components like US made diodes. I got over it a long time ago. Even my “Hog” speaks a little Cantonese, if you know what I mean.
yes,.... and as much as people say “bring jobs back here” and want “made in America”, truth is the majority of Americans wouldn’t pay for it.
Old 05-31-2020, 03:57 AM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: greenville,sc
Posts: 578
Received 37 Likes on 28 Posts
Default

I go out of my way to NOT buy Chinese. Unfortunately, it's hard to do.
Likes:
Old 05-31-2020, 10:31 AM
  #14  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Spartanburg, SC
Posts: 2,381
Received 262 Likes on 143 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by NedLloyd View Post
I don’t really understand what you are saying here “ with the wires twisted together and apart from each other, the system works fine”. Which wires are twisted together? Do you mean you are creating a twisted pair for the whole length, or do you mean you are just making twisted connections somewhere?
And yes, what do you mean by “sanitized”?

Did you check the camera end to see that you have 12v there?
On the bench, I added the power to the camera via a pair of speaker wires from the power to the display. I just twisted the ends of the wires together to see if it would work, no solder. When I found out it did work, I soldered the wires, using heat-shrink tubes as insulation. I put all the wires in a loom so it was a 'sanitary' run to the back, rather than a loose video wire and two power wires. Now that this was done, the display didn't work any longer, but the lights on the camera did light up.

I ordered the 'wired' system thinking that all I would have to do is plug the cigarette lighter gizmo in the dash and things would work. I wanted a system I could use in different vehicles without having to mess with power connections at the back of the vehicle. But this is not the case with the one I bought. It has to be powered both at the display and at the back end=camera. Running power from the display to the camera doesn't work. Evidently there some kind of interference when all the wires are close together? I found one that advertised needing only a single power source at the dash via the cigarette lighter plug. We'll see how it works.

Old 05-31-2020, 07:25 PM
  #15  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 718
Likes: 0
Received 104 Likes on 69 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by willtim View Post
I go out of my way to NOT buy Chinese. Unfortunately, it's hard to do.
Yes, me too, I'll pay more I could care less as long as it's made in America!! As long as people are looking for the cheapest products out there there will alway be a China!!
Old 05-31-2020, 08:17 PM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: N.E. CT
Posts: 3,633
Received 1,431 Likes on 734 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jeffnick View Post
On the bench, I added the power to the camera via a pair of speaker wires from the power to the display. I just twisted the ends of the wires together to see if it would work, no solder. When I found out it did work, I soldered the wires, using heat-shrink tubes as insulation. I put all the wires in a loom so it was a 'sanitary' run to the back, rather than a loose video wire and two power wires. Now that this was done, the display didn't work any longer, but the lights on the camera did light up.

I ordered the 'wired' system thinking that all I would have to do is plug the cigarette lighter gizmo in the dash and things would work. I wanted a system I could use in different vehicles without having to mess with power connections at the back of the vehicle. But this is not the case with the one I bought. It has to be powered both at the display and at the back end=camera. Running power from the display to the camera doesn't work. Evidently there some kind of interference when all the wires are close together? I found one that advertised needing only a single power source at the dash via the cigarette lighter plug. We'll see how it works.
it does sound like an interference issue with the power pair causing problems with the data (camera) wires.
What sort of wires are therefor the camera? Did they come with the kit?
Depending on what the camera signal wires are you might try unsoldering one end of the camera power wires (the speaker wire you used). And twisting it s good bit, maybe one twist every 3-4 inches and see if that does something. I’m surprised low voltage DC power wires would cause that big a problem even over that short a distance.
Old 05-31-2020, 09:13 PM
  #17  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location:
Posts: 960
Received 819 Likes on 363 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ChopperDr View Post
I worked for an aviation company which had a military contract for electrical components. We sourced in China, Taiwan, and Vietnam, and it is possible to get whatever level of quality you want. X-Rays on castings, and material composition and hardness analysis, are all available, but as was said earlier, some systems don’t require that. As far as lamenting US manufacturing, we’ll just have to get over it. Many types of manufacturing are gone, and likely forever. As an example, companies that made brushes for electrical motors were all sued out of business over cancer and environmental damages, and just try to find some components like US made diodes. I got over it a long time ago. Even my “Hog” speaks a little Cantonese, if you know what I mean.
Do you mean this kind of hog?...

Or this kind?...
Name:  540x360.jpg
Views: 151
Size:  49.8 KB
Old 05-31-2020, 10:04 PM
  #18  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Alabama/Florida
Posts: 16
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default

Two shots, two kills.

Semper Fi

“talkin' about it and bein' it - that's two different things.”
George

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.