Notices
The Boating Forum

Cost to patch up transducer hole?

Old 01-04-2020, 12:24 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,782
Received 177 Likes on 98 Posts
Default Cost to patch up transducer hole?

Somebody put a faring block in for the transducer on my boat so it sits down at 0 degrees, but it also sticks out on the bottom of the boat 1.5" or so and I think this effect the reading and causes it to lose the bottom. They also made the hole slightly bigger than the transducer itself. I forgot why, but I believe that is how some require you to install it. I also 5200 it in the who the block like an idiot thinking the sealant would last longer and I wouldn't need another on for as long as I owned the boat. I think someone just needs to hole saw it out of there so I can't put a different one in that's flush mounted. What would it cost to patch up the hole and re drill for the proper size?
Old 01-04-2020, 03:30 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Kent Island, MD
Posts: 530
Likes: 0
Received 957 Likes on 597 Posts
Default

Had Mine done it cost me $250.00
Old 01-04-2020, 10:20 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,782
Received 177 Likes on 98 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by GWHeartly View Post
Had Mine done it cost me $250.00
why did you have it patched up? Move it to a new location?
Old 01-04-2020, 12:16 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Palm Beach Gardens FL
Posts: 1,626
Received 359 Likes on 194 Posts
Default

Like any job there are a dozen ways to do it. Since it's usually a fairly big hole that could sink a boat I like to grind a large taper inside and out. 7 layers of 17.08 bi-axial outside and 5 inside, laminated with epoxy. For a 2 inch hole the perimeter of the repair should be around 5 to 6 inches. If the hull thickness is more than 12 layers then you can fill the difference with epoxy and cab-o-sil. The repair is then faired and sealed with 4 coats of Interprotect. The cost, depending on the access, is usually between 350 and 400 bucks.
Likes:
Old 01-04-2020, 01:33 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Newport, RI & Key West, FL
Posts: 4,205
Received 444 Likes on 204 Posts
Default

Not sure the diameter but if reasonable take the ducer out and replace with a thru hull for a/another washdown or livewell intake
Old 01-04-2020, 01:46 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 11,989
Received 1,069 Likes on 570 Posts
Default

What unit and at what speed does it lose bottom?
Old 01-04-2020, 06:20 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,782
Received 177 Likes on 98 Posts
Default

Usually shallow depths when you actually need it and it's intermittent as far as whether or not it works.
Old 01-04-2020, 06:29 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern Neck, VA
Posts: 5,888
Received 2,299 Likes on 1,140 Posts
Default

The fairing block and hole is not why it loses bottom.

Check ground wire. What transducer which sonar unit?
Old 01-04-2020, 06:34 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,782
Received 177 Likes on 98 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by rocksandblues View Post
The fairing block and hole is not why it loses bottom.

Check ground wire. What transducer which sonar unit?
Lawrence hook 5 and I'm not sure which transducer. It was about 150 dollars.
Old 01-04-2020, 07:32 PM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lindenhurst, New York
Posts: 8,480
Received 1,257 Likes on 666 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by fishmaster273 View Post
Lawrence hook 5 and I'm not sure which transducer. It was about 150 dollars.
there is a reason people pay a lot more money for transducers, but even expensive ones don’t work 100% of the time
Old 01-05-2020, 09:28 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Sandy Hook Area, NJ
Posts: 276
Received 81 Likes on 57 Posts
Default

I removed a transducer with a large fairing block on my deep vee hull. It was not reading bottom at any speed over 7 kts. The old transducer was mounted near the prop shaft and it was performing poorly. I contacted the manufacturer of my boat and they told me to put my new 20 deg. tilted element transducer right in front of my starboard motor mount. It has performed flawlessly in that location. I get a solid bottom reading at all speeds.

Anyway, I had the hole from the old transducer filled by our local fiberglass guy and it was about $200, winter rates. Don't be afraid to call Albermarle for suggestions on where and how to mount a new transducer. They are very helpful.
Old 01-05-2020, 12:30 PM
  #12  
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 35
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

In CA, 10 years ago I had a 2" hole fixed for $600. It was in a halfway accessible area. No exterior color match. The shop would not have done it again for that price.

If you want it to be as reliable as the surrounding hull, there is no quick-easy way to do it and it can't be done by someone without a LOT of knowledge about what they are doing. I am not a fiberglass person, but if you figure it's a multi-step process and the time to set up and clean up each time, prepare the repair area, and a $100 shop rate, no way less than $500. Add $400 for color match on the outside. These I would believe are minimum what a shop would charge if the are competent and also do not want to go broke.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.