Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > The Boating Forum
Reload this Page >

New hour meter, leave non working and add new or replace?

Notices
The Boating Forum

New hour meter, leave non working and add new or replace?

Old 07-08-2019, 08:51 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern Ohio
Posts: 15,873
Received 1,832 Likes on 976 Posts
Default New hour meter, leave non working and add new or replace?

I just noticed that my hour gauge quit working, it must not have survive the winter because I know it was working last season. I checked the wiring and everything appears to be fine electrically. I'm wondering if I should leave the old meter in and add a new one because I do have a blank space in my dash, basically I'm thinking if I ever sell the boat the buyer can see that I'm not trying to fudge the hours. The other option would be to replace the old meter with a new one but keep the old one.

Is one or the other a more proper way of doing it?
Old 07-08-2019, 09:26 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location:
Posts: 212
Received 19 Likes on 13 Posts
Default

My mechanical hour meter stopped working and I replaced it with a new digital speedometer with integrated tach. Just left the old meter in place. Now I add original hours to hours on new gauge to determine total hours.

Last edited by Bluefin Contender; 07-09-2019 at 05:00 AM.
Old 07-08-2019, 10:19 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 16,018
Received 895 Likes on 692 Posts
Default

if you remove the old one and add the new one, you can note the (XXX) orig hours in your maintenance log book but also use a label maker to put "ADD (XXX) HRS" in small font on the face of the new one.
Old 07-08-2019, 11:06 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,891
Received 203 Likes on 112 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by TTaxi View Post
if you remove the old one and add the new one, you can note the (XXX) orig hours in your maintenance log book but also use a label maker to put "ADD (XXX) HRS" in small font on the face of the new one.
I hate adding hours to a meter, drives me nuts. I like to apply 12v to the hour meter and run it up to the correct amount.
Likes:
Old 07-09-2019, 05:17 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Suburb of Sugar Tit SC
Posts: 14,346
Received 9,221 Likes on 4,978 Posts
Default

It's a 30 year old boat. Who cares? Make a note of the old one, and put in the new one. If you want to be really anal about it, put a label in the engine compartment reflecting the hours at the time of the hour meter change.
Old 07-09-2019, 06:05 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MS Gulf Coast
Posts: 280
Received 38 Likes on 28 Posts
Default

I just kept the old one so I could prove the hours.
Old 07-09-2019, 07:49 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 107
Likes: 0
Received 64 Likes on 30 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by fishmaster273 View Post
I hate adding hours to a meter, drives me nuts. I like to apply 12v to the hour meter and run it up to the correct amount.
I like this method. Makes the most sense to me. It's something I'd do.
Old 07-09-2019, 08:00 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,368
Likes: 0
Received 1,089 Likes on 619 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by fishmaster273 View Post
I hate adding hours to a meter, drives me nuts. I like to apply 12v to the hour meter and run it up to the correct amount.
if you had 1200 hours on old meter you would have to run the new one for 50 days. Seems you may wind up burning out the new meter but hell just buy another one and start all over again.
Old 07-09-2019, 08:21 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 107
Likes: 0
Received 64 Likes on 30 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Rags View Post
if you had 1200 hours on old meter you would have to run the new one for 50 days. Seems you may wind up burning out the new meter but hell just buy another one and start all over again.
I would imagine there should be a meter out there with an option to add hours to it, where replacing an existing meter. Also more likely that age rather ran run time will do the most harm to the meter. Any chemical capacitors etc in the meter will break down and possibly burst.

Last edited by jcbrown630; 07-09-2019 at 08:39 AM.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.