Notices

Lenco dual actuator tab ?

Old 04-30-2019, 06:50 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 440
Default Lenco dual actuator tab ?

Getting ready to splash for the season and my starboard tab is not working. I trouble shot through switching port to starboard behind the dash etc. so the problem lies not in the switch or control box but in the starboard actuators. My question is once I unbolted my starboard actuators (there’s 2 on each tab) one of the actuators appears to work fine and the other dead. Will one dead actuator prevent the other from moving the tab at all?
captchuck25 is online now  
Old 04-30-2019, 06:55 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 387
Default

I’d say yes. I believe they are geared to a motor so one motor not working would lock up the actuator. The other wouldn’t be able to move it.
spearfish25 is offline  
Old 05-01-2019, 08:50 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 440
Default

That makes sense. I will try ordering just one then unless someone chimes in otherwise.
captchuck25 is online now  
Old 05-01-2019, 09:00 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 364
Default

It hasn’t stopped mine. I have one on each side I need to replace.
Rferrell is offline  
Old 05-01-2019, 09:04 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 440
Default

Rferrell Huh so your tabs have two actuators on each and with one actuator totally dead the tab still functioned under the power of the other?
captchuck25 is online now  
Old 05-01-2019, 09:56 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bahrain/Houma,LA
Posts: 222
Default

I suspect Rferrell has hyd tabs or has stripped ball screws if he has Lencos. I have two actuators per tab on mine. They will not move if one is not working. They are a ball screw that require the motor to unscrew them or screw them back in. I ran mine for a little while with one actuator per tab while waiting on replacements.
getusummm is offline  
Old 05-01-2019, 10:02 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 364
Default

They work. Seems to not work 100% like they won’t tab 100% all the way down but will 80%. One separates and the other one I cut the wire on. Just haven’t gotten around to ordering replacements. I figured the pressure on the tab is what wouldn’t allow it to tab down all the way
Rferrell is offline  
Old 05-01-2019, 10:59 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: nj
Posts: 120
Default

I have same set up. will not work if one actuator is broken. replace broken one and should be fine.
eastcoastrigs is offline  
Old 05-01-2019, 03:15 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 440
Default

Thanks for the responses guys that confirms my thoughts!
captchuck25 is online now  
Old 05-27-2019, 04:51 PM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 44
Default Actuator wire

can the old wire be connected to the new actuator or do I need to run the new wire connected to the replacement actuator through the hull and find the connection? Thanks
greguf is offline  
Old 05-27-2019, 05:16 PM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 440
Default

The new actuator only came with a 6’ lead so I cut the but connector off and used butt connectors / shrink wrap etc to connect.
olus running the wire with the original end connector would have been impossible through the hull
captchuck25 is online now  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread