View Single Post
Old 03-17-2019, 04:40 PM
ProppedUp
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member

Originally Posted by MikeeBooshay View Post
ProppedUP, thanks for posting that write up.

I do have a question for you. Noticing that the stick shaker is active most of the last half of the flight, how disconcerting would that be to a relatively inexperienced pilot? I would think that his training instinct is that " shaking stick = bad things, ie stall warning", would/could that have clouded his OODA loop somewhat, resulting in him doing things to correct a stall condition, but without recognizing that he didn't really have the condition present?

I am not a professional aviator, but have been around enough to know that it is drummed into a pilot from day one, stalls are bad OK, don't stall the plane? Seems like that there enough other data present and not considered by the pilot, we will never know, what he was thinking in the last few minutes.
In my experience the only time (except once, I'll explain later) the shaker goes of is in training and there are many other things you usually sense going wrong before it goes off. For example it gets real quiet (wind noise) which is not normal and is accompanied by low airspeed one may pick up on. Pitch changes. As you slow down your AOA increases assuming your in level or near level flight so your seat of the pants feel will tell you something ain't right because you are for a lack of a better way of describing it leaning back in your seat when you shouldn't be.