The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   >
Search


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-17-2017, 07:10 PM   #1
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location:
Posts: 223
Default NSS Evo2 Structure Scan

Fellas,

I just got an NSS Evo2 with Total Scan and thru hull transducers. Love the unit, but I'm struggling to get my side scan and down scan working. With side scan, all I get is a thin line down the middle of the screen with no detail whatsoever. I've tried adjusting the width and playing with the menu options, but no luck. On down scan, I just get a black screen. I've gone through the manual, but I can't find anything. Any suggestions? Thanks for any and all help.
shorebound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2017, 08:03 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Summerland Key
Posts: 401
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shorebound View Post
Fellas,

I just got an NSS Evo2 with Total Scan and thru hull transducers. Love the unit, but I'm struggling to get my side scan and down scan working. With side scan, all I get is a thin line down the middle of the screen with no detail whatsoever. I've tried adjusting the width and playing with the menu options, but no luck. On down scan, I just get a black screen. I've gone through the manual, but I can't find anything. Any suggestions? Thanks for any and all help.

Steve
Make sure the Transducer Installation setting is selected for TOTALSCAN
If it anything else is selected besides that it wont work.
Egret&Lab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2017, 10:36 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 11,052
Default

NSS Evo2 is supporting TotalScan OR a CHIRP transducer AND LSS-2 StructureScan, it won't support TotalScan AND a CHIRP transducer.
abbor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 05:26 AM   #4
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 257
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Egret&Lab View Post
Make sure the Transducer Installation setting is selected for TOTALSCAN
If it anything else is selected besides that it wont work.
If you do not see the totalscan transducer in the list you need to do an update.
rippinlips0148 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 01:44 PM   #5
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 10,965
Default

Just as Abbor describes, my original setup of NSS Evo 2's , B175H-W (CHIRP) with Sonar Hub and TotalScan would not allow the TotalScan to work even though the factory techs had initially said it should.

So the TotalScan and Sonar Hub was swapped out under warranty for the SS3D Module and SS3D T/D and now the B175 and SS3D work fine ( with one active at a time until the promised SW allowing both active is finally made available.)

I do have Totalscan too, though, but it is only connected to the Go7XSE on the tower, and that sonar is independent of the NSS Evo 2's..

I've also found TotalScan and SS3D T/D mounting position is pretty critical: just a little too high or too low will negate any sonar functionality at cruise speed , but will work well except for scan functions if positioned "just right". Obviously the scan function isn't intended for cruise speed.

For that reason especially, I recommend anyone consider installing a larger , thick mounting board of poly on the transom and install the T/D's with short enough screws to just prevent penetration into gelcoat, with room on the board to adjust with new holes if needed to move beyond slot range. .
The 3rd positioning of the T/D's height made ALL the difference for me. ( Filled the 1st & 2nd sets of holes with Life Caulk. )
TTaxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 02:47 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 11,052
Default

Lowrance has introduced a Y-cable such that HST-WSBL and LSS-2 can be used instead of TotalScan such that the normal 2D transducer can be mounted in an optimum position. I've read it's only available bundled with Lowrance or sold in a kit with both transducers. I think the Y-adapter only can be used with HST-WSBL. It will then look like a TotalScan from the sounder electronics.
abbor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 04:43 PM   #7
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location:
Posts: 223
Default

Thanks guys. Updated the software and the total scan transducer now appears as an option. Side scan is now working. Do I need to toggle back to the Airmar if I want to use the thru hull? Thanks again all.
shorebound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 05:08 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 11,052
Default

If it's Airmar CHIRP it can't be connected at booting when using TotalScan. The XID of the Airmar would be detected and it would be impossible to select TotalScan in the transducer installation menu.

If it's a fixed 50/200 kHz transducer you can switch between the two in the installation menu.
abbor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 07:56 PM   #9
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location:
Posts: 223
Default

Thanks Abbor. The thru hull is an Airmar B60. I was hoping that the EVO2 would automatically default to the B60 when I used Echo and then automatically switch to the Total Scan when I pushed Structure. Toggling between transducers on the Installation menu sounds like a pain.
shorebound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 08:23 PM   #10
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Pensacola
Posts: 22
Default

....
L12Lieutenant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 01:49 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 11,052
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shorebound View Post
Thanks Abbor. The thru hull is an Airmar B60. I was hoping that the EVO2 would automatically default to the B60 when I used Echo and then automatically switch to the Total Scan when I pushed Structure. Toggling between transducers on the Installation menu sounds like a pain.
You should have bought LSS-2, not TotalScan.

Evo2 is not compatible with having two 2D transducers connected, what I described is a possible workaround which I think should work but I'm not sure since I don't have a TotalScan.

B60 don't have XID, if it had it would for sure not have been possible to combine it with TotalScan.

Evo2 is intended for a 2D transducer and LSS-2 StructureScan or TotalScan.
abbor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 09:03 AM   #12
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location:
Posts: 223
Default

Played with his morning and I'm pleased with the setup. I'll just toggle back to the B60 when running at speed and switch to the total scan when looking for structure and fishing. Thanks all. Very much appreciated.
shorebound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 11:26 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 11,052
Default

Very good, I hoped changing the setting in the installation menu would work but I wasn't sure since I don't have a TotalScan transducer.
abbor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 12:24 PM   #14
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location:
Posts: 223
Default

Abbor, thanks for the help. I'm coming from a RayC series that was a decade old and the changes have been overwhelming. I owe you a beer and fishing trip when you're next in NY.
shorebound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 07:06 PM   #15
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Southeast Alaska
Posts: 4,542
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TTaxi View Post
Just as Abbor describes, my original setup of NSS Evo 2's , B175H-W (CHIRP) with Sonar Hub and TotalScan would not allow the TotalScan to work even though the factory techs had initially said it should.

So the TotalScan and Sonar Hub was swapped out under warranty for the SS3D Module and SS3D T/D and now the B175 and SS3D work fine ( with one active at a time until the promised SW allowing both active is finally made available.)

I do have Totalscan too, though, but it is only connected to the Go7XSE on the tower, and that sonar is independent of the NSS Evo 2's..

I've also found TotalScan and SS3D T/D mounting position is pretty critical: just a little too high or too low will negate any sonar functionality at cruise speed , but will work well except for scan functions if positioned "just right". Obviously the scan function isn't intended for cruise speed.

For that reason especially, I recommend anyone consider installing a larger , thick mounting board of poly on the transom and install the T/D's with short enough screws to just prevent penetration into gelcoat, with room on the board to adjust with new holes if needed to move beyond slot range. .
The 3rd positioning of the T/D's height made ALL the difference for me. ( Filled the 1st & 2nd sets of holes with Life Caulk. )
I would be interested in your opinion of my transducer mount, water testing is still a ways away.
Total scan transducer mount
thank you, Gerald
commuter boats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 10:06 PM   #16
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 10,965
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by commuter boats View Post
I would be interested in your opinion of my transducer mount, water testing is still a ways away.
Total scan transducer mount
thank you, Gerald
Can't really say what is going to work best on your boat , but will note that I believe my transom mounts were at least a little higher.

My boat's transom deadrise is 20* ( maybe 22*?) and the height which worked best for me had approx . 1/3 of the cross-section (lower outer corner) exposed below the plane of the hull. Any more than that and water flow would also go over the outer edge of the T/D , disrupting smooth flow past the t/D lower and side surfaces.

Even so, I ended up making new screw holes and filling old ones to lower, then raise, the T/D brackets. to attain good usable results.
Much of that is because the screws used by the boatyard for original too high installation were of greater diameter( for holding strength ) than bracket slot width because they were shorter so as to not penetrate the gel coat . ( Bracket could not slide on the screws)

Mine is a twin I/B with prop pockets which... tend... to protect the 2 T/M T/Ds from prop wash. And the T/Ds are mounted just to either side of the garboard drain plug and about where there are what look like O/B flotation-bracket bolts in your pic.

Bracket outboards would not have any potential prop wash issues for your mounting spot so it's just possible "perfect" height is less critical on your hull, dunno.

Looks like you put some good work into mounting yours. Hope you find the sweet spot.
TTaxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:05 AM.


©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.9.3.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.