The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   >
Search


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-20-2017, 07:24 AM   #1
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 34
Default Simrad and battery connections

I recently purchased a boat and right now it only has one battery. The starting battery. At this time, there is no trolling motor but I plan to get one in the future. I know that needs to go on a deep cycle battery. With that said, should my Simrad Go7 be on the deep cycle battery as well? Any harm on it currently being on the starting battery for the time being?
mfrankoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 07:58 AM   #2
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 409
Default

When possible I would always put electronics on a separate house battery. When starting your engine there is a surge in power to the engine that could affect anything on that same circuit. I have a friend with Furuno package in a 37 Riviera if motors are off and he goes to restart all electronics shut down and reboot. Not sure how he's wired or if it's a furuno thing. I have seen it with Furuno on other boats also.

I am sure it's a safety issue that Furuno has built in, I would imagine other manufactures have the same safety precautions
Papa "J" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 08:16 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,972
Default

You trolling motor probably won't be 12v so it likly can't go on trolling battery.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 08:21 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,296
Default

the world is full of boats operated satisfactorily with one battery and a gps/fish finder device.

The only "harm" is that of running down the battery if used long enough with the engine off.

The drop in battery voltage (not a "surge in power") that occurs while the starter motor is running can sometimes cause a device to shut down on "low voltage" - but usually only If the electrical wiring is substandard or the battery weak.
Fwpratt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 09:46 AM   #5
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 423
Default

I am rewiring my house/start battery right now because of this. As wired by installer everything is either on battery 1, battery two, or both.

On occasion, when I start the motor, it'll pull the voltage down far enough to cause my Lowrance HDS unit to reboot.

The boat is 12 years old. Only became an issue for me as second owner because I put more sophisticated electronics on board. First owner never perceived a problem.
JiminAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:08 PM.


©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.9.3.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.