The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   >
Search


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-19-2017, 04:04 PM   #1
Admirals Club
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Mobile
Posts: 1,502
Default Simrad Go9

I am way overdue an electronics upgrade. I am thinking the Simrad Go 9, may be a good fit. I want to flush mount and use it to replace my current gauges for '13 Optimatx. It will be primarily used for navigation & engine monitoring on 22' Walkaround. I am wondering if anyone has experience using this unit to replace gauges, approximate all in cost with unit, flush mount, transducer, chart chip,, and hardware for NMEA 2000 interface. Would probably use local installer as is more than I would want to deal with, any guesstimate on install price?
Slamdancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 04:36 PM   #2
Admirals Club
THT sponsor
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 4,631
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Product costs depends on where you buy it. Some charge retail across the board. Approx. 6-8 hours to complete the installation and setup.
InternationalMarineBrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 05:40 PM   #3
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Tabor City, North Carolina
Posts: 543
Default

I had my simrad go 9 and nmea 2k backbone installed a few weeks ago. My head unit was flush mounted. I was charged close to $300. Mind you, I didn't have them pull the cable from my engine to my nmea 2k backbone. I'll do that myself. I imagine removing the old gauges would add a little bit of time, but I can't imagine it would take long. I kind of thought $300 seemed high. They had once quoted me $160 to install a gamin unit and stern mount transducer. Another guy quoted me $150 for the flush mount and transducer install. The nmea 2k backbone is a simple install. I should have installed the backbone myself and saved myself some coin. Next year, I hope to add radar to my set up.
Eightofnine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 06:14 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Summerland Key
Posts: 401
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slamdancer View Post
I am way overdue an electronics upgrade. I am thinking the Simrad Go 9, may be a good fit. I want to flush mount and use it to replace my current gauges for '13 Optimatx. It will be primarily used for navigation & engine monitoring on 22' Walkaround. I am wondering if anyone has experience using this unit to replace gauges, approximate all in cost with unit, flush mount, transducer, chart chip,, and hardware for NMEA 2000 interface. Would probably use local installer as is more than I would want to deal with, any guesstimate on install price?

I don't recommend flush mounting unless you have a larger console on a sizeable bayboat, particuarly if you intend to rely on the unit for navigation.
Much better to put it on an adjustable mount that can be configured to any angle and condition. Also, when you change units again in the future, you wont have to mess with addressing the hole which probably wont match.
Flush mount would be particularly troublesome with the GO series which loads a micro chips from the back of the unit. Can you imagine jerking around up under your console on the water to load or remove or reboot a micro chip? If you drop it could you find it? If you must flush mount, get the NSS which loads from the front and is much better all around. The zoom knob is totally worth the difference alone.
Egret&Lab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 06:31 PM   #5
Admirals Club
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Mobile
Posts: 1,502
Default

I had read about the card slot, and don't believ I would be changing cards. I primarily boat the same area which should be covered by 1 chip. Viewing underway is a concern, not concerned about cutting dash, as this will be the last electronics upgrade I perform on this boat. Here is a picture of a similar dash, should not have issue with 9" screen and maintaining current switch placement.
Slamdancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 06:34 PM   #6
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Tabor City, North Carolina
Posts: 543
Default

Picture didn't come through.
Eightofnine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 06:36 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 18
Default

I just bought a GO9 and 4G radar. To upgrade to the NSS9 you would spend about $1000 more with radar.
I also bought the N2K starter kit that goes for about 75-100 bucks.
I am not sure which engine you have but I will have fuel flow gph and then economy shown on it for range etc. I have a 340 DA and I will flush mount. the card will only need updated once a year at best.
I will plan on removing the unit in the winter anyway. The navionics card is included in your first year.
Good luck. I will do the install myself but I agree you will prob pay for a person through most of the day.
TotallyGross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 06:41 PM   #8
Admirals Club
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Mobile
Posts: 1,502
Default

Here is a picture of similar dash
Attached Images
 
Slamdancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 07:42 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Summerland Key
Posts: 401
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slamdancer View Post
I had read about the card slot, and don't believ I would be changing cards. I primarily boat the same area which should be covered by 1 chip. Viewing underway is a concern, not concerned about cutting dash, as this will be the last electronics upgrade I perform on this boat. Here is a picture of a similar dash, should not have issue with 9" screen and maintaining current switch placement.
Chartplotters are little computers. They have hard drives. They need to be rebooted and reset sometimes. You will eventually need to do that along with disengaging the chip etc. If you could put the chip you need in and leave it there forever and forget about ever touching it again it would be nice but that is not going to happen. Prepare to have to go under your console if you get the Go series and use any map chip.
Egret&Lab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 08:01 PM   #10
Admirals Club
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Mobile
Posts: 1,502
Default

The new dash panel will be screwed into place, should be able to loosen it and access without accessing from the bottom. I agree it would be difficult & great chance of dropping chip if I had to access from access under dash
Slamdancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 08:06 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,147
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Egret&Lab View Post
Chartplotters are little computers. They have hard drives. They need to be rebooted and reset sometimes. You will eventually need to do that along with disengaging the chip etc. If you could put the chip you need in and leave it there forever and forget about ever touching it again it would be nice but that is not going to happen. Prepare to have to go under your console if you get the Go series and use any map chip.
Seriously? I think youre overstating this a fair bit.

Rebooting and resetting a GO unit and most others is done without touching the chip. So that is irrelevant t the debate.

The main time to remove the chip is to update it - something most of us do at most every year or two. Or possibly if you are "into" taking screen shots and downloading them..... and that is assuming that with the GO series units built in wifi, you cant update them or share images over wifi. Which if it isnt done now, cant be far away.

Myself and many fishing colleagues have navionics chips that have been in our HDS units for many years without being touched once.

Even if access is needed once a year, access behind the dash may well be able to be accommodated in the installation.

Just sayin - lets not lose perspective on this.
Moonlighter475 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:29 PM.


©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.9.3.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.