The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   >
Search


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-16-2017, 07:29 AM   #21
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 267
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amity83 View Post
You can add the RMK-10 keypad to the Axiom which has the same buttons as the eS series. It is not entry level equipment at all, its just targeted to a certain customer. It's built in sonar is feature packed for shallow water fishing. The vast majority of fisherman don't fish offshore. High Wide Chirp sonar, DownVision, SideVision and 3D sonar all in one display with one transducer. It's fully networkable and expandable with other displays(as soon as LH3 is released to them) and radars/sounders. It has a fast new quad core processor and sleek new operating system. The transducers have gyro stabilization to clean up the 3D sonar image in choppy water... What about this is entry level to you? It may not be perfect for every boater but don't trash it just because you own something different.
Again, the sounder is great and I wish/hope there was a black box version of it.
I'm not saying the unit is not good, and I agree that it is awesome for some users out there.
These are designed to last until 2022 and the replacements for the eS and gS between now and then will establish themselves as mid and upper range units, leaving these current Axiom as the entry level. If these were told of the line they would come in larger screen sizes.
The software is also great but it will make it's way to the other current units over the summer.
Please be aware that the initial release of the software on the Axiom will not support C-Map and will not have tides built in. This should be fixed at the next release (when it also makes it to eS/gS/e/a)
I don't own something different, I install electronics on boats and know better than to own a boat myself.
MikeBador is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2017, 10:52 AM   #22
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 811
Default

The eS series doesn't have a screen bigger than 12 inch, does that make it an entry level unit? The eS is also only 1 year old, so I don't see a replacement imminent. Entry level vs top level arguments don't really apply here. There are different models that fit different customer needs. There is no one size fits all approach in these electronics as boats come in different types and sizes and boaters look for different features from their electronics.

To say that future products will eclipse this product in features is obvious and irrelevant. This unit has more features than Raymarine has ever offered and hasn't even shipped yet.

If you had to call a product entry level, the term is more reserved for dragonfly, Hook, and echomap series products. The Axiom is a very capable MFD and to refer to it as entry level seems dismissive and naive.
Amity83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 07:42 AM   #23
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 112
Default

Looks like a nice unit. The RM website provides the options for charting software but only Navionics is in their price list. Can you please tell me if the Axiom will be compatible with CMap 4D Max + chips?

Also, will it be possible to use my existing B60 transducer with the Axiom? I'm looking at one 12" and a 9"

Thanks
ollie366 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 09:47 AM   #24
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ollie366 View Post
Looks like a nice unit. The RM website provides the options for charting software but only Navionics is in their price list. Can you please tell me if the Axiom will be compatible with CMap 4D Max + chips?

Also, will it be possible to use my existing B60 transducer with the Axiom? I'm looking at one 12" and a 9"

Thanks
The link directly from the RM Axiom website does show that it will use the CMap Max+ charts.
MajSchaefer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 02:35 PM   #25
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member
THT sponsor
 
John_Madison CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Old Lyme, CT
Posts: 11,794
Default

Can you hook up the CP470/570 to this?
John_Madison CT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 04:33 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hollywood-Key Largo
Posts: 1,282
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John_Madison CT View Post
Can you hook up the CP470/570 to this?
It is my understanding you can. You can run two ducers off of it
mig888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 04:38 PM   #27
Admirals Club
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 4,149
Default

John yes you can.
InternationalMarineBrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:26 PM.


©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.9.3.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.