The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   >
Search


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-18-2017, 09:39 PM   #1
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 8
Default Anyone running Simrad StructureScan 3D with inboard twin screws?

Currently getting a bid a on a pair of NSS16 Evo3's (1 upper, 1 lower helm) w/ Halo 3 or 4 and a pair of stainless LSS-2's for sounder. The pair is necessary due to dead rise and keel. However, I'm liking the screen shots and videos I've seen of the 3D and considering it but with no available thru hull transducer (as far as I know) I'm stuck with a transom mount or flush mount just ahead of the transom. The problem I see is propwash interference and rudders obstructing transducer view since the xducer beam is so wide.
I'll post photos in a bit.
Thanks in advance to anyone with experience or knowledge of performance with a similar hull configuration.

Last edited by Boat Fever; 01-19-2017 at 04:52 AM.
Boat Fever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2017, 10:05 PM   #2
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 8
Default

Still trying to learn to load photos. (System tells me too many characters....) Looking for a mounting spot for Simrad SScan 3D tranducer that won't either be blinded by rudders and/or suffer huge interference from prop wash.
I cruise around 7-7.5 knots BTW.
Thanks
Boat Fever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2017, 10:07 PM   #3
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 8
Default still tryin photo upload

Stern below waterline from Stbd side.
Attached Images
 
Boat Fever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2017, 10:15 PM   #4
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 8
Default more hull photos

two more views
Attached Images
  
Boat Fever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2017, 06:30 PM   #5
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 10,682
Default

I have both SS 3D and a Total Scan T/D's on my 27' express T/I/B. But mine are gassers with smaller props set in prop pockets in hull with 22* transom deadrise. The rudders are also much smaller than yours (1/2?). The T/D's are mounted deep, just on either side of the garboard drain and in those positions the 1st two heights tried by the installing yard electronics tech provided no functionality of any useful kind over 5 or 6 kts, but I hauled the boat and tried once more at a height between the other 2 extremes and had finally great results even at full speed ( not structure scan which is only reasonably used at slow speed and the slower the better. ). My main CHIRP sonar T/D is a B175H-W thru hull-good at all speeds.

I can't guess at the effect of your large props prop wash ( my T/D's are somewhat protcted from that by the pockets) but I suspect your big rudders may not really be a problem since the SS3D (and scan mode of the TotalScan) look more to the side rather than forward.

I will note however , the scan functions of both SS3D and the TotalScan were not usable by the last few weeks of the NE season (Oct.) after working well since June. The T/D's were carefully cleaned U/W regularly by me , and they were in proper metal bracket angle which worked well previously. (Profe$$ionally-installed) warranty issue now, which I hope will get squared away by spring splash.
TTaxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2017, 09:15 PM   #6
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 8
Default Thanks for the feed back

Edit, sorry, duplicate response

Last edited by Boat Fever; 01-20-2017 at 07:23 AM. Reason: duplicate response
Boat Fever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2017, 09:29 PM   #7
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 8
Default Thanks for the feed back

Thanks for the feed back, TTaxi
Sorry to hear about the 3d and TotalScan issues. Hopefully it can get cleared up quickly.
One other question; Is the SS 3D xducer and module able to produce the same views as StructureScanHD, Downscan/SideScan)? Or, do I still need a Structure Scan module and xducer?
And finally, how is 3d for spotting fish in the water column within it's depth range compared to SS HD, etc.? I don't think I'll be needing to see deeper than 3-400ft.

Thanks again for your response and good luck with the xducer (or what ever component) issues.

Boat Fever
Boat Fever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2017, 10:57 PM   #8
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 10,682
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boat Fever View Post
Thanks for the feed back, TTaxi
Sorry to hear about the 3d and TotalScan issues. Hopefully it can get cleared up quickly.
One other question; Is the SS 3D xducer and module able to produce the same views as StructureScan? Or, do I still need a Structure Scan module and xducer?
And, how is 3d for spotting fish in the water column?

Thanks again for your response and good luck with the xducer (or what ever component) issues.

Boat Fever
As I recall the SS3D T/D and module can toggle between basic side scan like that of of the Total Scan as well as 3D Scan .The SS3D in basic side scan just does it a lot better, IMO, and once you get used to it the 3D Scan view is pretty slick. ( The boat has to be moving for proper view. Don't expect anything usable but the boat icon in 3D mode if the boat is at rest, but also don't think it is not working until you start moving and see the expandable scan image "wake" behind the boat icon.) . .

I'm not sure now whether SS3D has a down scan function like the TS, but I think not. But both the SS3D system and TS allow you to view both sides or just one.

SS3D does not have CHIRP or conventional/ normal sonar function either, both of which TS does have.

I don't recall ever seeing fish on either T/D's scan function though others have.
Scan is really mostly for viewing U/W structure in a somewhat more natural viewing way than normal sonar, though it does take some getting used to.

For fishing , one would certainly not want to have SS3D as their sole T/D.

I haven't tried the simpler Structure Scan system so I can't give a report on that, other than having the impression it has the same scan functions as the TotalScan TD ( and Sonar Module, if needed .).
TTaxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2017, 07:28 AM   #9
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks again,
Boat Fever
Boat Fever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2017, 04:55 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 273
Default

Talked to the simrad rep at the maimi boat show and he said they make a thru hull transducer for 3dscan but I have yet to find it or part number. Guess I should of got the part number from him.
Found it.
http://www.starmarinedepot.com/navic...FYE9gQod6mMHeg
24seachaser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2017, 07:15 PM   #11
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 10,682
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 24seachaser View Post
Talked to the simrad rep at the maimi boat show and he said they make a thru hull transducer for 3dscan but I have yet to find it or part number. Guess I should of got the part number from him.
Found it.
http://www.starmarinedepot.com/navic...FYE9gQod6mMHeg
Yes , the Simrad factory tech showed that SS3D T/H to me at the NE Boat Show. ( MFG ID: 000-13559-001 )

Unless you mount it on the keel centerline you would need one on each side and set the MFD to only read that side from each T/D.
TTaxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2017, 03:02 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 273
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TTaxi View Post
Yes , the Simrad factory tech showed that SS3D T/H to me at the NE Boat Show. ( MFG ID: 000-13559-001 )

Unless you mount it on the keel centerline you would need one on each side and set the MFD to only read that side from each T/D.
That's how my current structure/side scan transducer is mounted on the center line and seems to work fine. If you had to buy 2 that would be pricey.
24seachaser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2017, 06:51 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 832
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 24seachaser View Post
That's how my current structure/side scan transducer is mounted on the center line and seems to work fine. If you had to buy 2 that would be pricey.
Yup, the pair is $2400.
Amity83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2017, 07:07 AM   #14
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 370
Default

1st what type of fishing do you do that you want the 3D? How deep are those areas that you want 3D?
Papa "J" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2017, 12:10 PM   #15
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 24
Default

Keep in mind that besides the EVO3, you need the 3D module and transducers. This place has the thru hull tranducers and you would want it forward and as flat as possible below the planing point. https://www.universalmania.com/produ...FUmHswodqhMApg

You would want the single transducer. https://www.universalmania.com/produ...n-ss-thru-hull
nordidock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2017, 09:47 PM   #16
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nordidock View Post
Keep in mind that besides the EVO3, you need the 3D module and transducers. This place has the thru hull tranducers and you would want it forward and as flat as possible below the planing point. https://www.universalmania.com/produ...FUmHswodqhMApg

You would want the single transducer. https://www.universalmania.com/produ...n-ss-thru-hull

Oops - Do not purchase these items from my link. They processed the order and then cancelled it the next day. They said I would get a credit but a week later, there is no confirmation. Its good that I can dispute the CC charge when that come in.
nordidock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 06:58 PM   #17
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nordidock View Post
Keep in mind that besides the EVO3, you need the 3D module and transducers. This place has the thru hull tranducers and you would want it forward and as flat as possible below the planing point. https://www.universalmania.com/produ...FUmHswodqhMApg

You would want the single transducer. https://www.universalmania.com/produ...n-ss-thru-hull
I take this recommendation back. It looks like if you want the 3D StructureScan, there is only the transom mount transducer. At least, that is the only one I can find that says it is "3d". Am I wrong?
nordidock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2017, 09:02 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 832
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nordidock View Post
I take this recommendation back. It looks like if you want the 3D StructureScan, there is only the transom mount transducer. At least, that is the only one I can find that says it is "3d". Am I wrong?
You are wrong. There are new StructureScan 3D through hull transducers. $1400 for a single ducer if you have a deadrise near 0 degrees or can mount it dead center. $2400 for a pair of through hulls for steeper deadrise boats.
Amity83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2017, 09:22 AM   #19
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amity83 View Post
You are wrong. There are new StructureScan 3D through hull transducers. $1400 for a single ducer if you have a deadrise near 0 degrees or can mount it dead center. $2400 for a pair of through hulls for steeper deadrise boats.
Do you have a link or a part number? I did see Structure Scan ducers but they did not say "3D"
nordidock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2017, 09:37 AM   #20
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brielle NJ
Posts: 41
Default

I have Structure scan 3d and I converted the transom mount to the thru hull. I mounted it on the keel mid ship. The 3D is incredible I lot easier to understand then the old side scan. The 3D also has side scan and down scan option and both have worked better with the center line thru hull transducer mount. I find the 3D works best in 100ft or less but only have about 8 hours on it and I am still getting use to the readings


BYW: I have a LSS1 455/800 unit with a thur hull if anyone is interested.
billh22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:15 PM.


©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.9.3.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.