The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   >
Search


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-10-2017, 05:50 PM   #1
Admirals Club
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Chokoloskee FL, Erie PA
Posts: 82
Default Electronic help Hdmi to rca Adapter

Ok guys so i purchased an aqua vu multi vu hd underwater viewing system and i want to run it through my simrad nss 12 head unit. Not thinking i bought the aqua vu HD version and it only has an hdmi port coming off of it to hook to your tv/fishfinder. Well i have a first gen nss 12 not the gen 2 and i do not have an hdmi port. so i purchased a hdmi to rca cable, that didnt work. Then i read online you need a converter box to turn hdmi signal down to Rca so i purchased one of these online, just received it and im still not getting a signal from the camera to the television or my head unit. So just to test the box out i took an xbox hooked the hdmi from the xbox to the converter then ran rca cables from converter to my television and i had a picture, The picture was notgreat but there was a picture there. Anyone have any idea why the picture from the camera would not play? Im not very good with electronics im not sure if there is a different format that its in or what? anyone have an idea?
Snyder61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 05:55 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 203
Default

Never had any luck with rca hdmi interfaces.

They are pricey as well.

Best bet get tv / monitor with required inputs.

Sorry for the lack of help.
Trim2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 06:14 PM   #3
Admirals Club
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Chokoloskee FL, Erie PA
Posts: 82
Default

Appreciate the input, i bought the converter box off of amazon. read people have had problems with them but when i tested with the blu ray player and the xbox i got picture from both of those. very frustrating
Snyder61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 08:01 PM   #4
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 149
Default

Best bet is to call simrad before buying anything else or spending time pulling your hair out. They should be able to help.
Bhall1116 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 03:08 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 36
Default

The M7 display inputs HDMI, I use it for SonarChart testing with Vexilar SonarPhone and with Aqua-Vu Multi-Vu HD. The screen is good in sunlight.
http://argonaut.mobi/products/m7-smart-touch-monitor
Doc Samson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 04:25 AM   #6
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fairhope, Al
Posts: 1,563
Default

I bought one at radio shack for about $19. Works great from a fusion av750 to rca on a tv.
rarebreed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 04:34 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 203
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rarebreed View Post
I bought one at radio shack for about $19. Works great from a fusion av750 to rca on a tv.
🤔

My friend bought a RCA to HDMI and converter to play Nintendo NEC in his hdmi only tv and couldn't get it to work.

Best thing is to call manufacturers for advice and return the stuff that doesn't work
Trim2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 05:27 AM   #8
Admirals Club
 
Navatech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Miami Gardens FL
Posts: 5,739
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trim2 View Post
My friend bought a RCA to HDMI and converter to play Nintendo NEC in his hdmi only tv and couldn't get it to work.
You're referencing a reverse scenario of the one being discussed... Getting an RCA capable device to display an HDMI source is not the same thing as getting an HDMI capable device to display an RCA source...

As for your friend, I know of no HDMI TV that doesn't have the bog standard coaxial antenna connection... He should have used that...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trim2 View Post
Best thing is to call manufacturers for advice and return the stuff that doesn't work.
Some vendors have restocking fees... And then there's the shipping... In some case getting a suitable adaptor is cheaper...
Navatech is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 05:50 AM   #9
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fairhope, Al
Posts: 1,563
Default

Fusion av750 is hdmi out converted to rca for the tv in the salon.
Maclin
rarebreed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 09:46 AM   #10
Edd
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Inland Waters of California
Posts: 1,787
Default

https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon....L._SL1500_.jpg
Edd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 01:50 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 203
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Navatech View Post
You're referencing a reverse scenario of the one being discussed... Getting an RCA capable device to display an HDMI source is not the same thing as getting an HDMI capable device to display an RCA source...

As for your friend, I know of no HDMI TV that doesn't have the bog standard coaxial antenna connection... He should have used that...



Some vendors have restocking fees... And then there's the shipping... In some case getting a suitable adaptor is cheaper...
Plasma Panasonic. Only hdmi inputs, receiver had rca video input but no picture from output.
Trim2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 06:24 PM   #12
Admirals Club
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Chokoloskee FL, Erie PA
Posts: 82
Default

Talked to Aqua vu today and the head engineer has no clue on why this is not working. im guessing it might be the converter that i purchased off of amazon. going to try and but the one from radio shack and see if i have better success!
Snyder61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 03:25 AM   #13
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 282
Default

How long is the HDMI cable? I've encountered numerous problems once the cable length gets to be 35'+
offshraddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 06:16 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Jacksonville Beach
Posts: 66
Default

Silly question, but do you have power running to the HDMI converter?
JaxBch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 07:18 PM   #15
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fairhope, Al
Posts: 1,563
Default

Nope.
rarebreed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2017, 04:44 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Jacksonville Beach
Posts: 66
Default

If I am understanding you correctly, you want to go from an HDMI source to a composite (RCA) output?

If this is the case you will need one of these:https://www.amazon.com/Musou-1080P-C...onverter&psc=1

The converter itself requires a USB power source.

-C

Last edited by JaxBch; 01-17-2017 at 04:45 AM. Reason: words
JaxBch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2017, 05:43 AM   #17
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Marco Island, FL
Posts: 2,843
Default

There's no such thing as an RCA standard. You either have composite or component video inputs via RCA plugs. The first thing is to determine what you are dealing with. Monoprice has adapters at excellent prices.
HDRyder999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2017, 06:22 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Jacksonville Beach
Posts: 66
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HDRyder999 View Post
There's no such thing as an RCA standard. You either have composite or component video inputs via RCA plugs. The first thing is to determine what you are dealing with. Monoprice has adapters at excellent prices.
Composite video (one channel) is an analog video transmission (without audio) that carries standard definition video typically at 480i or 576i resolution. Video information is encoded on one channel, unlike the higher-quality S-video (two channels) and the even higher-quality component video (three or more channels).

My guess is that the back of the Simrad unit is a COMPOSITE video input. Therefore he will need a HDMI to composite converter. If he as purchased a cord that goes from HDMI to RCA it will not work. This is the disclaimer of a cord without the converter.

1. This cable functions as a signal transmitter, but NOT a signal converter.
2. As HDMI carries digital signals while RCA carries analog signals. In order for these two formats of signal to communicate with each other, both input and output devices needs to support the signal conversion function (code and decode), please kindly check with your user manual. If both input / output device do not support signal conversion, a signal conversion box is required

Last edited by JaxBch; 01-17-2017 at 06:41 AM.
JaxBch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:09 AM.


©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.9.3.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.