The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   >
Search


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-10-2017, 02:48 PM   #1
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Milton, MA
Posts: 50
Default Raymarine networking help

I am having a couple of issues with my Raymarine system. The system was installed here in Panama and had been working fine till the autopilot control head died. The technican does not really know what he is doing and never shows up then he is supposed to so I have to do things myself going forward (Life in the tropics!) The system consists of 2-e125's (MFD's), 1 CP370 sounder module with 1000 kw transducer, ev200 autopilot with P70r control head. The problem started with the control head started not turning on. I could control the autopilot with the MFD's but I had to send the p70r back to Raymarine so I unplugged the p70r and sent it back. Now the MFD cannot find the pilot at all. Is there a reason for the MFD to not be able to find the pilot? I did not cap the connector to the p70r and that is the only thing I can think of.

I also have a fusion 750 that I would like to control from the MFD's but I only have a Seatalk HS plug available on the slave MFD (I don't have a network switch and would like to avoid it). Can I plug the fusion in to the slave and have it work? I know I can plug it into the Seatalkng but I have heard it is better in the HS port.

Thanks,
anove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 02:59 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 109
Default

As far as your first question goes, to the best of my knowledge the connector has to be capped. If no one else replies I would go to the Raymarine web site and post that question in there forum. It usually takes a couple days as your post will be pre screened and answered by Raymarine before its posted.
mr 88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 02:59 PM   #3
Admirals Club
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 4,324
Default

Take the Cable out of the network.
Regarding the Fusion, for simplicity sake use it on the Seatalk NG
InternationalMarineBrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 03:11 PM   #4
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Milton, MA
Posts: 50
Default

The fusion is in the cabin. The rest of the gear is the flybridge so I was hoping to avoid a long NG run. Would likely be a 20-30 foot cable.
anove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 09:29 PM   #5
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Racine, WI
Posts: 510
Default

Fusion would have to be through SeatalkNG/nmea2000. It will not work through SeatalkHS or Raynet.
firstin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 12:04 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,886
Default

It's possible your seatalk ng fuse has blown by leaving the exposed cable. It may have got wet.

Or you may have loose connections in your ng network. Possibly why the control stopped.


As for fusion it must be n2k. You'll have to adapt to ng
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 06:13 PM   #7
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Milton, MA
Posts: 50
Default

The hs network is the preferred connection. See attachment from the ray manual. Anybody have anything on whether the slave hs connection will work?
Attached Images
 
anove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 07:15 PM   #8
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Racine, WI
Posts: 510
Default

wow, i did not know that. Thanks for sharing!

in that case, if you plug it into the slave unit and the slave is connected to the main unit you should be fine. No need for a network switch as long as you have an open port. The slave unit should talk back to the main unit. The only issue SHOULD be if the main unit is powered on and the slave is not then you will not be able to control the Fusion from the main unit. But I have already been proven wrong - and it will def not be the last time!
firstin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:41 AM.


©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.9.3.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.