The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   >
Search


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-08-2017, 03:04 PM   #1
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Nelson, New Zealand
Posts: 765
Default Battery-Volts and Hour meters

How often do you look at yours?

If dash space is at premium, would you move them to a slightly less visible location?
MikeAqua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2017, 03:24 PM   #2
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 213
Default

Remove the voltage and have it displayed on your MFD. My data bar on my 7212 shows all my critical items including voltage. As for hour meters, I like to glance down every now and again to make sure I'm on target for my annual/100 he services.
Shoeless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2017, 05:10 PM   #3
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Nelson, New Zealand
Posts: 765
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shoeless View Post
Remove the voltage and have it displayed on your MFD. My data bar on my 7212 shows all my critical items including voltage. As for hour meters, I like to glance down every now and again to make sure I'm on target for my annual/100 he services.
I did think about that but ... 2 outboards, 2 starter batteries and only 1 MFD. Even if I had a second MFD it would be running off the same battery so ....

My plan a was to move volt and hour meters to the vertical surfaces either side of the wheel base.

But the more I think about it, the more I think I should just re-angle those surfaces and move all the gauges except the speedometer down there.
Attached Images
 
MikeAqua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2017, 05:16 AM   #4
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location:
Posts: 2,517
Default

Outboard hours shows up on my engine data screens on my Garmin 7612xsv. Actual engine hours versus an hour meter in the dash showing key on times or battery on times depending on how the hour meter is wired.

Jim
jfwireless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 11:53 AM   #5
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Nelson, New Zealand
Posts: 765
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfwireless View Post
Outboard hours shows up on my engine data screens on my Garmin 7612xsv. Actual engine hours versus an hour meter in the dash showing key on times or battery on times depending on how the hour meter is wired.

Jim
Is that via NMEA or something?
MikeAqua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 11:58 AM   #6
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location:
Posts: 2,517
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeAqua View Post
Is that via NMEA or something?
Yes, NMEA2000 networking between engines and MFD

Jim
jfwireless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 03:46 PM   #7
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Nelson, New Zealand
Posts: 765
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfwireless View Post
Yes, NMEA2000 networking between engines and MFD

Jim
My engine are a little old for that. No NMEA functions at all.
MikeAqua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 08:30 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: NY
Posts: 271
Default

Hour meter is only needed occasionally so it's a no brainier to move it. I look at each battery voltage at the beginning of the day to ensure proper charge and then look at the MFD for the running battery once in a while when under way. I wouldn't hesitate to move the dedicated voltage meters either if I needed the room.
jvitiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:07 PM.


©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.9.3.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.