The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   >
Search


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-02-2017, 08:10 AM   #1
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 102
Default Advice for powering our EBox

Hello, All.
I have a blue sea 6 fuse panel showing up shortly. I am wanting to run power from my main busses in my center console to the new fuse panel I plan to have up in the EBox. I will be running the VHF Radio, Anchor Lamp, LED Spreader lamps, LED spot lamp/docking lamps, Map light (all those could be tied in somewhat) also an accessory charger would be nice. The question would be what Gauge of wire would be required to run this setup, I'm thinking 10G. What are the thoughts? What is needed.
mk1micah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 08:55 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Saint Francisville, LA
Posts: 1,663
Default

10 ga. should ok for that, but, I would run a 6ga. if it can be fitted without too much difficulty. You never know what you might want later on. if later you decided to put an amp in there ,or whatever, then the bigger wire would be nice. Also I would recommend you to add a breaker coming off the main power buss, rather than run an unprotected power wire right off the main buss. Something like a blue seas series 187. When the VHF is keyed for transmit, there is a considerable rush of power, that by it's self is probably close to 10amps.
knotreel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 11:09 AM   #3
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 102
Default

-The 6G would not be an issue, however My amp will stay in the center console. (current position). I guess I am surprised the Radio draws that much power. I would prefer the smaller Dia (10g) wire due to it being roughly half the dia of the 6g. Ill be supporting the -/+ , from the CC to the t-top up to the Ebox fuse panel. I have a Stryker TTop that folds down for "hurricane storage". Ill have to get kinda clever getting from the CC to the Break in the Ttop.
I am thinking some type of hose or conduit?. Any ideas on that are welcomed as well
-Micah
mk1micah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 07:50 PM   #4
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by knotreel View Post
10 ga. should ok for that, but, I would run a 6ga. if it can be fitted without too much difficulty. You never know what you might want later on. if later you decided to put an amp in there ,or whatever, then the bigger wire would be nice. Also I would recommend you to add a breaker coming off the main power buss, rather than run an unprotected power wire right off the main buss. Something like a blue seas series 187. When the VHF is keyed for transmit, there is a considerable rush of power, that by it's self is probably close to 10amps.
Something like a 35A or 55A breaker?
mk1micah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 08:17 PM   #5
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4,745
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mk1micah View Post
-The 6G would not be an issue, however My amp will stay in the center console. (current position). I guess I am surprised the Radio draws that much power. I would prefer the smaller Dia (10g) wire due to it being roughly half the dia of the 6g. Ill be supporting the -/+ , from the CC to the t-top up to the Ebox fuse panel. I have a Stryker TTop that folds down for "hurricane storage". Ill have to get kinda clever getting from the CC to the Break in the Ttop.
I am thinking some type of hose or conduit?. Any ideas on that are welcomed as well
-Micah
10 is fine with 20A fuse/circuit breaker.
Gary999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 08:23 PM   #6
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lakeville Ma
Posts: 3,828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary999 View Post
10 is fine with 20A fuse/circuit breaker.
I did this to feed power to my e box.

Name:  IMG_2683.jpg
Views: 50
Size:  262.9 KB

Labeled box.
Stickbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 08:26 PM   #7
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4,745
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stickbo View Post
I did this to feed power to my e box.

Attachment 770790

Labeled box.
Very nice! Mine looks like shit.
Gary999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:39 PM.


©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.9.3.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.