The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   >
Search


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-06-2016, 06:11 PM   #1
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 22
Default Raymarine NMEA 0183 question

I just bought a used boat and I have a NMEA 0183 question. This is my situation. I have a Raymarine E120 (talker), Garmin TR-1 Autopilot, Mercury Smartcraft gauges, and a VHF Radio.

The boat came with a Raymarine, but the microphone cord was bad, and it could not be replaced, so I had to buy a new radio. The Garmin VHF100 was the closest physical size to my old radio's in dash cutout.

Now the problem. The GPS data does not always get to the VHF radio. The Smartguage, autopilot, GPS all work fine, just not the VHF radio GPS data.

There is 1 talker, 3 listeners. I believe the old VHF radio worked, but can't remember.

I talked to the salesman at West Marine near me, and he's the best resource that I've found for my marine electronic issues. He gave me a couple of options. He said that I could go to NMEA 2000, with a NMEA 0183 port, or use a NMEA 0183 Multiplexer, which he happened to have one left over. I called Raymarine, and they confirmed what the salesman at west marine told me.

So I went with the multiplexer, and I could not get any of it to work. I could not get any of the LEDs to blink showing data being transmitted. I had 12V on the input. The instructions show 4 NMEA inputs, and 1 NMEA output, which is shown as a talker.

I didn't have any shielded wire, so I used twisted pairs to extend some of the wires to the multiplexer. I didn't connect the NMEA out com to anything.

Anyone have any experience use the Raymarine multiplexer? I think that the problem is with the Garmin VHF radio.
tmitch5188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2016, 07:47 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,994
Default

you do not need a multiplexer. you only have one port in use. the people you talked to are idiots.

going nmea 2000 would be a lot of work and cost for nothing.

if the new radio is nmea183. then hook it up properly and it'll work just fine.
if the new one is nmea 2000 only then I would take it back

you should also be feeding heading from the garmin pilot to the plotter.
smac999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:21 PM.


©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.9.3.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.