The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   >
Search


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-05-2016, 05:55 PM   #1
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 17
Default Nss7evo2 and tm150

Name:  20160404_004638.jpg
Views: 226
Size:  48.4 KBJust installed everything and took it out for the first time. The structure scan looks great. Shows depth and everything looks great. Can't get the chirp or echo to look much better than this. Are there and settings I could change. I played around with it quite a bit but no luck.
bdease0916 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 06:21 PM   #2
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10,210
Default

Something is wrong... Do you have it wired correctly or does the transducer have a plug? ? It doesn't seem to be showing the bottom but it looks like it's showing fish arches?
VanW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 07:25 PM   #3
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Southampton NY
Posts: 113
Default

I'm no expert at all because haven't played with chirp yet but I notice it says 83khz. Should it say high or medium chirp with the Tm150?
Howell1641 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 07:43 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Gibsons B.C. Canada
Posts: 171
Default

TM150 is medium band chirp
go pages into settings and select echo and set the transducer to tm150 and save
when back to into normal echo page menu and you should have med chirp available
wildthing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 09:26 PM   #5
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 17
Default

I wired it while on the phone with the simrad rep. So I know it's wired right. Soldered and heat shrunk. Had to use the lowrance adapter cable. It's mounted right next to the structure scan below the wate line. I'm thinking it's the settings I'll mess with them again some. Here is another pic at 46 ft. Looks about the same. The bottom looks better but what's all the scratchy matter on the rest of the screen?
Attached Images
 
bdease0916 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2016, 01:23 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 11,516
Default

TM150M should come with 7-pin connector attached. Do not rewire a Garmin TM150M transducers for Lowrance or Simrad, the impedance is wrong and it may destroy the sonar output stage.
abbor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2016, 02:20 AM   #7
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 17
Default

Tm150 came with 5 pins. Only way to connect was to buy navico adapter cable 7pin.
bdease0916 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2016, 04:31 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 11,516
Default

I don't understand what kind of adapter you are using. TM150M comes with the 7-pin blue connector, but only 5 of the pin positions are used, the connector fits directly into NSS Evo2.

Are you using a transducer extension cable?
abbor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2016, 05:52 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Palm Beach County
Posts: 3,343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdease0916 View Post
I wired it while on the phone with the simrad rep. So I know it's wired right. Soldered and heat shrunk. Had to use the lowrance adapter cable. It's mounted right next to the structure scan below the wate line. I'm thinking it's the settings I'll mess with them again some. Here is another pic at 46 ft. Looks about the same. The bottom looks better but what's all the scratchy matter on the rest of the screen?
I think "the scratchy matter" is bad water (bubbles) at the TD. And on my Nss7evo2 / TM150 combo there is no adapter. It plugs directly to NSS
Pioneer180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2016, 05:58 PM   #10
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10,210
Default

I don't understand what's going on here. He has fish showing in the first image with basically no bottom and no interference and in the second picture he has good bottom but tons of interference.

I don't think 83 a good frequency for 10ft of water, may have something to do with the first image.
VanW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2016, 06:20 PM   #11
Admirals Club
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 18,910
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdease0916 View Post
I wired it while on the phone with the simrad rep. So I know it's wired right. Soldered and heat shrunk. Had to use the lowrance adapter cable.
The correct TM150 for a Navico unit does not require an adapter.
All the correct Tm150 transducers for Navico already have the correct Blue plug.

If you adapted a non NAVICO TM150...not good.




semperfifishing is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2016, 06:30 PM   #12
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10,210
Default

That's two people who know what they're doing, (maybe more than Simrad support) telling you something so I'd look into that for sure.
VanW is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:22 PM.


©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.9.3.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.