The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   >
Search


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-04-2016, 02:44 PM   #1
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 11
Angry Garmin 1040xs having issues!!! HELP

New boat. 3 months. Have replaced Garmin 1040xs twice and on my third order. GPS works at first then loses all GPS function. Then will not turn back on. Tranducer and side vu down view and depth all work.

Garmin says the power lead was installed wrong but how can that be if other parts of the device work. Boat dealer thinks it's Garmin. West Marine thinks it's Garmin.

I did do the latest install on the second device but not the first yet they both acted the same way so I don't think it's that.

Can anyone shed any light. I would even consider something else but my dashboard was cut to hold this specific device and nothing else will fit.

Do you think it's installation? Garmin software or hardware issue or update issue? Are there any experts out there who can help... clearly I am not getting too far with the manufacturer other than replacing it every month!!!!
mike49FL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 02:48 PM   #2
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Manahawkin,NJ
Posts: 358
Default

Sounds like you might be having software issues...............did they send you a brand new unit or refurbished? Are you running 6.20 software?
Lucky John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 04:55 PM   #3
Admirals Club
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 415
Default

Going on 2 years now and my 1040xs (knock on wood) has been flawless. Not an expert, but would assume it is an install issue if after 2 units you are getting the same result.
gdholbrook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 05:56 PM   #4
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucky John View Post
Sounds like you might be having software issues...............did they send you a brand new unit or refurbished? Are you running 6.20 software?
New units both times. But what is odd is it will turn on if I turn the battery switch off and then on. Maybe it really is a install issue? The software is the very latest update
Is there a way to check if I was installed correctly? It's like it shuts down on overload if that is even possible with a 12 volt?
mike49FL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 06:23 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1,951
Default

A severe dip in voltage can trigger a reboot or shut down. Could be a bad switch, loose connection, corroded fuse holder, bad battery terminal, intermittent short, etc etc.

As a test, you could run a temp pair of wires, not too small a gauge, from the Garmin power lead directly to the house battery POS and NEG - bypass everything else. Then see if that fixes it. That will at least eliminate that possibility.
Yrral3215 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 06:36 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Posts: 168
Default

Two years not a hiccup with my 1040xs. I would check my electrical.
ejthomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 07:14 PM   #7
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 11
Default

Seems like everyone is feeling it is electrical but it's a brand new boat and everything is new. No corrosion. And does it strike anyone else odd that the side vu and down vu still work even thought the gps does not work. I should mention as well that those continued to work before it shut down and would not turn on. Before it shut I lost all my tracks, had my depth, no gps coordinates and the boat symbol stopped moving on the screen...

Does that point to software more than electrical....

And now that I turned the battery off and back on, the unit turned on with the on button and seems to function but my tracks are all gone. Waypoint do not seem to be affected in either situation.

Checked all fuses all are tight. Going to talk to dealer and see if I can get someone here to review the electronics.
Thanks everyone... if you have any other suggestions I appreciate it.... I have had the boat 3 months and can't get off the dock to fish.... very frustrating.
mike49FL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 07:20 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1,951
Default

Any other equipment tied to the Garmin? External GPS? Heading sensor? Radar? AP?

Your latest description does sound more like software or some internal hardware/firmware problem - but - to get more than one unit with the exact same issues, when no one else is having the issue, seems like very long odds.
Yrral3215 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 07:27 PM   #9
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Manahawkin,NJ
Posts: 358
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yrral3215 View Post
A severe dip in voltage can trigger a reboot or shut down. Could be a bad switch, loose connection, corroded fuse holder, bad battery terminal, intermittent short, etc etc.

As a test, you could run a temp pair of wires, not too small a gauge, from the Garmin power lead directly to the house battery POS and NEG - bypass everything else. Then see if that fixes it. That will at least eliminate that possibility.
I would give this a try.Even though this is a new boat make sure you are getting the proper power to the unit
Lucky John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 08:27 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1,951
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucky John View Post
I would give this a try.Even though this is a new boat make sure you are getting the proper power to the unit
On second thought, I like my idea even better

It occurs to me that a drop in voltage might possibly effect the GPS more than the sounder. I think thats unlikely, but just might be the case depending on how Garmin did the hardware/internal power distribution..

It would still be worth it to do the test just to eliminate installation/power issues and the source of the problem.
Yrral3215 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 01:57 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Honduras
Posts: 178
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike49FL View Post
Seems like everyone is feeling it is electrical but it's a brand new boat and everything is new. No corrosion. And does it strike anyone else odd that the side vu and down vu still work even thought the gps does not work. I.
You must have a Garmin GCV 10 Black Box if you have side vu on the 1041xs.
This has happened to me also.

I have 2 741xs and the GCV 10 with the gt30tm transducer.
Also have connected a GT23tm transducer.
both 741xs are connected with a network cable to the GCV10, this weekend after the latest update, the 741xs that has the gt23 transducer, units would freeze the gps map but the sounder kept on working. I had to unplug the unit for it to work again but it would freeze again.
I disconnected the network cable from this unit and also cleaned the map sd card and put it in slot 2 of the 741XS.
It did good the rest of the day. But both units as stand alone units. Did not reconnect the network cable, l will try this week end to see if I get the GPS freeze.
So what solved the problem ,the SD card Slot change, the SD card cleaning,the GCV 10 network gremlins.

Last edited by Pepito; 04-05-2016 at 02:08 AM.
Pepito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 05:05 AM   #12
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 11
Default Thanks Everyone

I am not electronically inclined as you can imagine... give me a hammer and I can build anything. You have all given me great help here. I would not surprised if the initial set up is all wrong based on the experience I had with the dealer... time to call an expert unfortunately.

So based on what I see it could be

1. Power issue ( incorrect set up and wiring, shared power on all units, voltage drops). Unfortunately I don't have the tools to test all this.

2. Garmin software/hardware/firmware internal issue (though I don;t think I put the latest update on the first one in February, but did on the second one in March) so it may not be the update.. unless there is yet another update since last month which solves it all

I agree it is unlikey 2 units would behave the same way... so I think I have to start with the boat install... gotta start somewhere.

Will be back in touch with all... thank you for ALL your good advice! I just wanna fish.. not a lot to ask right?
mike49FL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 05:34 AM   #13
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 397
Default

Before you go firing your installers etc... do you know what the first software version was that you started with? You currently must be on 6.10 or 6.20 but did you start out with 4.80 or 6.0?

There have been many lockup / reboot issues surfacing since the last couple of Garmin software iterations...

GARMIN ISSUES - before I go to 7.10...
PaulBoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 05:44 AM   #14
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 11
Default

quick question but where can I tell the what version I have? My manual has no info really.the sd card with the update also has no indication... do I have to put it in the slot to see what I get?
mike49FL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 05:55 AM   #15
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 397
Default

You find it through the 1040 menu. On my 8212 it's under Settings > System > System Info > Software Info
PaulBoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 06:43 AM   #16
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 11
Default

Update: Just got off the phone with Garmin. They are sending a tech to help solve the issue. First recommendation if the update that just came out... to eliminate software issue. If that does not solve it, next step is rewiring and testing of power rail, voltage drops and bad power supply... so you guys are all on the money!!! Thank you! Will probably take a few weeks but hopefully!!!! Fingers crossed
Thanks again
mike49FL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2016, 03:35 AM   #17
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 11
Default

Update: Certified Garmin installer reinstalled yet another 1040xs. Garmin paid for tech to come. Tech said all wiring perfect and power supplies good. Took boat out all good and then I loaded up a new SD card with waypoints and boom.... tracks disappeared and screen froze.

Called Garmin from the gulf and finally got to tech that understood my issue. Admitted that Garmin had hoped that the last update would solve the freezing issue (4.5.16 update). They are opening a case and sending me now to talk to their software development team

While sitting idle in the gulf we cleared the system and I manually point in waypoints to get home. NO issues with manually input.

At first I thought it was the SD card since I loaded that on version 2 install of this debacle. On version 3 we installed the SD card from an entirely different source who also had the 1040xs (not updated).

So I really think it is a software issue and for some reason the upload of data is corrupting the track and waypoints functioning properly.

Anyone have any additional thoughts... My temp solution is to input 100 waypoints manually but now I am just not feeling safe to go out.. with a brand new boat, I never thought my GPS would be the thing to keep me on shore!!! Ugh

That said I am in the interim looking at hand held as a backup.. any sugguestions. I just need basic and something that will get me home since i can't trust this GPS yet?
Thanks All!
mike49FL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2016, 04:31 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: South Australia
Posts: 2,055
Default

Had similar strange things happen with a Simrad product.
It turned out to be the track plot memory causing a reset losing all the waypoints
It was set to time rather than distance.
The suggestion is to turn off your tracks and see if its related.
isitstuffed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2016, 05:40 AM   #19
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 11
Default

I should clarify yesterday's experience. After reinstall and upload of new SD card is when the screen froze and my crumb trails vanished. If I do a complete reset and reinstall all data preferences it unfreezes. I really think it's software and it's ability to upload. Manual input if waypoints seems to work?
mike49FL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2016, 08:32 AM   #20
CME
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,411
Default

Installed a 1040xs yesterday, dead out of the box.

Last time that happened was with two customers two years ago (separate people) 740s were dead out of the box.
CME is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:26 AM.


©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.9.3.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.