The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Search

Notices

Random Quote: so what you are saying is, its exactly the same but completly different......
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-13-2014, 05:48 AM
  #1    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 310
Default Lss-2 size issue

I have new Lss-2. I plan to transom mount it.

Has anyone had trouble with it's sticking out to much and coming too close to the motors? It is 10 inches long without the bracket.

With motors trimmed all the way down, they will be within a foot of the tip of the transducer. (It says nothing about that in th install manual but I thought I read somewhere that need a foot or more clearance. )
Akgoff4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 08:00 AM
  #2    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Anderson, SC
Posts: 4,963
Default

Simrad has a new thru hull version. It looks like the identical transducer that you have but the wire comes out of the top through a threaded stainless pipe.
__________________
2004 Cape Horn 31T!
2012 Yamaha F300's

1992 Chapparal 200SS
350V8 Magnum!

2001 Cape Horn 24OS
twin optimax 150's Sold

bluewaterseeker is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 03-13-2014, 08:19 AM
  #3    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 218
Default

Can you mount it right on the keel(no bracket) with the cable running up the transom. Thats the way I mounted on my 27 Ameracat. 5200 and screwed to the bottom of the boat.
Capt. Steve Barnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 09:34 AM
  #4    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fort Pierce FL
Posts: 407
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Capt. Steve Barnes View Post
Can you mount it right on the keel(no bracket) with the cable running up the transom. Thats the way I mounted on my 27 Ameracat. 5200 and screwed to the bottom of the boat.

How did it perform like this?
__________________
MMA Alumni 2012
USCG Unlimited Horsepower Marine Engineer
tailin strange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 09:36 AM
  #5    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fort Pierce FL
Posts: 407
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluewaterseeker View Post
Simrad has a new thru hull version. It looks like the identical transducer that you have but the wire comes out of the top through a threaded stainless pipe.
Any link to the "new" thru hull version? Only able to find the old one that's been out for years
__________________
MMA Alumni 2012
USCG Unlimited Horsepower Marine Engineer
tailin strange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 09:56 AM
  #6    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tailin strange View Post
How did it perform like this?
Better than transom mount. Reads great at 30 mph.
Capt. Steve Barnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 10:13 AM
  #7    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fort Pierce FL
Posts: 407
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Capt. Steve Barnes View Post
Better than transom mount. Reads great at 30 mph.
Was that the only transducer you had on the keel? Seems like if you have a thru hull for your conventional sounder in front of the lss-2 it would disturb the water going to the LSS-2
__________________
MMA Alumni 2012
USCG Unlimited Horsepower Marine Engineer
tailin strange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 07:13 PM
  #8    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Anderson, SC
Posts: 4,963
Default

I don't have a link. A buddy of mine put one in his contender the other day. I will try to find a picture.
__________________
2004 Cape Horn 31T!
2012 Yamaha F300's

1992 Chapparal 200SS
350V8 Magnum!

2001 Cape Horn 24OS
twin optimax 150's Sold

bluewaterseeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 08:41 PM
  #9    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tailin strange View Post
Was that the only transducer you had on the keel? Seems like if you have a thru hull for your conventional sounder in front of the lss-2 it would disturb the water going to the LSS-2
Yes anything that aerates the water in front of a transducer is a bad thing. Mine has nothing in front.
Capt. Steve Barnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 06:11 AM
  #10    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,533
Default

Here's a photo, not cheap by a long shot.
Attached Images
 
__________________

2015 Layton Bay 22
Etec 200HO
Location: God's waiting room aka Florida
Badbagger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 07:45 AM
  #11    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Anderson, SC
Posts: 4,963
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Badbagger View Post
Here's a photo, not cheap by a long shot.
That's not the one we put in the other day. This one was identical to the transom ducer except the wire came out of the top through a stainless threaded pipe.
__________________
2004 Cape Horn 31T!
2012 Yamaha F300's

1992 Chapparal 200SS
350V8 Magnum!

2001 Cape Horn 24OS
twin optimax 150's Sold

bluewaterseeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 07:52 AM
  #12    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,533
Default

Thanks, I'd love to REALLY find out what the deal is. I'm planning things out ever so slowly for my Layton Bay build and using Simrad Electronics - NSS Evo2 12" with the Airmar B175W ducer and adding in structure scan. I actually currently have an LSS-2 mounted to my jackplate which I will be removing when this boat is sold. I'd really be using the sidescan for searching for structure etc and there's not all that much dirty water behind the boat when moving say between 5 to 8 knots in fairly shallow water. I can see the value of the inhulll ducer but at $800 or so, hmmm mebbe KNOT lol.
__________________

2015 Layton Bay 22
Etec 200HO
Location: God's waiting room aka Florida
Badbagger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 08:44 AM
  #13    
Senior Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 504
Default

Here it is!
http://www.boemarine.com/navico-stru...air-w-y-cable/
__________________
Brian Koch| BOEmarine.com | 866.735.5926 x120

We'll BEAT any price you see on THT by $5 and you'll still get our World Class Resources and FREE Lifetime Technical Support. Also get 2% Back on every order with our Captain Rewards Program!


Please do not send me emails through THT or PM's. I get too many inquiries to be able to manage them that way.
Please use this form to contact me.
BoemarineBrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 09:59 AM
  #14    
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 497
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluewaterseeker View Post
That's not the one we put in the other day. This one was identical to the transom ducer except the wire came out of the top through a stainless threaded pipe.
The blue piece is the fairing to acommodate the hull's deadrise.
One can take that off

keizerh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 11:52 AM
  #15    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Anderson, SC
Posts: 4,963
Default

Here is the thruhull one that we installed the other day on my buddies boat. Never mind the dirty hull.



This is a picture of mine. It's the same transducer.

__________________
2004 Cape Horn 31T!
2012 Yamaha F300's

1992 Chapparal 200SS
350V8 Magnum!

2001 Cape Horn 24OS
twin optimax 150's Sold

bluewaterseeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 11:56 AM
  #16    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,533
Default

Nice clean work. How well does your SS and DI work at speed? i.e. on plane if at all... and in comparison, how about your buddies? same questions.
__________________

2015 Layton Bay 22
Etec 200HO
Location: God's waiting room aka Florida
Badbagger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 12:18 PM
  #17    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Anderson, SC
Posts: 4,963
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Badbagger View Post
Nice clean work. How well does your SS and DI work at speed? i.e. on plane if at all... and in comparison, how about your buddies? same questions.
Mine doesn't work on plane. I've got it above the waterline when it's on plane. I could have put it a little lower so that it would skim but high speeds isn't what it's designed for.

We haven't tested my buddies boat yet.
__________________
2004 Cape Horn 31T!
2012 Yamaha F300's

1992 Chapparal 200SS
350V8 Magnum!

2001 Cape Horn 24OS
twin optimax 150's Sold

bluewaterseeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 12:23 PM
  #18    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,533
Default

[quote=I could have put it a little lower so that it would skim but high speeds isn't what it's designed for. [/QUOTE]

Thanks and exactly, if it's designed for user at slower trolling off plane speeds I just don't see any huge advantage to spending $700 and change for a single transducer and putting a hole in the bottom of your hull when there's no big inherent advantage in doing so when a standard transom mount will be just as good.
__________________

2015 Layton Bay 22
Etec 200HO
Location: God's waiting room aka Florida
Badbagger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 12:41 PM
  #19    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluewaterseeker View Post
Mine doesn't work on plane. I've got it above the waterline when it's on plane. I could have put it a little lower so that it would skim but high speeds isn't what it's designed for.

We haven't tested my buddies boat yet.
How has your experience been with the LSS-2 as you have it installed now? Your picture looks just like mine will likely look by the end of this weekend (best laid plans….). I plan on mounting mine a little lower though.
Akgoff4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 01:47 PM
  #20    
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Anderson, SC
Posts: 4,963
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akgoff4 View Post
How has your experience been with the LSS-2 as you have it installed now? Your picture looks just like mine will likely look by the end of this weekend (best laid plans….). I plan on mounting mine a little lower though.
It works great. I don't have any shadowing by the motors. They are behind the back of the transducer just enough to have a clear line of sight.

I started to mount mine so that it would skim and then work at higher speeds but I didn't since the primary use is at speeds under 10mph
__________________
2004 Cape Horn 31T!
2012 Yamaha F300's

1992 Chapparal 200SS
350V8 Magnum!

2001 Cape Horn 24OS
twin optimax 150's Sold

bluewaterseeker is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 



©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0